Cricket Tragic Posted August 29, 2011 Posted August 29, 2011 why will we be playing Lanka away.. It should be home. 1) We need a challenge 2) They need the cash
Sooda Posted August 29, 2011 Posted August 29, 2011 I read a comment on cricinfo that said in tests Raina is a better bowler than Mishra and Mishra is a better batsman than Raina. Made me lulz :hehe:
Desi Cartman Posted August 29, 2011 Posted August 29, 2011 Too many games ? They play for 140 days out of over 700 days. It's not too much and if any player now whinges about it, he should be banned from playing ipl.
Rahul Dravid Posted August 30, 2011 Posted August 30, 2011 gud to see 24 tests comming up.... hope rahul and sachin play all of them... and then test championship... should be fun :)
veer Posted August 30, 2011 Posted August 30, 2011 Too many games ? They play for 140 days out of over 700 days. It's not too much and if any player now whinges about it' date=' he should be banned from playing ipl.[/quote'] how you calculated that? it's 160 days total just from that list.. plus ICC Test Championship, the T20 WC, IPL and Champions League games.
Desi Cartman Posted August 30, 2011 Posted August 30, 2011 how you calculated that? it's 160 days total just from that list.. plus ICC Test Championship' date=' the T20 WC, IPL and Champions League games.[/quote'] from the OP Even if its 160 then they are playing 160 days out of 700. Even if you add 20 days for T20 and Test championships its still 180 out of 700+ days. If they are tired by it then they shouldnt play IPL or champions league or inform the board and skip some series but IMO 140 days of international cricket over 2 years is not as much as some players are making it out to be.
Sidhoni Posted August 30, 2011 Posted August 30, 2011 Off spin me Ashwin bhi add karna, aur SRT ODI me opener hai yr
ShebbySB Posted August 31, 2011 Posted August 31, 2011 Post the England tour, the FTP looks like this 5 ODIs vs England at home 3 Tests 5 ODIs versus West Indies at home. 4 Tests and 8-11 ODIs versus Australia away 3 Tests and 5 ODIs versus Pakistan at home. 3 Tests versus Sri lanka away. 3 Tests versus New Zealand at home. T20 WC at Sri Lanka 4 Tests versus England at home 7 ODIs and 1 T20 versus England at home. 4 Tests versus Australia at home. This is the lead up to the Test playoff/Championship in England. Following this 3 ODIs versus Zimbabwe away 7 ODIs and 1 T20 versus Australia at home. Doing the sums, between September 2011 though November 2013, India play 24 Tests, 38 ODIs and 2 T20s, most of them at home.. This does not include the games played in the ICC Test Championship, the T20 WC, IPL and Champions League games. Working with the numbers above, India play 140 days of cricket over a period of 2 years. Which brings up the question of workload, rotation and rest. Right now, including all of the injured players, India can safely boast of a roster that is 47 deep. Openers: Virender Sehwag Gautam Gambhir Murali Vijay Abhinav Mukund Ajinkya Rahane Middle Order: Rahul Dravid Sachin Tendulkar VVS Laxman Yuvraj Singh Cheteshwar Pujara Rohit Sharma Virat Kohli Ambati Rayadu Suresh Raina Manoj Tiwary Manish Pandey WicketKeepers: MS Dhoni W. Saha P. Patel N. OjhaD. Karthik Slow Left arm spin: Pragyan Ojha Ravinder Jadeja Off Spin: Harbhajan Singh Leg spin: Amit Mishra Right Arm Fast: Ishant Sharma Praveen Kumar Munaf Patel Abhimanyu Mithun Umesh Yadav Varun Aaron Left Arm Fast: Zaheer Khan RP Singh Jaidev Unadkat ODI/T20 specialists: Yusuf Pathan Siddharth Trivedi R. Ashwin Piyush Chawla Rahul Sharma Bhargav Bhatt Iqbal Abdulla Irfan Pathan Sudeep Tyagi Dhawal Kulkarni R. Vinay Kumar Saurabh Tiwary Ashok Menaria Now, the above categorization is not a strict one ie: players classified as ODI/T20 specialists can pretty easily be moved up into any of the other classifications and vice versa. And it also does not consider some players like Badrinath, who can be slotted into the above list if so desired. Now, working on the presumption that we need our best XV for overseas tourneys and that the kids need atleast 10 tests before they can find their feet, does this current itinerary allow us to do so? Does the current itinerary allow us a rotation policy, given that 17 of the 24 tests are going to be at home, as will 24 of the 38 ODIs? Does this schedule give us the bandwidth to ensure that the emergent kids can take the next step up? Does the schedule allows us the cushion of managing the retirements of the big 3, and in all probability Zak? I believe the answer to all the above questions is yes. The only problem , if it may be called that is, do we have the stomach to absorb a few defeats along the way? And I qualify that argument by stating that despite the best batting lineup in a generation, we have never been more than good fighting, attritional side, never a dominant one. And are we, as a people, ready to go easy on the insta gratification/insta punditry that seems to be our leitmotif when things begin to go even slightly wrong? Are we willing to give ourselves a long enough rope and not go knee jerk every time a kid does not come good? Because if we are, we not only have the tools and the resources, but also time on our hands. Given the ages of the kids under consideration, a little patience now will go a long way in ensuring our competitiveness for an extended period of time. And just to make things that much easier, the number of home games mean that the ride will be smoother than we expect. The future is now in our hands. http://www.boredcricketcrazyindians.com/2011/08/looking-ahead-futures-so-bright-i-gotta.html Add CM Gautam to the wk/bat list,Naman isn't good enough,Jadeja & Irfan should be categorized as allrounders in t20 & ODIs,add Iqbal Abdulla to that slow left arm spin list,Ashwin is better than bhajji in any format or conditions so add him to the offspinner list,Mithun is not International standard as of now,Tyagi should replace him as he can be handy in all formats.
ShebbySB Posted August 31, 2011 Posted August 31, 2011 I read a comment on cricinfo that said in tests Raina is a better bowler than Mishra and Mishra is a better batsman than Raina. Made me lulz :hehe: That's true yaar:hysterical:
King Tendulkar Posted August 31, 2011 Posted August 31, 2011 People talk about massive change. First lets find a good No 6 , before the rest get axed!:--D
Sachinism Posted August 31, 2011 Author Posted August 31, 2011 Jeez give me a freaking break from these dime a dozen "experts". So India now needs to have a transition plan? Now that we have been demolished 0-4 and suffered worst whitewash in Indian, and perhaps whole of, cricketing history?? This supposed transition and change of old guards should have happened atleast 2 years back. And back then the same experts were busy cajoling these seniors as "true servants of Indian cricket who need to go out on time. Only a Sachin knows when he is spent". Only two experts stood for a change of guard, Ian Chappell and Sanjay Manjrekar. And when SRT managed to turn a corner, as did Dravid, both these gents were also humble enough to appreciate that. On the other hand these cheerleading experts from Shastri to Premchandran were having orgasms. And now when we get our rear handed to us, its change of rearguards. How about we change these bozzo experts as well! Wow you've put a bigger twist on this than your chaddis get in when you hear 'Sachin is God'