Rightarmfast Posted September 1, 2011 Posted September 1, 2011 I have come to my paternal home ( actually just my cousin's place ) for a week , Patna, and was going through some of the local newspapers. As expected, media is full of introspection on the dismal Indian performance. Amongst them, there was this article on the local Bihar team players. It did happen to be an intriguing read. As per the newspaper, Bihar can boast of 2 pace bowlers who can bowl at lively pace. One is Kamlesh Singh, an allrounder who can bat well and can swing the ball prodigiously at a pace of around 135ks- 140's. The other bowler is more interesting. Rehan Khan. He is called " Bihar Express " over here. The article read that Rehan has bowled all his life on the dead and barren pitches of Bihar where theres absolutely no pace and has been clocked in 150's. He clocks 140's at will. However, Bihar does not have a Ranji recognition and hence theres no Bihar team now. These players tried their hands in Jharkhand but were not given matches, whereas Rehan only got 1 match from Jharkhand. Rehan quotes that he tried playing from other states, however the politics was too much and he was not allowed. While I have not seen these 2 bowlers myself, I do plan to go and check them myself . Now the point of this post was not to create a hype and state that we have another genuine quickie. I just wanted to point out the dismal state of affairs for Indian sportspersons and especially those from smaller places. Maybe, if given a chance they could have actually proved themselves.
Yoda-esque Posted September 1, 2011 Posted September 1, 2011 All these expresses become mails after the first 2 years and then locals
Rightarmfast Posted September 1, 2011 Author Posted September 1, 2011 He might, but that was not the point I was making.
Cricket Tragic Posted September 1, 2011 Posted September 1, 2011 Do we have room for so many phhhasssst bowlers? The tailunt is overflowing.
Hell Raiser Posted September 1, 2011 Posted September 1, 2011 Do we have room for so many phhhasssst bowlers? The tailunt is overflowing. :cantstop:
Rightarmfast Posted September 1, 2011 Author Posted September 1, 2011 Thanks Bhai ! Although I dont think the guy is ever going to make it big but just an FYI...Even if someone can touch 135-140 in these small towns, thats a lot I think. And thats a lot for the Indian team too !
Blue Panther Posted September 1, 2011 Posted September 1, 2011 Thanks Bhai ! Although I dont think the guy is ever going to make it big but just an FYI...Even if someone can touch 135-140 in these small towns' date=' thats a lot I think. And thats a lot for the Indian team too ![/quote'] Yes, and i have seen the small town boys work harder and they are hungry for success compared with the metro city kids.
Rightarmfast Posted September 1, 2011 Author Posted September 1, 2011 Totally agree...Dhoni is a prime example..
King Tendulkar Posted September 1, 2011 Posted September 1, 2011 Do we have room for so many phhhasssst bowlers? The tailunt is overflowing. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
nballa Posted September 1, 2011 Posted September 1, 2011 if you are going to nickname him after an interstate express train don't use indian trains. the fastest one tops out at 120 kmph before slowing down to let people and livestock cross the tracks or for kids to place 5 paise coins on the tracks and watch them flatten out or melt with absolute glee.
StatsRock Posted September 1, 2011 Posted September 1, 2011 if you are going to nickname him after an interstate express train don't use indian trains. the fastest one tops out at 120 kmph before slowing down to let people and livestock cross the tracks or for kids to place 5 paise coins on the tracks and watch them flatten out or melt with absolute glee. Hey, you actually got close to home. The aluminium 5/10/20 paise coins were useless. The 25 and 50 paise coins were pretty good at this - my friend used to place 25p coins and after the train rolls over it, use it as a plectrum for his guitar :agree:
Malcolm Merlyn Posted September 1, 2011 Posted September 1, 2011 I hope a IPL team picks him up..........check them out and let us know........make a video if possible......... Where did they measure his speed?
Tiger80 Posted September 1, 2011 Posted September 1, 2011 I have come to my paternal home ( actually just my cousin's place ) for a week , Patna, and was going through some of the local newspapers. As expected, media is full of introspection on the dismal Indian performance. Amongst them, there was this article on the local Bihar team players. It did happen to be an intriguing read. As per the newspaper, Bihar can boast of 2 pace bowlers who can bowl at lively pace. One is Kamlesh Singh, an allrounder who can bat well and can swing the ball prodigiously at a pace of around 135ks- 140's. The other bowler is more interesting. Rehan Khan. He is called " Bihar Express " over here. The article read that Rehan has bowled all his life on the dead and barren pitches of Bihar where theres absolutely no pace and has been clocked in 150's. He clocks 140's at will. However, Bihar does not have a Ranji recognition and hence theres no Bihar team now. These players tried their hands in Jharkhand but were not given matches, whereas Rehan only got 1 match from Jharkhand. Rehan quotes that he tried playing from other states, however the politics was too much and he was not allowed. While I have not seen these 2 bowlers myself, I do plan to go and check them myself . Now the point of this post was not to create a hype and state that we have another genuine quickie. I just wanted to point out the dismal state of affairs for Indian sportspersons and especially those from smaller places. Maybe, if given a chance they could have actually proved themselves. I am sorry to say but local media is not trust worthy especially Hindi media.I still remember some Articles i read in Hindi Magazines were total rubbish.Even English media is also not trust worthy.Rediff mentioned That Jhulan Goswami bowls at 138 kph while according to cric info fastest woman bowler's speed is around 120 . IPL have given chances to so many poor Indian bowlers Like kamran Khan but we have not seen any Indian bowler apart from Umesh who bowls consistently above 140 Kph
Dravid_TheWall Posted September 1, 2011 Posted September 1, 2011 People like RP singh (in current form) and Vinay Kumar are in the team now...something seriously wrong with the selectors.
express bowling Posted September 1, 2011 Posted September 1, 2011 Rightarmfast ... It is always good to read about new fast bowling talent. It is understandable that people will be sceptical about a new fast bowler, as some posters here are, as we have seen many expresses turning into bullock carts. But I think we should nurture every express bowler that we find and try to create a pool of genuine quicks. They should be specially trained, most important aspect being how to not lose the motivation to bowl fast. All these bowlers will not be good but we should not ridicule them as long as they are trying hard. Even if we manage to produce 2 good strike fast bowlers then that is a job well done. We cannot get 1 good fast bowler if there are only 1 or 2 genuine quicks in the pool. Lakhs of people are trying to bat and we have only 4 great batsmen. If only one person tried to bat well in our country we would never get a Tendulkar. We should create a large pool of genuine quicks whether good or bad. Only then can we get a ' Dale Steyn '. We should try to develop a genuine fast bowling culture in our country p.s - Is their anybody connected with the media here who can turn the selectors' attention to the plight Rehan khan is allegedly facing ? Rightarmfast 1
kabira Posted September 1, 2011 Posted September 1, 2011 I would take that article with pinch of salt. If they were quick or talented they would atleast have been in IPL Rooster. Teams like Kolkatta (I suppose Bihar falls into their catchment area) would love any decent local talent.
dragonfly Posted September 2, 2011 Posted September 2, 2011 Wait till I reveal the PatPatGanj Express to you guys. Hell hath no fury like him.
suraj Posted September 2, 2011 Posted September 2, 2011 I think we are so desparate for "phaast" bowlers that everyone wants to find, discover & name every chappadgunju as "Express", "Atul Sharma the machine" and "legend" I still remember mods here sending me Private messages on why I was questioning the "whorish" publicity stunt of Atul Sharma on ICF In fast bowling department we have started acting like the Paki public :wall: