Sachin=GOD Posted October 5, 2011 Posted October 5, 2011 What Narayan Murthy said - "quality of IITians has gone down" What Chetan Bhagat read it as - "quality of IITians has gone down and Chetan Bhagat is a prime example of that"
punjabi_khota Posted October 5, 2011 Posted October 5, 2011 he used those billions to start a venture capital fund to promote young start ups IIRC ??? Source ?
Sachin=GOD Posted October 5, 2011 Posted October 5, 2011 ??? Source ? http://articles.economictimes.indiatimes.com/2009-10-23/news/27659511_1_venture-capital-fund-infosys-technologies-sudha-murthy http://www.dnaindia.com/money/report_narayana-murthy-s-venture-capital-fund-to-take-off-in-march_1318586
yoda Posted October 5, 2011 Posted October 5, 2011 he used those billions to start a venture capital fund to promote young start ups IIRC starting a venture capital fund is not really considered "giving". it is an investment.
ravishingravi Posted October 6, 2011 Posted October 6, 2011 Murthy is spot on. But I wouldn't say it is true only for the IITians. Of course, I can see why a someone who wears that badge on their sleeve as a mark of their intelligence might feel offended.
Sachin=GOD Posted October 10, 2011 Posted October 10, 2011 IIT heads echo Narayana Murthy on dipping quality MUMBAI: N R Narayana Murthy's statement about the declining quality of students joining the IITs has found an echo even among IIT heads. IIT Madras director Bhaskar Ramamurthi says most students come with a heavy coaching hangover. "There is a limit to what an instrument like an entrance exam can do. Taking school scores into consideration should allow us to get well-rounded students," he said. Gautam Baru, IIT-Guwahati director, says aspirants start preparing early. "By the time they join the IIT system, they are mentally fatigued." "They want to sell soaps, not become engineers." This is IIT-Guwahati director Gautam Baru's observation of students who often make it to IITs after long years of cramming, even when their aptitude is suspect. "Many of them are not even interested in engineering," he says, an assessment borne out by where they eventually land up. Placement numbers that show over 50% graduates join managerial positions in consultancy firms, FMCG companies and the finance sector. There was a time when the IITs prided themselves in managing to draw the best from all corners of the country. But many now say the JEE has lost its mojo. The gates that lead to an Indian Institute of Technology are narrow. One needs to elbow out at least 30 other IIT hopefuls to get beyond the entry point. It's carnage. And it's this that stokes the coaching industry. Few take the risk of not going through a gruellingly long training. This year, of the 13,195 who qualified for the IITs, two thirds said they took professional help to prepare for the entrance - the Joint Entrance Exam. In fact, some directors believe that this number is a conservative estimate and students who take coaching and join is much larger. Analysis of JEE 2011 shows that of the 4.68 lakh candidates who appeared, 86,719 (18.5%) had completed schooling in an Indian village. Another 1.35 lakh (28.9%) schooled in towns and 2.46 lakh (52.55%) in cities. The success rate was the lowest for those who schooled in villages (9.84%); 25.12% of those from towns and 65.03% from cities made it to the IITs. Guwahati zone showed the largest percentage of candidates with schooling in villages while the Delhi zone had the largest success percentage from cities. Most of those who made it were from CBSE schools, followed by those from state boards. Out of the 13,196 qualified candidates , 543 were from ICSE (4.11%), 7,396 from CBSE (56%), and 5,195 from state board (39.4%). In JEE 2010, among the qualified candidates 57.93% were from CBSE, 36% from state boards and 5.54% from ICSE. Link
nballa Posted October 11, 2011 Posted October 11, 2011 well then its a good thing i rejected admission into IIT's
ravishingravi Posted October 12, 2011 Posted October 12, 2011 The kind of attack NRM received tells you how many are still living in aq bubble. I say the same for IIMs, CAs etc. It is a label now. Not an assurance of calibre or quality. There can be a brilliant boy/girl who happens to be an IITian. But being an IITian is not a guarantee of his/her brilliance which is where he was coming from.
deathmonger Posted October 12, 2011 Posted October 12, 2011 well then its a good thing i rejected admission into IIT's Islamabad Institute of Technology? :giggle:
akshayxyz Posted October 12, 2011 Posted October 12, 2011 The kind of attack NRM received tells you how many are still living in aq bubble. I say the same for IIMs' date=' CAs etc. It is a label now. Not an assurance of calibre or quality. There can be a brilliant boy/girl who happens to be an IITian. But being an IITian is not a guarantee of his/her brilliance which is where he was coming from.[/quote'] The problem is - differences in people's individual perception of quality. Unless one defines parameters of quality, it is always going to be a chaotic debate.
The Outsider Posted October 12, 2011 Posted October 12, 2011 You can't be serious about this. JEE rank 100 is equivalent to 10000? You better ask any IITian who would have spent 4 years in that set-up' date=' you would know the real situation.[/quote'] Yeah, the basic aptitude of a JEE rank 100 and 10000 is the same. Let's take only the top 10 private universities in the US like Harvard, Princeton, MIT etc. They cumulatively admit around 15000-20000 students every year (mostly US since the percentage of international students in undergrad is relatively low). Now, please present an argument that these universities produce inferior products than someone with a JEE rank of 10000?
Raghav_12 Posted October 12, 2011 Posted October 12, 2011 Yeah, the basic aptitude of a JEE rank 100 and 10000 is the same. Let's take only the top 10 private universities in the US like Harvard, Princeton, MIT etc. They cumulatively admit around 15000-20000 students every year (mostly US since the percentage of international students in undergrad is relatively low). Now, please present an argument that these universities produce inferior products than someone with a JEE rank of 10000? Why go from LA to New York via Pacific, Asia, Europe, Atlantic..!! Just compare the achievements of Top JEE rank holders w r t JEE rank holders of more than 2000 or so. Just talk to anybody who has spent four years with total population they tell you the answer. In IIT there are enough courses which are open for all departments - including students from JEE rank 1 to 2500 or so. Compare their academic performances in those courses. Why you need to bring Harvard, Princeton, MIT in discussion when you have to compare difference between JEE rank 100 and 10,000 ?
The Outsider Posted October 12, 2011 Posted October 12, 2011 ^ I was just trying to broaden the scope of discussion to demonstrate that JEE rank is not a measure of aptitude and intelligence to the extent that you can differentiate someone with a rank of 100 from a rank of 10000. Regarding personal examples, I can give you one where someone with a very high JEE rank was outperformed by someone with an ordinary one in the same graduate school program in a top US university. What does that prove? Nothing. Neither does this ask this, ask that line of argument you have taken.
Raghav_12 Posted October 12, 2011 Posted October 12, 2011 ^ I was just trying to broaden the scope of discussion to demonstrate that JEE rank is not a measure of aptitude and intelligence to the extent that you can differentiate someone with a rank of 100 from a rank of 10000. Regarding personal examples, I can give you one where someone with a very high JEE rank was outperformed by someone with an ordinary one in the same graduate school program in a top US university. What does that prove? Nothing. Neither does this ask this, ask that line of argument you have taken. There is no point in taking isolated examples. I wasn't talking about singular examples. I was talking about wholesome trend that is observed at IIT's. There is good correlation coefficient between JEE rank and subsequent academic performances at IIT's and thereafter. I am not saying that coefficient is absolutely 1, so there would always be cases like that you mentioned. I don't think there is any problem the line of argument I have taken. Fit a line between JEE ranks and academic performances in open slot (open for all departments) courses, you'll see the result. I'll give you even simpler example, look at the performance of different JEE rank holders in CAT, you'll see the pattern. And CAT is known as Common Aptitude Test. Your argument is as good as telling basically all human beings have more or less same level of aptitude and Intelligence. If you say so, I won't disagree with you.
Vijay.Sharma Posted October 13, 2011 Posted October 13, 2011 The people talking cr@p about IIT need to realize that it takes serious mind power to get in there. Of course once you have gotten in, the individuals are the only ones to praise/blame for what they make of it. I think Murthy is wrong here because he is the one who is shamelessly recruiting great talents from institutions like IITs to do what - fu
Vijay.Sharma Posted October 13, 2011 Posted October 13, 2011 I don't think increasing the number of IITs has reduced it's quality any bit. Let's understand that when there were just 5 IIT's there were hardly one lakh students appearing for the exams. Today we have not even 10 IITs (?) but the number of people appearing for exams is like 10 lacs Increasing IITs will only increase opportunity for the deserved. I don't see why a person who gets 96% must not get an IIT seat if a person who gets 96.05% can. It's just not fair. We cannot and must not limit opportunity. I say, make more IITs and RECs and more importantly, for heaven's sake, create opportunities for students from specific Engg branches to plough their trade in those branches. Will Murthy float an Engg company with all the money that he has already made, so that the IIT kids who have done Mech Engg, Auto Engg, E&T Engg, etc can give back to themselves and the nation achievements in those areas?
The Outsider Posted October 14, 2011 Posted October 14, 2011 There is no point in taking isolated examples. I wasn't talking about singular examples. I was talking about wholesome trend that is observed at IIT's. There is good correlation coefficient between JEE rank and subsequent academic performances at IIT's and thereafter. I am not saying that coefficient is absolutely 1, so there would always be cases like that you mentioned. I don't think there is any problem the line of argument I have taken. Fit a line between JEE ranks and academic performances in open slot (open for all departments) courses, you'll see the result. I'll give you even simpler example, look at the performance of different JEE rank holders in CAT, you'll see the pattern. And CAT is known as Common Aptitude Test. Your argument is as good as telling basically all human beings have more or less same level of aptitude and Intelligence. If you say so, I won't disagree with you. http://www.nytimes.com/2011/10/14/world/asia/squeezed-out-in-india-students-turn-to-united-states.html?_r=1&ref=asia An article from today's New York Times. Now unless you tell me that the average Cornell graduate is likely to be inferior to the average Delhi University graduate, I think the point is quite clear.
Raghav_12 Posted October 14, 2011 Posted October 14, 2011 http://www.nytimes.com/2011/10/14/world/asia/squeezed-out-in-india-students-turn-to-united-states.html?_r=1&ref=asia An article from today's New York Times. Now unless you tell me that the average Cornell graduate is likely to be inferior to the average Delhi University graduate, I think the point is quite clear. We are just debating the point whether JEE 100 and JEE 10000 have same intelligence and aptitude. All your arguments prove something but not the statement that you made.
The Outsider Posted October 14, 2011 Posted October 14, 2011 We are just debating the point whether JEE 100 and JEE 10000 have same intelligence and aptitude. All your arguments prove something but not the statement that you made. What is my point? It is that the limiting factor in the decline of quality of students graduating from an IIT is not the quality of students being taken in, but the educational standards, infrastructure, alumni networks etc. of the newer IITs. To prove it, I have shown that places which induct a higher number of students but provide a more solid institutional system of education are more likely to produce successful graduates than places which induct smaller classes and have a higher level of competition, but provide inferior education.