Lurker Posted January 25, 2012 Posted January 25, 2012 Its not that we are not exposed to enough humour/sarcasm/wit/irony etc, but our generation has a unique dilemma. We grow up speaking our respective mother tongues, but we study and eventually think in English. The resulting semantic gap affects our ability to be articulate, especially in non professional situation. And these situations are the ones that generally call for light hearted banter/jokes. The other side of that pertinent point Mariyam is that your generation also has this opportunity to do the right thing. Broadly speaking folks of my generation, age 35-45, got caught up in the whole economic liberalisation of early 90s. The key issue back then was to get a job, specifically an IT job that was relatively higher paying and gave chances to go abroad. This often meant the person had to have a good handle on English. Just came with the territory I suppose. And althought every single one of us did it for selfish reasons, be it bettering ourself or our family, there was perhaps this whole idea as well that if we grow individually we also grow collectively as a nation. But that clearly did not happen. Folks of your generation, say 25-35, did not have as much an issue of getting jobs (comparatively speaking). The economy definitely improved a whole lot, even with inflation. After I had worked 3 years in TCS I couldnt purchase a bike of my own, today people do that within first year. Not everyone of course but many. Affinity to English ahead of mother tongue was less economic driven and more fashion/social driven. Your generation has more resources at its disposal. Computers and internet for example. Easy to follow works of Rajinder Singh Bedi and Saadat manto. Easy to join a writers club etc. So why do people dont do it? Surely saying that your generation has this unique problem is only one side of the story, no? These days during Presidential debates in US, the right wing is constantly harping on English as lingua-franca. And although I am a big time anti-right wing I do have to beggar that question if say BJP raised that question in India to make Hindi the national language, just for debating purposes, what would happen all over the nation?? Maybe thats why we are where we are? :winky: xxxx
NeutralCat Posted January 27, 2012 Author Posted January 27, 2012 As if to prove the point the whole Jay Leno and the Golden Temple episode, what is wrong with us seriously?
bulbul Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 i agree Indians are too sensitive...way more than required
Old guy Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 i agree Indians are too sensitive...way more than required says the guy who after losing thread went on strike :cantstop:
bulbul Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 says the guy who after losing thread went on strike :cantstop: THat is for Justice..so that same problem shouldnt occur to others also.. who really cares about threads?
Old guy Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 THat is for Justice..so that same problem shouldnt occur to others also.. who really cares about threads? :whine:
bulbul Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 :whine: why you are whining...:giggle: i will stop this here...you type one post and stop there :two_thumbs_up:
flamy Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 Being mute is not the same as not employing language. Big difference. Going to agree with Mariyam' date='[b'] language and culture has a big say in what people find humorous and otherwise. ++ And reference to Chaplin is irrelevant - show his video to some tribe in Amazon - will they find it funny? Besides - even if Chaplin's movie does not have sound/words, there still is a language of communication - objects/props/situations/expressions...used in his movies. Of course. Context. Take the situation and change the perspective to get the funny. How you do it is just the medium. My point was in response to Mariyam's assertion that the present generation is somehow deficient in humor (being sensitive and not being able to take a joke) just because of proficiency (or lack thereof) in a particular language. Completely disagree. Its not that we are not exposed to enough humour/sarcasm/wit/irony etc, but our generation has a unique dilemma. We grow up speaking our respective mother tongues, but we study and eventually think in English. The resulting semantic gap affects our ability to be articulate, especially in non professional situation. And these situations are the ones that generally call for light hearted banter/jokes. I think internet or cable penetration is just a medium. Some of the funniest authors I've read, had no access to either-> Oscar Wilde, PG Wodehouse were products of the no nonsense hard nosed Victorian society. Precisely the "language and culture" scarchasm is talking about. That's where the internet actually helps. Cultural exchange.
Laaloo Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 South Indians are more sensitive especially without their daily dose of Sambhar :agree:
flamy Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 South Indians are more sensitive especially without their daily dose of Sambhar :agree: I have to go all the way to the desi ghetto to get Dosa :((
NeutralCat Posted January 27, 2012 Author Posted January 27, 2012 But the question should be is this sensitivity to prove a point on the world stage?
punjabi_khota Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 My dick is too sensitive. Does that count ?
Tiger80 Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 After I had worked 3 years in TCS I couldnt purchase a bike of my own, today people do that within first year. It has also lot to do with price of goods like TV ,Fridge Bikes ,cars not increased or even coming down in past 10-20 years
NeutralCat Posted January 27, 2012 Author Posted January 27, 2012 This is getting ridiculous Hindu Gods on swimwear: MEA to take up issue Read more at: http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/hindu-gods-on-swimwear-mea-to-take-up-issue-104971&cp
doozie Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 Desis always trying to prove something to the goras. They are not confident about their place in the world. No need given our growing prominence in the global consciousness and a market that is realizing its potential gradually. Maybe the next generation will catch up if the media culture gives them the right narratives with which to relate.
NeutralCat Posted January 27, 2012 Author Posted January 27, 2012 It's not just desis it's coming out of India as well, some of the stuff we carry on about is just sad.
Lurker Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 It has also lot to do with price of goods like TV ' date='Fridge Bikes ,cars not increased or even coming down in past 10-20 years[/quote'] True. It has more to do with the fact that starting salary was Rs 65,000 per annum of which taxes and PF were also deducted. At the time 1BHK house in Kandivali went for 3500/month. Do your math. Nanga nahayega kya? Nichodega kya? Aur bike pe kahan baithega?
flamy Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 Desis always trying to prove something to the goras. They are not confident about their place in the world. No need given our growing prominence in the global consciousness and a market that is realizing its potential gradually. Maybe the next generation will catch up if the media culture gives them the right narratives with which to relate. It's not just desis it's coming out of India as well' date=' some of the stuff we carry on about is just sad.[/quote'] Chips on shoulder. Colonial hangover. Give it a couple generations.
NeutralCat Posted January 28, 2012 Author Posted January 28, 2012 Yeah you have a point flamy, but it's embarrassing sometimes to see these fools burning things, and talking **** about the smallest things.
India-KXIP fan Posted January 28, 2012 Posted January 28, 2012 I just dont like when people point out things about Indian culture, criticising it. If thats the case they can GTFO.