Yoda-esque Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 ^Mithun has three National Film Awards..Maybe you should watch those films of his. SRK has none.
mhr123 Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 Not worst, but some of the most over rated actors in Bollywood Dilip Kumar : For the life of me, I can't understand why this guy is considered an all time great. Absolutely mediocre actor. A single expression whose reaction to a lover's death or a victory in battlefield is the same. Poor body language to along with it. In his favour, he speaks Hindi/Urdu very well but his dialogue delivery is boring. Zero intonation and modulation. No improvisation in his speech vis a vis the scene. Recently, I saw two of his movies in colour. Mughal e azam and Naya Daur. Both are good movies, especially the latter. I think, Dilip Kumar was lucky enough to get meaningful roles in movies which were good. He was a star primarily because of the era he worked in, and not because of his acting (or lack of) acumen. Hey come on... that's too much ... watch his films like Mashal or Shakti ... i have seen it more than 100 times. Shakti is tooooooooo good... no movie can come close to it... BIG B and Dilip K dialogue delivery are so good that u can walk miles to watch it. Muqhal e Azam is an over rated film ... too much over acting ...
akshayxyz Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 @OP TBF there are 100s of actors worse than Akshay. He does very well in some of the roles as long as he does not cry. Pity that most of the directors are not able to make best use of his skills, and recent one just over-abusing his comedy skills. @ Mariyam - I am with you on Dilip Kumar being over rated and even Rajesh Khanna, except for few good performances. @mhr - A good director can make a average actor look very good. and vice versa e.g. Saif in Omkara.
Yoda-esque Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 A good actor is one who chooses good roles.If Tabu kept doing movies like Prem and Gharwali Baharwali,you'd say shes a crappy actor. Like I said,theres no good or bad actors,just smart or lucky ones
akshayxyz Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 How come no one mentioned "Fardeen Khan" - this guy beats everyone in OP list, on scale of crappy-ness.
Mariyam Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 ^Mithun has three National Film Awards..Maybe you should watch those films of his. SRK has none. Klusner has a man of the tournament award in a WC. Sachin Tendulkar doesn't. Guess Klusner is the better player. Ditto Yuvraj. :P Why value the national award so highly? Saif Ali received the award for best actor for Hum Tum in 2004 ( or was it 2005?) . Speaks volumes about the award. If we're talking awards, check out the total awards (film fares + zee cines, which the film fraternity hold in higher esteem etc) for SRK vs Mithun. Either ways, we're talking about pure acting skills here. Awards depend on a lot of other factors also.
Mariyam Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 Hey come on... that's too much ... watch his films like Mashal or Shakti ... i have seen it more than 100 times. Shakti is tooooooooo good... no movie can come close to it... BIG B and Dilip K dialogue delivery are so good that u can walk miles to watch it. Muqhal e Azam is an over rated film ... too much over acting ... I've seen Shakti. Amitabh totally over shadowed Dilip Kumar. AB is 5 notches above DK. Don't even speak of them as if they are in the same league. TBH, I didn't like the movie much. I've also seen Karma. Nothing impressive there from DK either. All in all, I've found DK just average. Definitely not worth the hype that he generates. Haven't seen Mashal. Will and try and watch it when I can.
mhr123 Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 @OP TBF there are 100s of actors worse than Akshay. He does very well in some of the roles as long as he does not cry. Pity that most of the directors are not able to make best use of his skills, and recent one just over-abusing his comedy skills. @ Mariyam - I am with you on Dilip Kumar being over rated and even Rajesh Khanna, except for few good performances. @mhr - A good director can make a average actor look very good. and vice versa e.g. Saif in Omkara. someone please kill me... yaar kia hogaya bhai logo ko ... Rajesh Khanna over rated :omg::omg::omg: I need to retire.
Yoda-esque Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 Kluesener has a man of the tournament award in a WC. Sachin Tendulkar doesn't. Guess Kluesener is the better player. Ditto Yuvraj. :P Why value the national award so highly? Saif Ali received the award for best actor for Hum Tum in 2004 ( or was it 2005?) . Speaks volumes about the award. If we're talking awards, check out the total awards (film fares + zee cines, which the film fraternity hold in higher esteem etc) for SRK vs Mithun. Either ways, we're talking about pure acting skills here. Awards depend on a lot of other factors also. National Awards then were a matter of prestige unlike now. Kluesner might have been a good ODI player but was a crappy test player.Get it? :winky:
akshayxyz Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 someone please kill me... yaar kia hogaya bhai logo ko ... Rajesh Khanna over rated :omg::omg::omg: I need to retire. bhai tumhi ko pasand hongey aise actor, whose mundiyan hang/roll on the side, as if picked up from half-way through hanging process... regardless of whether the character/role required that sort of mannerism. Ever heard of 'blue-steel-look' - watch zoolander... Rajesh Khanna was bollywood example of the similar concept...same mannerisms every-time - completely disregarding the character being played.
Yoda-esque Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 bhai tumhi ko pasand hongey aise actor, whose mundiyan hang/roll on the side, as if picked up from half-way through hanging process... regardless of whether the character/role required that sort of mannerism. Ever heard of 'blue-steel-look' - watch zoolander... Rajesh Khanna was bollywood example of the similar concept...same mannerisms every-time - completely disregarding the character being played. :cantstop: SRK Is the RK of this gen... Yeah, SRK played Asoka:hysterical:
mhr123 Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 bhai tumhi ko pasand hongey aise actor, whose mundiyan hang/roll on the side, as if picked up from half-way through hanging process... regardless of whether the character/role required that sort of mannerism. Ever heard of 'blue-steel-look' - watch zoolander... Rajesh Khanna was bollywood example of the similar concept...same mannerisms every-time - completely disregarding the character being played. RK was brilliant and versatile actor.. who could do romantic and serious roles with ease... U can see his comedy movies like : Bawarchi , Joru ka Gulam and i the same breath some serious roles in Namak Haram , Anand , Thodi se bewafai .. etc..
DomainK Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 To his credit, Akki does comedy quite well. Though most of his (supposed to be) funny movies are really bad, he can make you laugh. The other thing in Akki's favour is that he is very versatile. In his earlier days he was mainly an action hero, executing multiple roundhouse kicks for 3 hours interspersed with the occasional song. Mohra, Sabse Bada Khiladi, Main Khiladi tu Anari, Around the turn of the millenium he turned into a romantic hero starting with Dhadkan and this is the time he was at his lowest ebb (acting wise). After that he's re-invented him self into a comedy actor and plays the stereotypical NRI/street smart con man/ don with a heart roles. And he's probably the most successful actor in India at the moment , monetarily speaking. Verdict: Definitely doesn't belong in this list. . I think he was outstanding in some of his films including films like Hera Pheri and Jaan-e-man (A very under rated film). For a large part of his career he couldn't act, but then he is a self-made man and at one time threatened to remove SRK from the king's position (2004), which is no mean achievement. He still is one of the chosen few actors who can carry a movie on his own. He has a very strong screen presence and can pull off some good scenes in some of the worst movies ever. His weakest point: He does not know how to chose his films. Talking about action heroes of that generation, one guy who remained mediocre throughout is Suniel Shetty. And he knows it. He has been happy doing the odd film from time to time and keep his reputation as a business man intact.
Sir john Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 I think he was outstanding in some of his films including films like Hera Pheri and Jaan-e-man (A very under rated film). For a large part of his career he couldn't act, but then he is a self-made man and at one time threatened to remove SRK from the king's position (2004), which is no mean achievement. He still is one of the chosen few actors who can carry a movie on his own. He has a very strong screen presence and can pull off some good scenes in some of the worst movies ever. His weakest point: He does not know how to chose his films. Talking about action heroes of that generation, one guy who remained mediocre throughout is Suniel Shetty. And he knows it. He has been happy doing the odd film from time to time and keep his reputation as a business man intact. during 2007 he have some hits,that time he was the king of bollywood? what you say?
Mariyam Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 bhai tumhi ko pasand hongey aise actor, whose mundiyan hang/roll on the side, as if picked up from half-way through hanging process... regardless of whether the character/role required that sort of mannerism. . LOL! Have to agree with you. I can't, for the life of me, understand how Rajesh Khanna was a heart throb in his years. One of my aunts was around 14-15 when he got married. She went into 'depression' and cried for a day because according to her RK 'deserved' much better than Dimple. Can't find anything anything 'heart throb esque' in RK at all. For one he was always dressed like a post man/ BEST conductor. In khaki browns. He's not a bad actor though. Anand, Aradhna are good movies. @DK: I am not downplaying Akki's talent at all. The OP is. Haven't seen Jaan-e-man, but I agree, he was brilliant in Hera Pheri.
akshayxyz Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 RK was brilliant and versatile actor.. who could do romantic and serious roles with ease... U can see his comedy movies like : Bawarchi , Joru ka Gulam and i the same breath some serious roles in Namak Haram , Anand , Thodi se bewafai .. etc.. Of course I have seen those movies (and more) and of course I used to like all those RK, DK, and even Shammi Kapoor movies.. and I used to like them, because I was not 'educated' enough to judge (or be bothered about) the acting skills. RK/DK kind of guys used to bring same mannerisms in every other movie - because public/girls liked them - and not because role required it. There was some documentary clip on RK, which substantiates that..search around, I guess ravisinghravi posted that. Also a good movie is more than just the function of acting skills of lead actor(s). Many of the RK/DK's movies were hit due to songs, music, story, and many other elements - and those film-fare awards were more like choosing best from the worst. In fact, there was a time ( I guess its still almost same), when you would see critics award rarely going to bollywood-box-office toppers.
akshayxyz Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 :cantstop: SRK Is the RK of this gen... Yeah, SRK played Asoka:hysterical: ++ SRK did give some good performances ( e.g. Swades, chak-de, and some in early career).. but, like most super-stars preceding him, he has also become victim of "I am superstar" syndrome. Among the oldies, Dharmendra was one of the super-star actors, who can stand shoulder to shoulder with AB..just that he had more brainfarts than AB had ( 90s). P.S. was SRK there in Asoka? I only have memories of Kareena's scenes.. when she looked was as fresh as morning dew :)
coffee_rules Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 Using Shakti, Mashaal and crap movies like Karma to say how good an actor Dilip Kumar is like showcasing SRGay's talent from Movies like Ram Jaane, Guddu etc.
akshayxyz Posted February 25, 2012 Posted February 25, 2012 LOL! Have to agree with you. I can't, for the life of me, understand how Rajesh Khanna was a heart throb in his years. One of my aunts was around 14-15 when he got married. She went into 'depression' and cried for a day because according to her RK 'deserved' much better than Dimple. Can't find anything anything 'heart throb esque' in RK at all. For one he was always dressed like a post man/ BEST conductor. In khaki browns. He's not a bad actor though. Anand, Aradhna are good movies. @DK: I am not downplaying Akki's talent at all. The OP is. Haven't seen Jaan-e-man, but I agree, he was brilliant in Hera Pheri. That is why I said - over-rated, and not one of the worst actors. Same with Dilip ji. Just that these guys abused their super-stardom, even though they had skills to not need them.