Go, Sachin, go? But what did we do to deserve a Sachin?

:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: with that logic, he should have retired 3-4 years back. Good sportsmen are capable to chase milestones and many of them do, all time greatest ones create new ones for others to follow - and almost always it happens by sheer passion for the sport, and not some glory hunting - not as it is portrayed by media.
Cricket is a team sport.U cannot let one man's "passion" override the team's interests. if it is as you say then sachin must not be allowed to pick and choose his matches. He must play as long as his "passion" is sated.
You do not understand the meaning of passion.
btw - retirement is more analogous to "suicide" than "die". What SRT is doing by continuing playing ( despite a bit of slump) would count as a Hero's death :)..
Depends on your vantage point, no? He has already slumped in my eyes, in your eyes not so much. Doesnt make me wrong, or right. But clearly at one time we were both counting him Hero, that day is gone.
btw, check it out - Saaar Don ji came back to play international cricket of highest class at an age of about 38, and played until 40... with better medical science, and technology I guess SRT can afford and manage to be fitter at similar age. Unless of course you think level of international cricket in Don ji's time was a bit inferior.
Yes lets have Saar Sachin ji play test cricket at 40 too lol. Funny how you wanna have it both ways. In his entire career Don played half, or less, than Sachin..and thats only considering Test cricket. Plus a lot of his energy was saved, rather unfortunately, due to WWars. SRT would be dead tired what with extra LOIs, T20, IPLs etc etc.

@Akshay Be pragmatic buddy. We've all adored and enjoyed sachin's brilliance.I just wanted him to go out on a high. And im not sure if that is around the corner

I would assume you agreed with the part of saket's post you edited out. If not, please do comment on that. here it is for your conveneince
Ab doosron ki posts ke liye comments chahiye mujhse. Chalo.... The first bold bit I see there is about Tendulkar being selfish and hunting for his 100th century - I've never said that he is playing just to attain the milestone. My reservations about him being in the team have got nothing to with it. If I felt he would still be still around for the next World Cup or our next away tour in ODIs and tests respectively I would not have any problems with him playing on as long as he was performing. Obviously, the problem is now compounded by the fact that there is a very slim possibility of him being around for the next World Cup and away tours and the fact that he is not performing either in both formats. The second bold part is about my kutta/sher comment and how the poster found it hurtful. For me, the team comes first and I will not sugarcoat my criticism of anyone harming the team whatever their past achievements might be. And Tendulkar is harming the team in both formats of the game by hanging on to his spot, safe in the knowledge that he can never be dropped - a sentiment echoed by many. The third bold part is about Tendulkar struggling to connect bat and ball. Maybe if you are blind bhakt you don't see his game disintegrating, but even someone like me with an average knowledge of cricket can see his game falling apart - perhaps you guys are not looking at it with an unbiased eye. Even someone like me was able to predict how Siddle is going to make him a b!tch in Australia and it transpired. The guy has no fecking clue as to where his off stump is. Even someone like Kulasekhara was able to set him up like a novice in one of the ODIs by beating him outside off stump and getting the next ball to come back in from the same spot to bowl him. Of course, bowlers won't get this kind of assistance in Asian conditions so Tendulkar will still be able to score there, but his days of scoring runs away are over. On pitches with something in them knowing where your off stump is the most important thing and Tendulkar has no clue. Even if you look at his decent scores in Australia and England, most came on pattas like Sydney and Oval. I hope I've satisfied your jigyaasa.
This. It really is not personal. But this stint after the WC win, has damaged his legacy no end.
This. It really is not personal. But this stint after the WC win' date=' has damaged his legacy no end.[/quote'] Maybe it has for some, but not for me. For me, Tendulkar's legacy would be defined by what he did and achieved when he was at his best for the best part of two decades. Just like I don't consider the last few years of Richards' career during an assessment of his legacy when he was clearly over the hill, the last leg of Tendulkar's career will not define Tendulkar for me. Yeah, there is a difference in the fact that Richards was still a part of the best team in the world during those years while Tendulkar has been part of a team which has been whitewashed 0-8, but quite certainly neither can the WI success during that time be attributed mainly to Richards nor can India's failure be attributed mainly to Tendulkar.

Why do people criticise Sachin? - A Cognitive Psychologist explains Came across this slightly old article, was written in October last year. Article tries to explain the behavior which is quite frequently observed on this forum as well. http://senantixtwentytwoyards.blogspot.com/2011/10/why-do-people-criticise-sachin.html A pretty long article but worth reading. Some excerpts:

Å©owever, when Sachin fails, very frequently Indians do enter a crisis period. Very natural, given he has been the mainstay of Indian batting for 22 years. And these register as a conjunction of Sachin failing and crisis. Hence, you see what happens to the estimated probability? Probability Sachin fails given crisis is replaced with probability of crisis given Sachin fails. It is the representative heuristic. Normal fallacy of the human mind. He wrote P(Sachin fails |crisis) ≈ P(Crisis|Sachin fails). Cognitive illusion.
Ū will give you an example of how immediate recall messes up actual statistics. In a well known experiment, participants were asked to deduce which is more the number of words beginning with a letter, say ÃÃŒ? or the number of words that have ÃÃŒ as the third letter. For k and also other letters, almost unanimously or an overwhelmingly statistically significant part of the participants concluded that the number of words beginning with the letter was more. However, the actual truth is the opposite. If you think about it, it is much easier to recall words beginning with k than words that have k in the third place. This is the availability heuristic, so prominent in the case of Sachin. It reinforces the representativeness bias. If you are wondering how Brian Lara gets the mantle of a great crisis player who wins matches in the fourth innings on the basis of one 153 he made against Australia, the answer is the same. Repetition induced availability. That particular innings has been talked about so often, it is an immediate recall. How many Indian fans have followed the career of Lara as you have done?
if someone else a regional icon say had given up captaincy to concentrate on his batting, the consensus would have been that the great man was giving up personal glory because India needed him as a batsman. In SachinÃÔ case, he chickens out. If Lara scores 600 runs in three tests all of which West Indies lose to Sri Lanka, he is a great batsman making runs against odds, as he indeed was. But when Sachin does that, the consensus is that if he scores India loses. Who can argue with irrationality?
Following below are the batting numbers of SL-WI series he is talking about. Lara scored colossal 668 in three test matches, but WI lost all of those three test matches. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/records/batting/most_runs_career.html?id=457;type=series
I would assume you agreed with the part of saket's post you edited out. If not, please do comment on that. here it is for your conveneince
So, after asking me for a reply as a bhikaari, you have gone into silent mode?
This. It really is not personal. But this stint after the WC win' date= has damaged his legacy no end.
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Came across this slightly old article, was written in October last year. Article tries to explain the behavior which is quite frequently observed on this forum as well. http://senantixtwentytwoyards.blogspot.com/2011/10/why-do-people-criticise-sachin.html A pretty long article but worth reading. Some excerpts:
Or maybe the simple explanation is that SRT is just a cricketer and is criticized for not performing like any other cricketer :dontknow: You do know that not everyone considers Sachin "god" and maybe you are going to find the rationale for such a "behaviour" as well next :giggle:
Don't understand why you take offence when people call Sachin as God. It is just an expression of affection. Nobody thinks that he has divine powers. It is just like calling Viv Richards as King. If that is so what the hell he does on field. There are few fans who worship Sachin as God, so why you are jealous of them? I think you consider Sachin more as God than me that's why you expect him to play equivalent of all 11 players and that's why you blame him for 8-0 loss. You just go on to justify the points author made in this article.

Ultimately in the long run it will not matter. Richards struggled in his late career as did many other ATGs. 20 years from now, no one except a few cricket writers and passionate followers will remember the poor run at the end of SRT's career. I do not see folks diminishing the greatness of other ATGs because some of them did not retire on top. In the short term his legacy will definitely suffer, but not in the long run. However, his status as arguably the greatest batsman of modern era I think is losing or lost and will continue to lose as they stats start dropping which they already have. Knowing what transpired I think Sachin would not do this all over again at the end of WC 2011. He knows he made a wrong move. Unfortunately there is no graceful way to bow out. If he does not get his 100th ton before he quits critics will label him as one who could not deliver at the end. If he gets it (can only be on pattas in SC), then critics will also target him as becoming a STB at the end of his career. EITHER WAY HE IS FECKED now!!

This. It really is not personal. But this stint after the WC win' date= has damaged his legacy no end.
Then it must be what @greabong felt :cantstop:
What we need is Sachin to give us a press conference and make clear to us why he is still playing and what his goals are. But unfortunately the guy is shunning all limelight at the moment.
What his goals are? Excuse me, but for twenty two years hasn't he been playing for the team? Its natural by all human stardards to think about yourself also. To all the retirement people: If you were in his place I definitely think you wouldn't have wanted to retire. Although the Virat Kohli part is b******t.
Why so angry :dontknow:

V hav lost successful series back to back . That too clean sweep white washes. U cant blame any individuals. If u start dropping people , then u need to drop the captain first. INDIA Known for playing poor cricket outside asia at times. Not only india all countries face tough times outside of their home. I always wondered when media and fans going see cricket as a game rather than making some body a hero and zero overnight. I still beleive sachin will do it one day , even if u say u r a modern day cricket fan who thinks young blood can only win games for u and want him to go out , then u hav to keep on critise him. Cant do anything more :)