Sehwag1830 Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2012-03-14/hyderabad/31164800_1_dalit-students-ou-hostel-mess About time there is a agitation against Dalit's reservation. They want reservation so that they can do things like these.
urbestfriend Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 Whats the issue? From time immemorial Dalits have eaten beef, whats the fuss about?
Texy Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 why don't they ask for pork and see what happens then?
akshayxyz Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 ^ ++ Very first thought that came to my mind too.
CSK Fan Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 why don't they ask for pork and see what happens then? So you are agreeing that hinduism is no different/better from islam in terms of reactions of followers and practise
ganeshran Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 why don't they ask for pork and see what happens then? Nothing will happen :dontknow: Both pork and beef are freely available and consumed in most cities. Its not like Hindus and muslims roam around looking to stop them from being sold.
ViruRulez Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 I do not think educational institutions are the right place for either serving beef or pork. That might not be the best in terms of education and might not be the best in terms of coordial relations. Though India has modernized to some extent but there are radicals and hypocrites in every society including in educational institutions. So, those elements of any religious, caste or other affinities might disturb the environment and use it as rallying point. Having said that, I have never understood the hypocrisy in India even today in terms of food habits. This includes the so called taboos attached with beef and pork or any other animal for that reason. I know a lot of Muslims who eat pork and drink wine and I also know a lot of Hindus who eat beef. And traditionally non-veg sections such as Brahmins, Baniyas etc. eating non-veg secretly is even more common and I have seen it with perhaps every second family from those castes/section if not every family. In some cases, children eat even with the knowledge of their parents but are not allowed to cook at home though are allowed to order at home. Again, some even do not eat Onions while some consider Egg and egg products as veg (which is again BS). So, our food habits are quite messed up as a country and we are still confused to a large extent. Similarly, I have never understood the cattle slaughter bans etc. in many states though it is hardly followed anywhere and all types of meat seem to be available everywhere. We seem to ape the West in other things but I would not only like to ape the west but even go the Chinese standards in terms of food habits. Anything that is healthy, abundantly avaiable and scientifically fit to be eaten (except being cannibals) need to be allowed without any ban or taboo attached. Chinese and Koreans also eat star fish and octopuses and what not and it has not affected them. In fact, they are more fit and health and less disease prone compared to the rest of the world. So, they also should not have a taboo. I personally like Chicken (probably because chicken are synonymous with chicks .. just joking :p ) but do not mind eating beef, pork, wine, mushrooms, birds or anything else that is eatable and tasty and is abundantly available. I oppose rare/less available species or about to be extinct species to be used for consumption purpose. I have never had deer meat as it is not available and not allowed I suppose. If it was not a rare species and was available in huge numbers I would have liked to eaten it too. Most people of the older generation who has eaten bear meat before it was banned says it tastes wonderful. :potstir: Hope that Indian people and culture as a whole opens up the minds in the future and we would have more choice in choosing what we can eat. I would like Indians to become partial atheists in the long run too. That would not only open up the minds but also would end half the mess that happens in the country. :giggle:
mishra Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 During the festival, cooked beef will be served and is being conducted as part of the birth anniversary celebrations of national leaders like B R Ambedakar (April 14), Jyotiba Phule (April 11) and Babu Jagjivan Ram (April 5), who were anti-caste ideologues. :facepalm: Sabhi ki le leee. Long live followerz.. Khana hai to khaavo.... Amerikaa se import karane mein harj kyaa hai.... Lekin :headshake:
1983-2011 Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 In a petition submitted to university's vice chancellor, S Satyanarayana, the students have stated that their food habits were ridiculed and insulted on the campus as members of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) disrupted an attempt to cook beef in New Research Scholars' Hostel on March 11. hindutva fanatics:facepalm:
1983-2011 Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 Challenging the 'casteist food culture', the students will also hold a beef festival in front of Osmania University (OU) Arts College in April. During the festival, cooked beef will be served :rock:
mishra Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 hindutva fanatics:facepalm: I thought Ambedkar, if he had any, had inclination towards Buddhism.. If its to celebrate his birthday then either i am wrong or the goons got money from beef sellers or they are on a ad campaign of their new political party
1983-2011 Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 I thought Ambedkar' date=' if he had any, had inclination towards Buddhism.. If its to celebrate his birthday then either i am wrong or the goons got money from beef sellers or they are on a ad campain.[/quote'] i called ABVP fanatics, whats their problems if dalit students wants to eat beef. people have choice of what they can eat and not eat
mishra Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 i called ABVP fanatics' date=' whats their problems if dalit students wants to eat beef. people have choice of what they can eat and not eat[/quote'] Did you read the whole story? They share the same mess
1983-2011 Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 Did you read the whole story? They share the same mess they are 2000 dalit students at OU campuss. surely beef should be on the menu if they want to eat it in the hostel mess
seedhi Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 they are 2000 dalit students at OU campuss. surely beef should be on the menu if they want to eat it in the hostel messThe Constitution of India, drafted by BR Ambedkar has cow protection as one of the Directive Principles of State Policy. The State shall endeavour to organise agriculture and animal husbandry on modern and scientific lines and shall , in particular , take steps for preserving and improving the breeds , and prohibiting the slaughter , of cows and calves and other milch and draught cattle.
mishra Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 they are 2000 dalit students at OU campuss. surely beef should be on the menu if they want to eat it in the hostel mess Multiple things... 1.When did you last time visit India? have you got any understanding of how Indians want there food cooked (specially hindus) 2. Ambedkar wanted Budhdhism.. Surely his name shouldnt be associated with all thi hoo halla... 3. I studied in one of the premier institutes of India. In the mess the dal i used to get had all water... Forget about getting any meat. And even that food was not affordable to a lot of students. 4. If you got right to eat to make a stand then other got right to practice their religion 5. Any Dalit who can afford Beef in his diet surely doesnt needs reservation, Infact his place should be given to one who cant afford dal... 6. Finall Indian constitution give right to cows.
punjabi_khota Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 Humare 4 saal sambhar aur rasam aur daal mein difference dhoondte dhoondte nikal gaye aur inko beef chahiye ? :((
Lurker Posted March 16, 2012 Posted March 16, 2012 Humare 4 saal sambhar aur rasam aur daal mein difference dhoondte dhoondte nikal gaye aur inko beef chahiye ? :(( :giggle: Indeed. Hamare college mein anda-curry was made on feast days :yay: