Of course i feel a sense of belonging towards this site. I've been here from the beginning (well, almost...) from the time there were approx 100 members, been through numerous discussions, and most importantly, i have been witness to the site's remarkable growth - like how a parent watches his kid grow (as stupid as that sounds). So naturally, i have an emotional attachment to it. Sense of community ? Absolutely. Look at how openly people on this forum are able to discuss things with another. Very informal, very casual...it's a decent atomosphere. What i like most about many members is how they don't always hold back. If they think you are talking crap, they will say as much. I appreciate that sincerity, and it livens up most discussions.
Very nicely put Predator! :top:
Pred has been massive for this site. I never knew him well at the old dump. But his enthusiasm, his appetite for research, and a crisp, frugal writing style makes his posts on cricket a must-read. I reckon his cricket posts generate half the hits on this site.
Definitely. People like Predator,GIB,Lurker, gator etc are the powerhouses of this site. This site has brought out the best amongst the ones who were a bit quiet back then, like Predator and vroom.
predator's non-stop advertisement of ICF..and his marketing strategies have brought many fans and followers of indian cricket to this place... CC, sriram and criketics are few posters who have contributed immensely to this site.. lets also thank our ladies brigade ..headed by Radhika madam..who has been with us since thick and thin of times...
Pred has been massive for this site. I never knew him well at the old dump. But his enthusiasm' date= his appetite for research, and a crisp, frugal writing style makes his posts on cricket a must-read. I reckon his cricket posts generate half the hits on this site.
..with that vibrant personality, he was pretty quiet there

I still remember the days when the first few emails were exchanged about the board. We had too many questions: How do we put together a website ? How are we gonna assemble the crowd ? How do we form a community that can last ?, but hardly any answers. Yet a year later, we are talking about being the no. 1 site on the net for Indian cricket fans. This site's growth has been phenomenal. And there are so many people who have fueled its success . ICF gives me a sense of pride and freedom. ICF is a great example of why democracy and free speech rulez Personally for me, ICF is an encyclopedia. I cant point to a website on the net, that discusses a sport, religion, holy books, film, music, love birds, humous, finance etc all in such depth. There is so much to learn from the posters and the posts here.

@Bumper.. I havent been an active member of a forum based site before, but from what you say , is censorship a big problem in such sites ? You seem to have given lot of importance to it in your post.

and still you have more than 4000 posts
Parth, 4000 is no big deal ...you have to keep running DR :-) :dance: (DR: all in jest, dont take it seriously, just having fun...continue the marathon...i've run some myself :-) )
You know ravi' date=' there are other singles here too..just becasue varun is site developer..oh jeez man, this is heartbreaking :musical_note:[/quote'] Just like in college :haha:
@Bumper.. I havent been an active member of a forum based site before, but from what you say , is censorship a big problem in such sites ? You seem to have given lot of importance to it in your post.
Yes, sriram. There are absolute morons masquerading as mods in many forums. We had on the average 8 of our 10 posts deleted or censured (where we used to be, before), which forced us to walk out & do what we are doing today.
Yes' date=' sriram. There are absolute morons masquerading as mods in many forums. We had on the average 8 of our 10 posts deleted or censured (where we used to be, before), which forced us to walk out & do what we are doing today.[/quote'] Bumper has made a good observation as to why problems happen in some cases.

A forum often hijacked by google ninjas and gits who engage in partisan bickering with no end in sight. using the forum to demonstrate their ability to out type, out bore and just plain out "loser" other posters. And then there is everyone else, who is not CC1981...

:hysterical:
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:THX you are one funny guy:hysterical::hysterical:
"Kaunsi love-story ko hawa deni chahiye?". Please let me know' date=' Radhika-ji.[/quote'] Arre baba...jab miya biwi hi raazi nahi to kya kar sakte hain.......:tounge_smile: