KOLKATA: With his side failing to chase a modest 135 to win, Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Gautam Gambhir on Sunday warned of making drastic changes to the side if seniors fail to perform again. Opted to bowl, Kolkata rode on a superb 5/19 by Sunil Narine to restrict Kings XI Punjab to 134 for nine but lost the match by two runs. The left-hander was highly critical of his batsmen. "How can I say in a press conference that I am happy with their form. I've some experienced players and they need to take up responsibility. Otherwise there would be the need to take some strong and drastic decisions," Gambhir said. "I am obviously pretty disappointed with the performance. The way we started in the first six overs, we should have chased it down. But it's a worrying sign if you end up losing these kind of games." Gambhir also said the loss of form by Yusuf Pathan, who is yet to fire for the team, is a worrying sign. "He needs to deliver to be very honest. He just can't keep playing these kind of shots. He is an important player for us. Hope he can get back to runs as soon as possible. I've lot of faith in him. He is a big match player. Hopefully he can end up winning a couple of games which is very important for us." Gambhir, however was all-praise for his bowlers. "The way we restricted them to 134 for nine was a nice effort. I could not have asked for more. It was a fantastic effort. I can't really say it was a poor day. We played well in patches." Pitted against the same opposition at Mohali in the next outing, Gambhir was hopeful of a better show. "It's still a long way to go. We need to get the momentum back. Hopefully we can try and win our away game (against Team Punjab on April 18) and carry the momentum to Cuttack (against Deccan Chargers on April 22). The Eden track might not look conducive to batting but Gambhir said it was fair enough and said Kings XI Punjab too had their win on a green top which was not ideal for T20 format. "I've said again and again that let's not talk about wickets. The green wicket on which Kings XI got their win in the previous match was not a good T20 wicket either. "I feel it was a very good wicket to bat on. Ball was coming on nicely to the bat. It (the loss) has nothing to do with the wicket."

what kind of drastic changes? this is poor captaincy from gambhir. He is simply threatening the seniors? I know you cud blame guys like kallis, shakib, McCullum, doeschate for the loss but you cant just threaten them. I mean these guys are successful in intl cricket. Its not like gambhir is the boss..He should learn from Dhoni. Dhoni manages sehwag, kohli, tendu, dravid, gambhir himself

Tell me what can a captain do if their top order collapses like it did against RR and DD. Or his batsmen cant chase 137 after being 74-2 in 11 overs.

Ten Doeschate should be dropped, unless u plan to use him as an all rounder. Get Lee in and make him bat at number 3. Like Yusuf pathan he'll probably get out cheap, more often than not. But when he clicks Lee is more than capable of making a quickfire 30-40 of 20-25 balls. And when he does that it'll be advantage KKR.

Tell me what can a captain do if their top order collapses like it did against RR and DD. Or his batsmen cant chase 137 after being 74-2 in 11 overs.
He should do something...not talk about it in public.public ko kya report card de raha hai.
Maybe the captain should lead from the front. It does not help when your captain himself is not in great form but is still as arrogant as ever.
he seems to be furious when the batsman fail. It seems that he is bossing around as if its only his team. im pretty sure guys like pathan, kallis, shakib, tiwari, tendo will feel very offended by their captain. Its not that these guys are young, they can mistakes but dont expect them to make mistakes again and again
Gauti has to just shut up and do everything on the field.
Agree, he has been speaking lot more than what he should. Its a waste to have him as a kaptaan. He is just not good enough.

gambhir's body language is extremely poor. Way his face shows up frustration even after a minor mis-field i have not see dhoni react that way throughout the 8-0 drubbing

Now I am convinced he will be pretty bad choice for a leader of national team. As a leader, do whatever you want to do, but you are not supposed to vent your anger/frustration publicly. Also, if he is getting frustrated with such small things, he will press panic button more often than not... not good for national team.

he is a attacking captain even in last match he had slip for new batsman in the 18 over of the game what can he do if the middle order did not fire he can only give solid start and he should not be held resposible for kkr `s chokng middle order even dhoni bats well if the team gives a good start he cannot win them match all by himself only wrong thing he did in last match was to bowl first on that turner :facepalm:

^^^^ Sometimes it is better for a captain to just be quiet than talk and make the situation more worse with some bad reasons/excuses. Just learn from Dhoni or many other successful captains, they really know when they need to talk and when not.

he seems to be furious when the batsman fail. It seems that he is bossing around as if its only his team. im pretty sure guys like pathan, kallis, shakib, tiwari, tendo will feel very offended by their captain. Its not that these guys are young, they can mistakes but dont expect them to make mistakes again and again
It's been always KKR's problem. Their players deliver well below their potential and name. Pressure is one of the reason but last time in his captaincy they made it to play offs, while they were last place contender in first 3 seasons. You can criticize his batting that he hasn't been able to hold some of the innings together when his team was collapsing. But his on-field tactics have been good in general. Apart from Shakib in first 2 games, he has selected almost best possible combination.