The Narendra Modi thread  

6 members have voted

1. we all know where that comment was aimed. 2. so why are they trying to raise the issue once again if its not going to consolidate their vote bank?
No you are assuming where it was aimed. I think for Indians who talk in Hindi, Burkha is commonly used for veil or to convey someone's cowardice. I am not sure where and how Modi raised Ram temple issue.
His specialty might be economics' date=' but why do you think such a learned, brainy person will know less than you about politics? BTW, nope, all those old arrogant bongs support CPIM, hardly any support congress. So much for knowledge of politics[/quote'] high % of those old,arrogant bongs(not only in WB) cast their vote for congress and CPI in GE,its a fact .. about the 1st line of ur post,he goes on with his secular figure and disparages BJP,he may have a lot more knowledge in politics but hey just because he is "amartya sen" its not necessary to agree with everything he says,even diggy raja has more political knowledge than me but we all know his credibility (not drawing any analogy with Mr Sen)
No you are assuming where it was aimed. I think for Indians who talk in Hindi, Burkha is commonly used for veil or to convey someone's cowardice.
No. That would be purdah. Or ghunghat. Never in my life have I heard burqa being used in that context and I am pretty sure I've seen more people talking in Hindi and Urdu than you have.
No you are assuming where it was aimed. I think for Indians who talk in Hindi, Burkha is commonly used for veil or to convey someone's cowardice. I am not sure where and how Modi raised Ram temple issue.
not exactly. Amit Shah is Modi's closest aide and immediately after reaching Lucknow for the first time he said that if BJP comes to power they would construct the Ram mandir at Ayodhya. Other than this we have regular statements by RSS (who we know are controlling the BJP more than ever now) about going back to the Hindutva agenda.
No. That would be purdah. Or ghunghat. Never in my life have I heard burqa being used in that context and I am pretty sure I've seen more people talking in Hindi and Urdu than you have.
even though modi`s burqa comment was not required and bit OTT at the speech but burqa word is used commonly,at least in delhi apropos cowardice.. i have heard many comments like "burkhe ke peeche chhup ke fayda nahi,saamne hai", "itna bura lag raha hai ye dekhne me to burkha pehen le" in Day to day life
"burkhe ke peeche chhup ke fayda nahi,saamne hai"
^ Frankly I've never heard it used in Delhi or UP - purdaah or ghunghat are commonly used though in the context you are saying.
"itna bura lag raha hai ye dekhne me to burkha pehen le"
^ Yes it is used in this context to depict ugliness, but not cowardice.
^ Frankly I've never heard it used in Delhi or UP - purdaah or ghunghat are commonly used though in the context you are saying. ^ Yes it is used in this context to depict ugliness, but not cowardice.
I have heard & used the word here in Bangalore.
Even 10 MPs writing to a foreign country's president to deny a visa to one of the CMs of the country is a big deal.
That is wrong. Its a big deal only if you are insecure.

Has this Rajnath guy gone nuts? Raising 'English language' issue and then 'demanding US VISA for Modi'!! Doesn't he has any other or better issues? :facepalm: Eik tho KARELA (Modi) upar seh NEEM (Rajnath) charha... :wall: Giving issues after issues to oppostion on platter in the process diverting public attention from issues like INFLATION, CORRUPTION, SCAMS, RUPEE DEVALUATION, FDI etc. :facepalm:

If people of the country have voted for Congress again and again' date=' who are you to judge them? See, where that goes?[/quote'] DM and I agree that there is a growth in Gujarat. He has issue with Modi's claim about their growth. DM, thinks it should be attributed to people more than Modi. My point is ppl of gujarat think otherwise. So the point was raised that I am nobody to judge as to why the gujarat's growth should be attributed to Modi or not. I am only talking factual. So explain to me your analogy here?
Has this Rajnath guy gone nuts? Raising 'English language' issue and then 'demanding US VISA for Modi'!! Doesn't he has any other or better issues? :facepalm: Eik tho KARELA (Modi) upar seh NEEM (Rajnath) charha... :wall: Giving issues after issues to oppostion on platter in the process diverting public attention from issues like INFLATION, CORRUPTION, SCAMS, RUPEE DEVALUATION, FDI etc. :facepalm:
They deserve the candidates they chose , if all the issues you mentioned diverted so easily. Inflation,corruption,scams etc. affect day to day lives , if people so easily forget this just because some one said "English' , 'US visa' what else you expect from them?
Yeah their fault, agree... By your logic why not leave everything for people memory and don't say anything? :idea: However, that someone is party president. Why would he say all these? Isn't he stupid?

Shivraj Chouhan ignores Modi in MP's campaign launch.

Also, in a political indication of sorts, hoardings and banners at the launch of the yatra featured the party's national leaders such as Atal Behari Vajpayee, L K Advani, Sushma Swaraj, Rajnath Singh and Anant Kumar, along with some state leaders. But missing noticeably was Chouhan's Gujarat counterpart Narendra Modi, recently named the party's 2014 poll campaign panel chief and touted as its prime ministerial candidate.
http://www.indianexpress.com/news/mp-is-no.-1-state-says-chouhan-party-ignores-modi-at-campaign-launch/1145392/

Shatrughan Sinha

“L. K. Advani is the most experienced and mature statesman the party has today. His contribution to the party in terms of helping it grow from two to 200 seats, has been the highest. There are many other senior and able leaders — like Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, Yashwant Sinha and Murli Manohar Joshi. The BJP cannot move forward by sidelining these leadersâ€
Gujarat "growth" is noticeable but has been blown out of proportions. The report which I mentioned earlier may have been old but a major part of it still stands. Who this growth should be attributed is a different question. Most of it has been attributed to governance without even the slightest mention of the ground zero workers. Hence, I made two observations - (1) We need to show with data about the Gujarat "growth" story. It becomes a bit difficult when the CM of the state starts spin doctoring facts (2) The credit for this growth should be attributed to the respective stake holder and not a parasite. For example, the Gujarat milk production success story should be majorly attributed to Amul movement and Kurien.
Here are some numbers. I will wait for your rebutal of these facts/claims. I know most of the promises made look like dreams to us indian but at least he is putting it out in the open for public to see. Show me what any other state has put infront of us based on their annual plan? At least the guy is doing sincere efforts to show the country that this is what he will be doing in coming years. Comment on his 13-14 plan as well. Let me hear from you that you agree with those budgets to improve upon some of the HDIs.
Now I will go back to your blame that the growth is blown out of proportion. Explain to me what is blown out of proportion.
  • Gujarat's steady GDP
  • Gujarat's substantial growth in Agricultural sector
  • Gujarat's contribution in Industrial production.

I hope you are beyond the GDP remark as we had agreed on that as well as milk production part.