Muloghonto Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 It will be an impetus for that language, one of the oldest language which also is root of many indo aryan languages. It's also such a fantastic and pure language to learn and understand. Having studied it till my matriculation, it has definitely helped in shaping my life in a positive manner. I dont see the point of bringing the language back...its not like the Greeks are bringing back the old archaic Greek now, the Italians are not bringing back latin..so whhy do we have to brng back a dead language ?
Raghav_12 Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 I dont see the point of bringing the language back...its not like the Greeks are bringing back the old archaic Greek now' date=' the Italians are not bringing back latin..so whhy do we have to brng back a dead language ?[/quote'] We are just months away from situation where RSS will decide what language should be spoken in Modi-stan.
Muloghonto Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 We are just months away from situation where RSS will decide what language should be spoken in Modi-stan. Modi-sthana. Leave it to our iranic brothers to shorten it to stan! :--D
hhunaeh Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 Is India TV a comedy channel?looking at some of its headlines being posted here, it seems like a great channel to watch when you are down :hysterical:
tothepoint Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 Atleast these are in ICF. What about Kejri's claim of BJP fileded Smriti Irani in Amethi to help Rahul to beat KV :cantstop:
Khalpat Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 Is India TV a comedy channel?looking at some of its headlines being posted here' date=' it seems like a great channel to watch when you are down :hysterical:[/quote'] Why are you down? Cheer Up.
Raghav_12 Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 CBI court adjourns case against Amit Shah, others to June 6 http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/other-states/cbi-court-adjourns-case-against-amit-shah-others-to-june-6/article6039972.ece A special CBI court in Mumbai on Friday adjourned the hearing in the Tulsiram Prajapati fake encounter case, in which key BJP leader Amit Shah is an accused, to June 6, as the judge was on leave. Earlier this month, on May 9, the special court had summoned all the accused to be present in the court on May 23. At the request of the CBI, the Supreme Court had transferred the encounter case to the special CBI court in Mumbai. Special CBI judge J T Utpat on May 9, had issued summons to all the 20 accused including Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi’s aide Amit Shah and asked them to be present on May 23. In September, 2012 the CBI filed a charge-sheet in a Gujarat court against the 20 accused including former Gujarat Home Minister Amit Shah, former State DGP P C Pande, the then IGP CID crime Geetha Johri and Dy SP R K Patel.Tulsiram Prajapati, an eyewitness in the fake encounter killing of Sohrabuddin Sheikh and Kaiser Bi in November 2005, was allegedly eliminated by the Gujarat police in December 2006. Now all this farce will start. Judges will be on leave, they'll recuse themselves. A person charge-sheeted in multiple murder cases, having so much power is something probably unprecedented in history of democratic india. Earlier cases were transferred out of Gujrat. Wonder where they would go now?
Khalpat Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 CBI court adjourns case against Amit Shah' date= others to June 6 http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/other-states/cbi-court-adjourns-case-against-amit-shah-others-to-june-6/article6039972.ece Now all this farce will start. Judges will be on leave, they'll recuse themselves. A person charge-sheeted in multiple murder cases, having so much power is something probably unprecedented in history of democratic india. Earlier cases were transferred out of Gujrat. Wonder where they would go now? Kitna pessimistic hai bhai tu. Your last more than 20 posts are something like, "See what all bad is going to happen". "Everything is bad", "I can say by sure it is just start and many bad things are going to follow" kind of. Just a friendly advice, take a break from Political Section for sometime like RG or else it will affect you personally.
Precambrian Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 I dont see the point of bringing the language back...its not like the Greeks are bringing back the old archaic Greek now' date=' the Italians are not bringing back latin..so whhy do we have to brng back a dead language ?[/quote'] Because we can. Why should we look at Greeks or Italians to determine what we want to do? Why can't we set a precedence? What more pious than bringing back a nearly dead language back to life?
bulbul Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 CBI court adjourns case against Amit Shah' date= others to June 6 http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/other-states/cbi-court-adjourns-case-against-amit-shah-others-to-june-6/article6039972.ece Now all this farce will start. Judges will be on leave, they'll recuse themselves. A person charge-sheeted in multiple murder cases, having so much power is something probably unprecedented in history of democratic india. Earlier cases were transferred out of Gujrat. Wonder where they would go now? Pakistan.
Precambrian Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 Kitna pessimistic hai bhai tu. Your last more than 20 posts are something like' date=' "See what all bad is going to happen". "Everything is bad", "I can say by sure it is just start and many bad things are going to follow" kind of. Just a friendly advice, take a break from Political Section for sometime like RG or else it will affect you personally.[/quote'] politics of wrteched negativity... wherever AAPists look around, they see negative, negative and more negative. A life lived in negativity and anarchy. Seriously dire.
adi B Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 gadkari has called for an all delhi bjp mla meet at 5pm.already excercising his power b4 becoming the new party prez or will it be nadda :hmmm:
Sachin=GOD Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 gadkari has called for an all delhi bjp mla meet at 5pm.already excercising his power b4 becoming the new party prez or will it be nadda :hmmm: IIRC Gadkari was the state in charge of Dlehi - I guess he called the meeting in that capacity. As for Party Prez, Nadda's name seems higher on the list bcoz Gadkari has already been Prez and he may want to get a Ministry this time.
Muloghonto Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 Because we can. Why should we look at Greeks or Italians to determine what we want to do? Why can't we set a precedence? What more pious than bringing back a nearly dead language back to life? Because we can is not good enough a reason. Why then Sanskrit and not Pali/ardhamagadhi ? The issue is not whether we take cues from the Greeks or Italians or anyone else, the issue is to point out that they are secure enough in their culture and heritage to not require unnecessary revivals of language. A language takes time and effort to learn. Why the heck should I or anyone else bother learning a language that has zero purpose of communication ? What would be more pious (though piety should be really restricted to worship, not trying to make anything and everything justifiable by piety) is to spend that energy doing something productive, instead of spending the time, energy and curriculum to teach a language that was abandoned by our ancestors in the first place and has very little usefulness of it. There are probably less than a 100 original books in sanskrit, there are probably less than 50,000 people worldwide who can speak it. Seems like a colossal waste of time to learn such a language for purely sentimental reasons.
Sachin=GOD Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 Because we can is not good enough a reason. Why then Sanskrit and not Pali/ardhamagadhi ? The issue is not whether we take cues from the Greeks or Italians or anyone else, the issue is to point out that they are secure enough in their culture and heritage to not require unnecessary revivals of language. A language takes time and effort to learn. Why the heck should I or anyone else bother learning a language that has zero purpose of communication ? What would be more pious (though piety should be really restricted to worship, not trying to make anything and everything justifiable by piety) is to spend that energy doing something productive, instead of spending the time, energy and curriculum to teach a language that was abandoned by our ancestors in the first place and has very little usefulness of it. There are probably less than a 100 original books in sanskrit, there are probably less than 50,000 people worldwide who can speak it. Seems like a colossal waste of time to learn such a language for purely sentimental reasons. Sentiment and symbolism - that is why he might take his oath in Sanskrit.
Precambrian Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 Because we can is not good enough a reason. Why then Sanskrit and not Pali/ardhamagadhi ? The issue is not whether we take cues from the Greeks or Italians or anyone else, the issue is to point out that they are secure enough in their culture and heritage to not require unnecessary revivals of language. A language takes time and effort to learn. Why the heck should I or anyone else bother learning a language that has zero purpose of communication ? What would be more pious (though piety should be really restricted to worship, not trying to make anything and everything justifiable by piety) is to spend that energy doing something productive, instead of spending the time, energy and curriculum to teach a language that was abandoned by our ancestors in the first place and has very little usefulness of it. There are probably less than a 100 original books in sanskrit, there are probably less than 50,000 people worldwide who can speak it. Seems like a colossal waste of time to learn such a language for purely sentimental reasons. sanskrit still has 14000 speakers at least, not to mention it is taught very widely across India. So what makes it different from pali ardhanagri is that the latter is totally extinct. Of course there is the little matter of body of work existing in both languages, please correct me if am wrong. Now coming to learning: Let me ask you as far as practicality is concerned, we study algebra, trigonometry, integral calculus etc at school - how many of us use it on a day-to-day basis after finishing education? Does anybody even bother about it these days other than a small minority of mathematicians or scientists? But would it make sense if someone comes and say well its not used by anybody so lets scrap it altogether? I would not use the word "abandon" - it was not abandoned but evolved, and mixed with other languages forming totally new languages. For example - malayalam is a direct mix between tamil and sanskrit - there are many terms common to both malayalam and sanskrit. Now why should I learn sanskrit? In short: a. It is my mother tongue's mother tongue - Understanding that language vastly improves comprehension and understand of my own language b. Body of knowledge - There is a tremendous body of language - of literature and others in sanskrit - bhagavad geethe for example is still practised world around in Sanskrit - but I doubt how many of them really are able to appreciate without knowing its meaning? Understanding sanskrit alleviates the need of translators and helps one to read and comprehend and make one's own interpretation - Now please don't tell me readers of bhagavad geetha are in a micro minority. Add to that various other works and its a literal treasure out there waiting to be explored and publicised. I can only laugh at your presumption that there is only 100 books or so in sanskrit that it need not be learnt at all. So do what? Burn all these? c. Sentimental reasons - Yeah, one's parents when they get older, say over 60 yrs old, become inefficient from an economic viewpoint. What if someone comes and argues, well chuck them, put them into an old age home - they are after all not contributing anything, and you are clinging on to them just for sentimental reasons, so let's do it shall we? Or would you? ;)
hhunaeh Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 I wish i had spent the time i wasted learning sanskrit on learning my mother tongue and English better. I'll never use sanskrit again. So it was a total waste of time and effort.
rkt.india Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 In Hindi medium school in UP and UK, we still study Sanskrit till 10+2. It becomes one of the three papers of Hindi from 9th to 12th.
rkt.india Posted May 23, 2014 Posted May 23, 2014 I wish i had spent the time i wasted learning sanskrit on learning my mother tongue and English better. I'll never use sanskrit again. So it was a total waste of time and effort. No knowledge is a waste.