fineleg Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 I had other ways to make her pay :alienbooty: DC, But...but...you boast in ICF that you were a virgin before marrying Mrs. DC :winky:
Desi Cartman Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 DC, But...but...you boast in ICF that you were a virgin before marrying Mrs. DC :winky: No comments, for the record I have never made any statement regarding that.
maniac Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 It's a 2 way deal....yes may be our behaviour has reduced them to this but from what I have seen there is kind of a ghettoisation by the NEasterners as well,They don't prefer mixing with the others ....I mean how many of us non-Neasterners have friends from their states....when I say friends close to best friends..You might have one to 2 in your circle of friends but not more than that. As I said they like to mix among themselves which makes it very difficult for us non-racist types as well. But yes,We need to take the first step because I have seen some really nasty stuff being said to them.
akshayxyz Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 Govt has got his priorities wrong.... they should first stabilise the situation in North-east states....treat them as part of India........ 8-10 out of 12 months, its bandh (strike) happening there. There must be a bigger % of 'southie/madrasi' populace who might complain about being called 'madrasi/maddu'...or Bihar/UP - being called Bihari/Bhaiyya..........but at least these regions are relatively more livable and stable. Besides, as-far-as-i-have-experienced - NE folks are (relatively) more chilled out... and don't even bother about the word 'chinki'.
Desi Cartman Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 It's a 2 way deal....yes may be our behaviour has reduced them to this but from what I have seen there is kind of a ghettoisation by the NEasterners as well,They don't prefer mixing with the others ....I mean how many of us non-Neasterners have friends from their states....when I say friends close to best friends..You might have one to 2 in your circle of friends but not more than that. As I said they like to mix among themselves which makes it very difficult for us non-racist types as well. But yes,We need to take the first step because I have seen some really nasty stuff being said to them. Thats the excuse Aussies gave Indians when students were getting beaten up. As for people from NE, they stay together cuz they are from the same background and common values/traditions and how can they make friends with others when their women are considered "easy" and overall when the whole community is supposed to take the abuse in their stride. I stayed with Indians when I was in Aus and most of my friends were Indians so should I accept racial abuse ?
Lurker Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 It's a 2 way deal....yes may be our behaviour has reduced them to this but from what I have seen there is kind of a ghettoisation by the NEasterners as well' date='They don't prefer mixing with the others ....[b']I mean how many of us non-Neasterners have friends from their states....when I say friends close to best friends..You might have one to 2 in your circle of friends but not more than that. As I said they like to mix among themselves which makes it very difficult for us non-racist types as well. But yes,We need to take the first step because I have seen some really nasty stuff being said to them. What are you talking about mate?? I had tons of friends from NE, one of my very best buddies was from Dispur. Thanks to REC I can count more than a dozen NE friends. As for mixing and all, you do realize that all the 7 sister states in NE put together would make for a combined population of West Bengal or so. Because of the size and population numbers it is as difficult to have friend from Sikkim, as it is from Pondicherry or Adman & Nicobar. Wait I had friends from there as well. Thanks to state quota system at RECs Looks like somewhere the quota system finally worked afterall :secret:
maniac Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 Thats the excuse Aussies gave Indians when students were getting beaten up. As for people from NE, they stay together cuz they are from the same background and common values/traditions and how can they make friends with others when their women are considered "easy" and overall when the whole community is supposed to take the abuse in their stride. I stayed with Indians when I was in Aus and most of my friends were Indians so should I accept racial abuse ? Kaka....I never said racial abuse is justified...and I am glad you brought up Indians because there could be a good scope for comparison here. For eg;I have friends who have been working in U.S for 10+ years and still their exposure to other cultures are minimal because ,they have been working in a Indian-owned consultancy,filled with Indians even in a foregin country....they might be up to date with NBA or NFL or current affairs and act americanized among themselves but even now they get intimidated to mix with other cultures here due to their exposure. You might say it might be applicable to every category with all the different races in a multi-cultural society like U.S.A but it is just a little bit more with Indians. Lol ....It might look like I keep a count of this all the time but let us just count the amount of Northie friends a Southie or vice-versa,Muslim,Christian friends we have had in comparison with N.E people.....It is just that they are more ghettoized than other communities in India.
Desi Cartman Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 Kaka....I never said racial abuse is justified...and I am glad you brought up Indians because there could be a good scope for comparison here. For eg;I have friends who have been working in U.S for 10+ years and still their exposure to other cultures are minimal since,they have been working in a Indian-owned consultancy,filled with Indians....they might be up to date with NBA or NFL or current affairs and act americanized among themselves but even now they get intimidated to mix with of other cultures due to their exposure. You might say it might be applicable to every category with all the different races in a multi-cultural society like U.S.A but it is just a little bit more with Indians. Lol ....It might look like I keep a count of this all the time but let us just count the amount of Northie friends a Southie or vice-versa,Muslim,Christian friends we have had in comparison with N.E people.....It is just that they are more ghettoized than other communities in India. Thats a flawed comparison as you would have muslim,southie etc kids in school where as most people from NE move to North India after turning 18. I think its better if people mingle with locals but thats not a reason for abuse. Its a very common behavior, the boy who used to come to our house to collect garbage in India would often say "Aanti, neechay Hapshi (apes) aye hain .. dekho kitney kalay hai" .. he himself was dark (and used to dress like SRK) but he didnt find it wrong to make fun of an african man. Now the last example was of a poor/uneducated person but I have seen people pass comments on West Indian cricketers while watching cricket on TV "haiii kitna kala hai".
maniac Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 What are you talking about mate?? I had tons of friends from NE, one of my very best buddies was from Dispur. Thanks to REC I can count more than a dozen NE friends. As for mixing and all, you do realize that all the 7 sister states in NE put together would make for a combined population of West Bengal or so. Because of the size and population numbers it is as difficult to have friend from Sikkim, as it is from Pondicherry or Adman & Nicobar. Wait I had friends from there as well. Thanks to state quota system at RECs Looks like somewhere the quota system finally worked afterall :secret: Great....but in places that I have lived in India with a significant community of N.Easterner's I have seen them living in their own ghettos. I am saying this based off of my personal experience and observation....Will be more than happy to be proven wrong
Desi Cartman Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 Great....but in places that I have lived in India with a significant community of N.Easterner's I have seen them living in their own ghettos. I am saying this based off of my personal experience and observation....Will be more than happy to be proven wrong Its a 2 way street IMO if people treat them as outsiders how can they mingle with locals easily ? Secondly like I said before, its easier to make friends with locals when you are in school or college, making friends at work isnt easy.
Lurker Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 Great....but in places that I have lived in India with a significant community of N.Easterner's I have seen them living in their own ghettos. I am saying this based off of my personal experience and observation....Will be more than happy to be proven wrong You think thats quite different to Tamilian behavior or Telugu behavior in US? :giggle:
Desi Cartman Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 You think thats quite different to Tamilian behavior or Telugu behavior in US? :giggle: STOP TARGETTING SOUTHIES
vvvslaxman Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 OK guys here is an article written by a Black-American PhD student at Delhi School of Economics. 'India Is Racist, And Happy About It' A Black American's first-hand experience of footpath India: no one even wants to change http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?250317 In chennai some 15 years back i was going by bus. There was this nigerian(i believe) student got in. He occupied a "ladies only" seat. When there was a lady boarded, they asked him to get up. He thought he was racially discriminated. Someone had to explain to him gents cannot occupy ladies seat. Everyone in the bus realized what he felt. In the end he understood and took it in his stride.
Lurker Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 STOP TARGETTING SOUTHIES Bhaiya hum to Purabiya hain, gonna stick with Purabiyas. And stick to Dhakkans...I mean Deccanis :hehe:
nikred Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 You think thats quite different to Tamilian behavior or Telugu behavior in US? :giggle: I might get a stick for this comment, but I have noticed in general andhra guys behave in this way more than telangana guys. Its just an observation, I could be wrong but I feel I am not. I have a theory for this, language barrier and lack of multi-culturalism.
maniac Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 I guess may be the way I am phrasing my thoughts or the context of it is wrong As you guys probably have already understood this I am not justifying racial abuse and stereotypes but.... Let me give you an example:Any new guy who comes in from India is terrified of African Americans but once you get to know them,they probably are the most chilled-out,fun-loving people out there,it all comes down to exposure and my personal opinion is North-easterners do not mix with others as some of the other communities in most places where probably the level of bias could be even more.
flamy Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 I do agree with Kaka that it is a two-way street. When I was in Uni, I saw desis act like this. They assume everyone is racist. They project this out and they interpret anything that white (apparently only whites can be racist ) people do as racist. It becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy. It is very rare for me to find another Indian wherever I go. They are just not involved. Sad and true. And, when I invite the desis at work to come and do stuff with me, I'm usually met with reluctance. And some dumbasses actually tell me that I don't like desis and that's why I prefer to hang with locals. *sigh*
Lurker Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 And some dumbasses actually tell me that I don't like desis and that's why I prefer to hang with locals. *sigh* Careful now, you are on your way to be a self-loather :whack: I might get a stick for this comment, but I have noticed in general andhra guys behave in this way more than telangana guys. Its just an observation, I could be wrong but I feel I am not. I have a theory for this, language barrier and lack of multi-culturalism Maybe true. I didnt mean to finger any particular group really. Just that this ghettosization, if you will, exists in many groups.
maniac Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 I might get a stick for this comment' date=' but I have noticed in general andhra guys behave in this way more than telangana guys. Its just an observation, I could be wrong but I feel I am not. I have a theory for this, language barrier and lack of multi-culturalism.[/quote'] You probably needed to be applauded for breaking the norm and coming up with something not sterotypical....unfortunately it had to be a pretty head-scratching theory. I mean till maybe 3-4 years back,I didn't see any difference between Andhra and Telangana maybe I am wrong because despite being from Andhra and mother tounge being Telugu I have never lived in Andhrapradesh for very long
flamy Posted June 6, 2012 Posted June 6, 2012 Careful now, you are on your way to be a self-loather :whack: :dontknow: