vvvslaxman Posted July 6, 2012 Posted July 6, 2012 17.1 Vinay Kumar to Simmons, (no ball) 1 run, 79.7 mph, It's a no-ball because there were only five in the circle during the bowling Powerplay, driven to mid-off, Sehwag realises his mistake, can afford a laugh :hysterical:
vvvslaxman Posted July 6, 2012 Posted July 6, 2012 first few matches i think.they got away in the end to post 260 or 270.but he kept field in and looked for wickets. You mean the match where Rampaul scored 86 runs? :winky:
CG Posted July 6, 2012 Posted July 6, 2012 You mean the match where Rampaul scored 86 runs? :winky: I think in all the matches he was aggressive and looked for wickets .Even in adelaide test he kept the field in allthough ponting and clarke took it away and he became ultra defensive.Unless he is permanent captain you cannot judge him same with gambhir.Okay bhai good night.
Ultimate_Game Posted July 6, 2012 Posted July 6, 2012 That is dumber' date='best way to get in the spotlight is pretend to avoid it.[b']Twirl shot was example of great showmanship and a glimpse of real dhoni. I wish we have captains like Dhoni who twirl their bat after playing one of the best innings in a WC final and winning the match for India I wish likes of Srikkanth, Vengsarkar, Azhar, Ganguly, Tendulkar, Dravid etc. could do that but unfortunately they couldn't "twirl" their bat after winning the WC. Best ever we got before Dhoni was Ganguly baring his chest in the pavilion post Natwest trophy win where we managed to get the better of the likes of England & SL :facepalm:
Pagalpanti Posted July 6, 2012 Posted July 6, 2012 Problem is his odi captaincy and form are being used as a shield for his test captaincy.which captain except bang or zim captain could survive two white washes. You can blame captaincy if the team performed but failed to win. Do you really think team did well in even one department in both the tours? FFS we struggled to even cross 300 in England and bowlers hardly managed 10 wickets. And if your saying he won the world cup because team was great aren't you being a hypocrite saying we lost 0-8 because his captaincy was defensive, wasn't it the same "great team" he was captaining.
vvvslaxman Posted July 6, 2012 Posted July 6, 2012 how did Dhoni win world T20? he had a great team then too? In 2007 world cup India had a very solid team. If not good enough to win the world cup they were good enough to go past first round. What happened.
Sid Posted July 6, 2012 Posted July 6, 2012 That is dumber' date='best way to get in the spotlight is pretend to avoid it.Twirl shot was example of great showmanship and a glimpse of real dhoni.[/quote'] Oho COTW.................:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
SLICKR392 Posted July 6, 2012 Posted July 6, 2012 He attacked the opp and he kept field in odis for a long time . His field setup was BS in the home series against the Windies. After the batting PP we used to get hammered by either Russel or Sammy...and he did nothing rather than watch us getting pwned. If you are talking about the 5th ODI, then it was GG who was asked to lead. It doesn't matter if its the IPL or in the Int. level..captaincy doesn't change a lot. Viru took some horrible decesions. I am a fan of MSD and Viru equally, but you have to learn to be diplomatic when you say certain things about your team mates in public. He is inviting our media to feast on more stories about the BS rift in the team (if there is any). Acc. to Viru, if he had won the WC, just because we had a strong side and the skipper had nothing do with it, then I might well say that MSD had nothing do with the 8-0.
cowboysfan Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 Captaincy did not win us the world cup,the Captain did.
Shunya Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 lol....media wale viru ki hamesha lete rehte hai...poor guy..
vamos_rafa Posted July 7, 2012 Author Posted July 7, 2012 You can blame captaincy if the team performed but failed to win. Do you really think team did well in even one department in both the tours? FFS we struggled to even cross 300 in England and bowlers hardly managed 10 wickets. And if your saying he won the world cup because team was great aren't you being a hypocrite saying we lost 0-8 because his captaincy was defensive, wasn't it the same "great team" he was captaining. +10000
Ultimate_Game Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 how did Dhoni win world T20? he had a great team then too? In 2007 world cup India had a very solid team. If not good enough to win the world cup they were good enough to go past first round. What happened. It's not just 2007 World Cup where we failed to do anything of note. Before Dhoni in every major tourney we flattered to deceive with 2007 WC, 2003 WC, 99 WC, 96 WC and 87 WC (I wouldn't bring in 92 WC as we were pathetic there) ending in losses. Are we saying that the team wasn't "good enough" in any of these tourneys. Clearly the 87, 96 and 2007 WC teams were pretty good and we should have at least managed to win one or two WCs but we failed. And when we finally manage to win 2 WCs under a captain we claim "it was all because of team and nothing to do with captaincy" :omg: I don't care whether it was due to captaincy or not but the fact remains we won 2 WCs under Dhoni after waiting forever since 83. As the saying goes "I would rather have a lucky captain than a good one". Call it luck or whatever but Dhoni has been extremely successful and that is what counts in the end.
CG Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 I wish we have captains like Dhoni who twirl their bat after playing one of the best innings in a WC final and winning the match for India I wish likes of Srikkanth, Vengsarkar, Azhar, Ganguly, Tendulkar, Dravid etc. could do that but unfortunately they couldn't "twirl" their bat after winning the WC. Best ever we got before Dhoni was Ganguly baring his chest in the pavilion post Natwest trophy win where we managed to get the better of the likes of England & SL :facepalm: I do not care if he twirls his bat or foul mouths and gestures as he did when we defeated eng in india.Thats his real face .when he was abused you saw all colmness disappear.
CG Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 You can blame captaincy if the team performed but failed to win. Do you really think team did well in even one department in both the tours? FFS we struggled to even cross 300 in England and bowlers hardly managed 10 wickets. And if your saying he won the world cup because team was great aren't you being a hypocrite saying we lost 0-8 because his captaincy was defensive, wasn't it the same "great team" he was captaining. How can the team perform if you play the same guys who are failing for eternity and back guys liek jadega,p.k who has one of the worst averages playing for india{but captain believs he is the best odi bowler in india:hysterical:} .Its too soon to forget that we did not change our side inspite of losing handsomely except.Also if you are not going to change a captain who got whitewashed twice you never will.onfield tactics can argued but selections have been dismal. Also regarding eng and aus tour we had chances in 2nd test in eng and 1st in aus and we all know what we did.And if you say we won the worldcup due to kaptani and now blame the team when we lose .is it not hypocrisy as well?
CG Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 His field setup was BS in the home series against the Windies. After the batting PP we used to get hammered by either Russel or Sammy...and he did nothing rather than watch us getting pwned. If you are talking about the 5th ODI, then it was GG who was asked to lead. It doesn't matter if its the IPL or in the Int. level..captaincy doesn't change a lot. Viru took some horrible decesions. I am a fan of MSD and Viru equally, but you have to learn to be diplomatic when you say certain things about your team mates in public. He is inviting our media to feast on more stories about the BS rift in the team (if there is any). Acc. to Viru, if he had won the WC, just because we had a strong side and the skipper had nothing do with it, then I might well say that MSD had nothing do with the 8-0. No he captained very well especially the pacers aaron and umesh ,vinay,i remember a discusion on icf on that.He looked for wickets even when patnership was going on.In first odi which is live we restricked them to 260 odd and even in second odi we had them till a blinder .even we scored 418 we got them for 265.his field settings were good better than dhoni who just does not beilieve in atatcking nowadays. Also shewag said backed by dhoni leadership,he did not outright deny but major contribution was off team.
Crookbond Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 I will agree with SLICKR392 here. Nothing special about Sehwag the captain.
Needforspeed Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 Only good thing about Veeru's capataincy is that the encourages fast bowlers wheras Dhoni loves only trundlers. Otherwise he has lot of brainfarts. His IPL captaincy is a reflection of how he can underperform even with a good team.
saneindian Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 Only good thing about Veeru's capataincy is that the eincourages fast bowlers wheras Dhoni loves only trundlers. Otherwise he has lot of brainfarts. His IPL captaincy is a reflection of how he can underperform even with a good team. By picking Sunny Gupta ahead of Morne Morkel?:winky:
Prakat Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 Any other professional setup and viru would be sacked. If you think your leader sucks then work inside the organization and get a consensus within the squad. That's how it works. Never take it out in public. What a tool.
Needforspeed Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 By picking Sunny Gupta ahead of Morne Morkel?:winky: :hysterical: That comes under the Viru 'Brainfart category'.