Before the internet....

Gambit

nah...started earlier...but got really interested when under19 won the WC under kaif....In those days ..i thought they were they were the future of indian cricket....:confused_smile:

Nope. It took her 15 years of watching the game to understand it :D
No wonder ! back in the 96 world cup, when Sachin hit Mcgrath for that six over mid-wicket, it seems Radhika had shouted - " GOAAAAAALLLLL " :haha:
I remember very clearly that Lance Gibbs was the leading wicket taker then(309 wickets). He had long retired but his wickets were a record. The 2nd leading wicket taker was Fred Trueman(307) followed by Underwood and Bedi. I remember when Bob Willis broke Gibbs record, then Botham broke Willis record, Hadlee broke Botham's record and Kapil Dev broke Hadlee's record.
Surely you mean Dennis Lillee and not Bob Willis.

Those poster of cricketers hidden in chewing gum or sthg like that I forgot the exact.. But I remember having whole pack from patric patterson to michael holding.. Used to be in high school those days.. SHu-shu ka bahana karke paan wale ke dukaan pe khare hokar commentary suna karte the

Surely you mean Dennis Lillee and not Bob Willis.
Lillee it was CA..Thanks for the correction :two_thumbs_up:
Those poster of cricketers hidden in chewing gum or sthg like that I forgot the exact.. But I remember having whole pack from patric patterson to michael holding..
Yes I know what you mean DR. It used to be on the inside of chewing gum and heaven forbid if you got the same picture again..boy did that used to be a bummer or what :cry_smile:
Book Cricket!! :hysterical:
:haha::haha: Had totally forgotten about that.. It was the only way I could sit in class for an hour.

Before Sportstars and Sportworld days... Who can forget the tour specials that were published before the tours about the history behind the series, past series records erc. These were published by BCCI, I think or by private companies, which were available in book shops. Also available were shot animation books, if turn the pages fast with your thumb, the shot pictures would get animated to a perfect looking cover drives/square drives etc.

Radio and news papers... I faintly remember, it was back in 82-83 WI away series and 5-6 guys made centuries or near century scores from our team and commentators were saying that this team could be a tough team in the world cup if they play like that. It was like Vengy and Kapil paji making 100 runs each at run/ball avg in a test match. that was quite some listening. Back then saaala angrezy palle nahi aata. So Dad ko puch puch ke pareshan karte.. .ab kya keh rah hai... ab kya bola woh? ? haha.. but damn... almost 8 centuries in the game. i think 1-2 of them were like 95-96 something...(translation:couldn't ustand english back then so had to bother my dad all the time what commentators were saying.) Terrific. Then we had a TV back in 84, IND-PAK ODI and when we first switched on TV, Chetan Sharma taking a middle stump of someone.... we had over 67 people cramped in that room with tea made non-stop in the kitchen. bade bade uncle log match dekhne aa gaye then. I was between the door and a wall watching that entire game w/o eating my lunch cuz i would have lost my place if I had moved. Now absolutely no fun watching the game. I sometimes watch the game/highlights next to the pool side sitting on the rocks with my iPaq in the hand enjoy the weather outside. But its boring... being alone watching the game.

I was very very serious abt cricket.. from a young age.. If India lost a close game, I would start crying, not eat dinner, etc etc.... this is when I was in single digit age... After that, I started bunking school to watch games :D

Humph.. After a point,I started bunking cricket to go to school and college actually. :D