Crookbond Posted August 16, 2012 Posted August 16, 2012 Arrey bhai kitna troll karoge? Kabhi to break le liya karo :winky: You took me seriously even on the SLPL thread. Yahaan par seedhi bhaasha kisi ko samajh hi nahi aati toh kya karu? Obviously you are an exception :D Check this out - http://indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=286340
SLICKR392 Posted August 16, 2012 Posted August 16, 2012 I would vote yes because he is the best Test/ODI batsmen I have seen play. The best English batsmen is Wally Hammond without any doubt.
rkt.india Posted August 16, 2012 Posted August 16, 2012 I think Sehwag's and Gayle's styles of play are more comparable to Vivian Richards'. But that's just my opinion. I reiterate that KP is possibly the best bat England have since the 60s. He might well go on to become their best of all time but for that he needs to play a few more years and be as consistent as he is now and rectify his little weaknesses. . Sehwag is a timer, not as brutal as KP. KP can thrash bowlers like he is toying with them, plays even the fastest bowlers on front foot while Gayle is as brutal as KP, even more, and more of a slogger and not consistent enough.
daryl1985 Posted August 16, 2012 Posted August 16, 2012 You are forgetting he is still only 31. True but right now his England future is possibly hanging in the balance.
CricLind Posted August 18, 2012 Posted August 18, 2012 KP has a fine average and many great knocks. Neither of the two however suffice for him being called England's greatest batsman. He is what I'd describe as a near-great. He falls just short of greatness because there are discernible weaknesses and because he has played in the decade most conducive for batsmen (since the 1920s) and still hasn't dominated as a great batsman ought to. Samaraweera averages more than him, and so do many others, but I don't think all of them would merit the label "great".
Trichromatic Posted August 20, 2012 Posted August 20, 2012 he isnt even the best of the side.Cook is 2012 has been very tough for England's batsmen No code has to be inserted here. Everyone except KP has failed this year.
Trichromatic Posted August 20, 2012 Posted August 20, 2012 I think Prior has been decent? Yeah, missed that. He has done his job in this batting line-up.
King Khan Posted August 20, 2012 Posted August 20, 2012 England lost #1 rank, when KP dropped from playing XI. :((