US consulate in Chennai attacked, riots in Ghaziabad

superstar

btw IN MY OPINION there is another huge misunderstanding exists: Generally speaking, after every protest even in your country; you guys take an impression as if such violent protests are a part of their Islamic teachings/practice which is simply Not Correct. No doubt their method to protest is mostly wrong even if they have a genuine reason but don't you think it more have got to do with 1) how civilized, disciplined or educated they generally as a nation/society are 2) State's control over them. and so dont you tihnk these aspects should be discussed/dealt separately? instead of associating it with their religion, labeling them religiously fundamentalist & calling religion itself radical etc etc.

The film was produced with malicious intent by usual suspects. To think that it was just a freedom of artisitc expression' date=' will be wrong...[/quote'] This. I fully agree with this. We are living in the world which is increasingly insenstive to anyone's feelings and when complained about they want to use alibi of "freedom of expression". This is true not only for religions, but happening on all walks of life. Having said that, I would say that the way Muslims reacted all over the world is much-much worse than what this filmmaker did.

Furthermore didnt you ever observed every protest by them e.g. in Paksitan on ANY issue; be it Benazir murder, restoration of judges or any damn political reason will end up exactly same way i.e violant mobs, attacking police, damaging govt property, setting banks and vehicles on fire, few will get killed and 100s will end up behind bars. So is that all too a part of their religious teachings/practice and they get these instrctions from Jumma prayers? :dontknow:

I think it is more a case of the current era being an absolute hell-hole for Muslim moderates. They are being screwed from both sides, from conservatives from their own religion(and non-Muslim conservatives) as also the moderates from other religions. And tough as it is, it is also the fault of the community (I think). They have let their religion now being completely hijacked my morons. In India, for example, it is the Hindus who have kept a Modi in check. Inspite of his brilliant credentials (and he has quite a few) as the Administrator of Gujarat, he struggles every day with acceptance with mainstream. And much as he remains a BJP poster boy he struggles to be picked for PM candidacy. This is not due to hatred of Muslims, but because moderate Hindus dislike him for what he has done/was part of. Sadly enough one has to wonder if the moderate Muslims did they all that they could when they had a chance, in India and outside. Look at Pakistan and how they have been hijacked by hardliners. Imran Khan is their best bet and he is the one who got about 30-40 people killed after the Quran burning incident at Guantanamo Bay. :winky:
The thing with the moderate Muslim is that they have successfully delinked from "Muslim" as their primary identity. Like most adults around the world they identify with their trade the most (Primarily speaking of the men here because the women either have no voice or a too liberal to risk speaking up). So they no longer feel obliged to speak to or to speak for "Muslims". They will pray, do zakat, perform Haj and everything else, but what they won't do is give a hoot about what their local paper/mullah/religious leader think they ought to do.

Obama Uses Pakistani Television to Denounce Anti-Islam Film Careful USA, its another jumma day. Obama seems more worried about Pakistani hot heads atm.

The U.S. embassy in Pakistan is airing a public service advertisement on Pakistani television that features President Barack Obama denouncing an anti-Islam video that has sparked protests across the Muslim world. The U.S. State Department said the embassy spent $70,000 to run the 30-second announcement, which features the president talking about America's history of religious tolerance. In the same ad, Secretary of State Hillary Clinton is seen saying the U.S. government had nothing to do with the inflammatory video that insults the Prophet Muhammad. The low-budget Internet video was produced by an anti-Muslim filmmaker in California. It first sparked protests last week in Cairo and the Libyan city of Benghazi, where U.S. Ambassador J. Christopher Stevens and three other embassy personnel were killed. Since then, anti-U.S. protests have spread as far as Indonesia. Elsewhere Thursday, police clashed with protesters in the Pakistani capital, Islamabad, as a crowd of more than 1,000 students tried to reach a walled-off area of the city that houses foreign embassies and government offices. A VOA correspondent in Lahore, Pakistan's second city, said university students also gathered there to denounce the United States. Similar protests erupted in Afghanistan and Iran. Pakistani media say 15,000 people are expected to march on Islamabad's diplomatic enclave Friday and that the government has called on the national army to protect the area. The day has been designated ÅÂ day of love for the Prophet, with police urging demonstrators to protest peacefully. voa

btw IN MY OPINION there is another huge misunderstanding exists: Generally speaking, after every protest even in your country; you guys take an impression as if such violent protests are a part of their Islamic teachings/practice which is simply Not Correct. No doubt their method to protest is mostly wrong even if they have a genuine reason but don't you think it more have got to do with 1) how civilized, disciplined or educated they generally as a nation/society are 2) State's control over them. and so dont you tihnk these aspects should be discussed/dealt separately? instead of associating it with their religion, labeling them religiously fundamentalist & calling religion itself radical etc etc.
It's immaterial to a non-muslim how much of Islam, in theory, is about peace. What is seen is how the people who follow it, and the ones who proclaim to be its most devout, relate to the world. The problem is with the way the business of Islam is conducted.

to protest or to even condemn are may b few huge asks, how many of you ever felt just sorry about innocent women and kids getting killed everyday by Drone attacks in Paksitan? (I know about terrorism, its roots, Alqaida, taliban and "backfire" stuff, so without getting into that)

Egypt's mufti urges Muslims to endure insults peacefully Muslims angered by cartoons mocking the Prophet Mohammad should follow his example of enduring insults without retaliating, Egypt's highest Islamic legal official said on Thursday. Western embassies tightened security in Sanaa, fearing the cartoons published in a French magazine on Wednesday could lead to more unrest in the Yemeni capital where crowds attacked the U.S. mission last week over an anti-Islam film made in America. In the latest of a wave of protests against that video in the Islamic world, several thousand Shi'ite Muslims demonstrated in the northern Nigerian town of Zaria, burning an effigy of U.S. President Barack Obama and crying "Death to America". The cartoons in France's Charlie Hebdo satirical weekly have provoked relatively little street anger so far, although about 100 Iranians demonstrated outside the French embassy in Tehran. In Tunisia, the birthplace of the Arab Spring revolts, the Islamist-led government decreed a ban on protests planned on Friday against the cartoons. Four people died and almost 30 others were wounded last week when protesters incensed by the movie about Prophet Mohammad stormed the U.S. embassy. An Islamist activist called for attacks in France to avenge the perceived insult to Islam by the "slaves of the cross". Mu'awiyya al-Qahtani said on a website used by Islamist militants and monitored by the U.S.-based SITE intelligence group: "Is there someone who will roll up his sleeves and bring back to us the glory of the hero Mohammed Merah?" He was referring to an al Qaeda-inspired gunman who killed seven people, including three Jewish children, in the southern French city of Toulouse in March. Condemning the publication of the cartoons in France as an act verging on incitement, Egypt's Grand Mufti Ali Gomaa said it showed how polarized the West and the Muslim world had become. Gomaa said Mohammad and his companions had endured "the worst insults from the non-believers of his time. Not only was his message routinely rejected, but he was often chased out of town, cursed and physically assaulted on numerous occasions. "But his example was always to endure all personal insults and attacks without retaliation of any sort. There is no doubt that, since the Prophet is our greatest example in this life, this should also be the reaction of all Muslims." His statement echoed one by Al Azhar, Egypt's prestigious seat of Sunni learning, which condemned the caricatures showing the Prophet naked but said any protest should be peaceful. An official at the Coptic Orthodox Church in Egypt, whose population of 83 million people is 10 percent Christian, also condemned the cartoons as insults to Islam. Last week some Egyptian protesters scaled the U.S. Embassy walls and tore down the flag. They clashed with police for four days, although most of the thousands of Egyptians who took to the streets did so peacefully. MUSLIM GRIEVANCES Gomaa said insults to Islam and the response, including the killing of the U.S. ambassador in Libya and attacks on other Western embassies in the region, could not be dissociated from other points of conflict between the West and the Muslim world. He cited the treatment of Muslims at the U.S. detention centre in Guantanamo, the U.S.-led war in Iraq, drone attacks in Yemen and Pakistan, and the demonization of Muslims by far-right European parties as "underlying factors" for the tensions. "To then insist on igniting these simmering tensions by publishing hurtful and insulting material in a foolhardy attempt at bravado - asserting the superiority of Western freedoms over alleged Muslim closed-mindedness - verges on incitement," he said in his statement published on the Reuters blog FaithWorld. After Friday's invasion of the U.S. embassy in Tunis, the Tunisian Interior Ministry has banned protests against the cartoon planned for Friday "to prevent human and material losses". It warned that a state of emergency was still in force and that law "will be rigorously applied". The European Union issued a joint appeal, through its foreign policy chief, with the Arab League, African Union and Organisation of Islamic Cooperation for "peace and tolerance". "We condemn any advocacy of religious hatred that constitutes incitement to hostility and violence," the statement said. "While fully recognizing freedom of expression, we believe in the importance of respecting all prophets, regardless of which religion they belong to." Iran's Foreign Ministry spokesman Ramin Mehmanparast condemned the cartoons as "a systematic plot" against Islam. "The coordinated and continued silence of Western countries towards these hateful anti-Islamic actions, is the primary reason for the repetition of such insulting actions," he said. He was speaking a day after French Foreign Minister Laurent Fabius called the publication of the cartoons a provocation. The Danish cartoonist who outraged Muslims with a drawing of the Prophet seven years ago said the West could not let itself be muzzled by fear of offending Islamic sensibilities. Kurt Westergaard, whose lampoon of Mohammad in the Jyllands-Posten paper nearly got him killed by an axe-wielding assassin in 2010, told Austrian magazine News he had no regrets about his work and said freedom of speech was too precious to relinquish. "Should we in future let ourselves be censored by Islamic authorities in deeply undemocratic countries?" he asked. For many Muslims, any depiction of Mohammad is blasphemous. The furor over the anti-Islam film and the cartoons has presented a tough challenge to new authorities in Arab countries where popular uprisings have overthrown entrenched autocrats. In Libya, where militias that helped overthrow Muammar Gaddafi still wield much power, the foreign minister offered a further apology for U.S. ambassador Christopher Stevens' death to visiting U.S. Deputy Secretary of State William Burns on Thursday. Stevens and three other Americans died in an attack on the U.S. consulate in the eastern city of Benghazi by gunmen among a crowd protesting against the film that denigrated the Prophet. http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/09/20/us-protests-idUSBRE88J0VU20120920 Of course, every muslim knows that he is saying this because of American pressure. There's no fooling them. :nono:

to protest or to even condemn are may b few huge asks' date=' how many of you ever felt just sorry about innocent women and kids getting killed everyday by Drone attacks in Paksitan? (I know about terrorism, its roots, Alqaida, taliban and "backfire" stuff, so without getting into that)[/quote'] Arre sympathy se kya hoga? Only you have the power to act. Your leaders are throwing these innocent lives into the line of fire. If the Pakistani establishment really wanted to save these lives how difficult would it be to round up the wanted people?

The thing with the moderate Muslim is that they have successfully delinked from "Muslim" as their primary identity. Like most adults around the world they identify with their trade the most (Primarily speaking of the men here because the women either have no voice or a too liberal to risk speaking up). So they no longer feel obliged to speak to or to speak for "Muslims". They will pray' date=' do zakat, perform Haj and everything else, but what they won't do is give a hoot about what their local paper/mullah/religious leader think they ought to do.[/quote'] In general a moderate Muslims are more like nationalists & liberally communists, care more about his/her neighbour regardless whatever the religion is, than some another unknown religious brotherhood relationships apart thousands miles away.

In general a moderate Muslims are more like nationalists & liberally communists' date=' care more about his/her neighbour regardless whatever the religion is, than some another unknown religious brotherhood relationships apart thousands miles away.[/quote'] Doesn't matter, as long as Muslim isn't the first label he defines himself with. however, a nationalist in a Muslim country is as good as the basic fundie because these countries don't believe in the separation of State and Religion. And European countries don't expect, in fact abhor nationalist sentiments. As for liberal communists, that is 1. a political viewpoint 2. the Muslims like everyone else fall all over the spectrum. You must be speaking from your personal experience.

IMO a muslim is free to identify himself with any label he wants to and go and protest over anything regardless of where it happens. Its a free world. My problem is with the violence that is regularly a part of these protests and the threats that are issued to people who criticize or satire the religion. Some countries just hold a gun to their own head and threaten to explode in unrest at the slightest percieved insult. That is blackmail that the rest of the world shouldnt bow down to.

The root of the problem is that the Muslims we see protesting aren't free. Have you ever seen one free Muslim individual protesting about anything? We are talking of mobs and your free agency is out the window once you are in one. And mobs, strengthened by lack of accountability, free-wheeling aggression are prone to violence. Xyz may have stepped out of his house freely but once he joins the mob he is meat. Now, you can ask, was xyz ever really free to begin with? There is a massive system of control at work in the Muslim world. The nearest another religion comes to exercising such complete control over the lives of its followers is found in South America with the catholic church.

1 killed and 15 injured as protest turned voilent in Pakistan 1 person was killed and many were injured during violent protest in Pakistan.

Two cinema buildings have been attacked and ransacked in the northern Pakistani city of Peshawar during fresh protests over an anti-Islam amateur film produced in the US.
One person was fatally shot while demonstrators set ablaze two cinema halls in Pakistan's Peshawar city during a protest against Innocence of Muslims, dubbed an anti-Islam film, police said on Friday.