G_B_ Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 I am not ignoring Smith of 2003 and I have stated my reasons for why that comparision is not apt. High or low expectations' date=' I would be apprhensive of having Kohli at the helm in a tour as important as the SAn one is.[/quote'] Look, if you read through my posts I am all for Dhoni continuing till one of Pujara (who has captained his ranji side) or Kohli establish themselves. By established i mean say 20 odd tests with an average more than 40 with the bat. But, if indeed people want Kohli my argument is we need to give him atleast a year to cement his position. Before handing him the test captaincy.
The Outsider Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 I agree. But' date=' numbers apart, he's been pretty poor in ODIs. If you see last year as well, take out the 175 and 219, and let's check his consistent failures. Moreover, Lord was comparing Sehwag to Gambhir, who has been our best ODI bat for the best part of last year.[/quote'] With Sehwag's batting style in ODIs you cannot expect consistent performances like Tendulkar or Gambhir. He has a different role in the side like Gilchrist or Jayasuriya - none of whom were consistent - to provide a quick start and once in a while when things work out play the long innings.
vamos_rafa Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 With Sehwag's batting style in ODIs you cannot expect consistent performances like Tendulkar or Gambhir. He has a different role in the side like Gilchrist or Jayasuriya - none of whom were consistent - to provide a quick start and once in a while when things work out play the long innings. I understand that sir. Even I have been a fan of his batting. But, that would not stop me from seeing the fact that he has been struggling to do even provide an impact as well. I hope you would agree to this bit atleast.
vamos_rafa Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 Look' date=' if you read through my posts I am all for Dhoni continuing till one of Pujara (who has captained his ranji side) or Kohli establish themselves. By established i mean say 20 odd tests with an average more than 40 with the bat. But, if indeed people want Kohli my argument is we need to give him atleast a year to cement his position. Before handing him the test captaincy.[/quote'] Yes. I understood that. But, the only thing where we contradict is that even though Kohli or Pujara or anyone cements his place, I would not hand over the captaincy before a tour like SA unless we are totally devoid of options. If this needs to happen, then I would rather hand it over to Gambhir or even Sehwag.
Number Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 Lets see, in what shape Sehwag returns from CL T20. Will play there probably with an injury.
Lord Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 Oh com'on yaar. You are leaving the own premise of your argument. It started of with you saying that leaving Sehwag out was a tactical blunder as he's an impact player. Then when I say that he has been in poor form for a very long time, then the first premise of poor captaincy is thrown out of the window and Gambhir is brought in. Then you distinguish ODIs and T20s' forms. How many T20 Intenationals we play in an year anyway? And to select a T20 team, ODI performance would be the barometer. please care to check post # 126.I'll quote it here I dont think Sehwag been seated for that T20 game was decisive,but u have to understand,hes one of our impact players in T20s,his bad form has been in tests.in T20s he should be one of the first guys to play. did I say hes our impact player in ODIs,or hes an overall impact player?get reading classes first b4 posting:P n no ODIs are not barometers for T20s at all.its first IPL.since both did well there n both were in bad form,I'd look more at who could have more impact on a game if he fires, n thats not certainly Gambhir
Number Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 n no ODIs are not barometers for T20s at all.its first IPL. Then Nohit playing in WT20 wasn't a bad decision at all, I feel.
vamos_rafa Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 please care to check post # 126.I'll quote it here did I say hes our impact player in ODIs,or hes an overall impact player?get reading classes first b4 posting:P n no ODIs are not barometers for T20s at all.its first IPL.since both did well there n both were in bad form,I'd look more at who could have more impact on a game if he fires, n thats not certainly Gambhir :omg: If you really think Sehwag is our impact player in T20s, then you certainly need a brushing up of records. And post IPL, we have played some 2-3 series where Sehwag again looked out of sorts while Gambhir scored. Is not recent form an indicator of selection?
rkt.india Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 Ross Taylor-avg 24, SR 120 Pollard- avg 18 AB Devilliers -avg 22,SR 120 was tempted to include Afridi too.in bad form now,but won them the WC. all impact players having similar or worse figures than Sehwag So..are ABDV, Taylor, Pollard impact players of their teams in T20 cricket? Compare him to likes of Gayle, Watson, Macculum, etc. if you want to. They all open and are actual impact players. Even Afridi can be an impact player then with average 16 and SR of 142, not much difference there.
Crookbond Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 Sehwag T20I batting innings list No code has to be inserted here. Sehwag has four innings of note - 34 vs SA Joberg 2006, 40 vs NZ Joberg 2007, 68 vs England Durban 2007, 64 vs SL Mohali 2009. Sehwag last played a good T20I innings in 2009 vs SL in Mohali. His last 5 innings read 17,29 8,23 and 4. There is no surprise that his poor form in Tests, ODIs has coincided with his poor T20I form. Sehwag is that sort of a player.
Lord Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 Then Nohit playing in WT20 wasn't a bad decision at all' date=' I feel.[/quote'] it wasnt,as long as he played at 5-6
rkt.india Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 so?its even better that he makes use of PP according to his SR. 21 runs in 14-15 balls for an opener in a format which is mostly lost or won when openers fire.
vamos_rafa Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 Sehwag T20I batting innings list No code has to be inserted here. Sehwag has four innings of note - 34 vs SA 2006, 40 vs NZ 2007, 64 vs SL Mohali 2009. Sehwag last played a good T20I innings in 2009 vs SL in Mohali. His last 5 innings read 17,29 8,23 and 4. I am pretty sure that his Test match stats from 900 BC would be brought up now to show what an impact player he is!
Lord Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 :omg: If you really think Sehwag is our impact player in T20s, then you certainly need a brushing up of records. And post IPL, we have played some 2-3 series where Sehwag again looked out of sorts while Gambhir scored. Is not recent form an indicator of selection? again u r mixing up formats.Gambhir flopped in both T20Is we played v SL n NZ.Sehwag didnt play so we dont know,so lets have them equal.next thing is you do is ascertain who can hv bigger impact if he fires,n thats Sehwag.punt for sure,but a better punt than Gambhir.
Crookbond Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 Actually, when in form he's an "impact player" but currently he's not in form and he would have little or no impact. How difficult is it to understand that?
Lord Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 So..are ABDV, Taylor, Pollard impact players of their teams in T20 cricket? Compare him to likes of Gayle, Watson, Macculum, etc. if you want to. They all open and are actual impact players. Even Afridi can be an impact player then with average 16 and SR of 142, not much difference there. Gayle,Watson,Baz are some of greatest T20 players,no question Sehwag is there.I'd rather compare him with Gambhir who hes competing with
vamos_rafa Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 again u r mixing up formats.Gambhir flopped in both T20Is we played v SL n NZ.Sehwag didnt play so we dont know' date='so lets have them equal.next thing is you do is ascertain who can hv bigger impact if he fires,n thats Sehwag.punt for sure,but a better punt than Gambhir.[/quote'] What punt man. Sehwag is woefully short of form. Looking at him, you can tell that he is about to be dismissed. And don't give me this that he has always been like this. In his hey days, he looked very ascertained. Moreover, Gambhir has been our best LOI batsman. He might have failed in both T20s, but he still is a far more certainity to score runs in LOIs than Sehwag.
rkt.india Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 again u r mixing up formats.Gambhir flopped in both T20Is we played v SL n NZ.Sehwag didnt play so we dont know' date='so lets have them equal.next thing is you do is ascertain who can hv bigger impact if he fires,n thats Sehwag.punt for sure,but a better punt than Gambhir.[/quote'] With Gambhir, it is just a blip in form, not with Sehwag. He is always like that. We are still sure Gambhir will score runs like he did against England, but not sure with Sehwag that if he will even have that 1 impact inning and if will have how long will it take.
Crookbond Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 again u r mixing up formats.Gambhir flopped in both T20Is we played v SL n NZ.Sehwag didnt play so we dont know' date='so lets have them equal.next thing is you do is ascertain who can hv bigger impact if he fires,n thats Sehwag.punt for sure,but a better punt than Gambhir.[/quote'] So, your essence of argument is Sehwag Balls Faced - 271, Average - 21.88 is an impact player BUT Gambhir Ballsed Faced - 688, Average - 27.83 is NOT an impact player. Yeh Kaunsa Najafgarh logic hai bhaai? :cantstop:
Lord Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 21 runs in 14-15 balls for an opener in a format which is mostly lost or won when openers fire. thats average.even 27 of 20 for Warner isnt great