ganeshran Posted October 26, 2012 Posted October 26, 2012 The clamor for giving Yuvi the captaincy may gather strength especially if he make a successfull comeback to the test side. He will have the popular support and we could see a sustained media campaign as well. But for that to happen he will have do very well vs England in tests. Yuvraj for test captaincy? He shouldnt even be in the squad.
BeautifulGame Posted October 26, 2012 Posted October 26, 2012 Yuvraj Raina :cantstop: Wont be long Yusuf Pathan is in test squad at this rate.
BeautifulGame Posted October 26, 2012 Posted October 26, 2012 Most Knowledgeable fans are aware what selectors need to do along with BCCI , point is what will they do, they have shown some initiatives with the A squad selections, also with Dhawan away for his marriage he will be playing in Mumbai side against the poms, plan ahead for Sachin, Zak, places up for grabs in batting and building of bench strength in both departments. Separate teams and captains is the need of the hour also rgiht players for the right format, Rohit should be in test squad, Dinda, VK, PK,will not play or be successful in test's rather invest in the right players for the right format.Bradmanath , Tiwary are out of depth playing good bowling so should not be looked at for test's also rather groom talented rookies like Anwar , Awana, Rayudu, Unmukt. What exactly is this based on?
Sid Posted October 26, 2012 Posted October 26, 2012 The clamor for giving Yuvi the captaincy may gather strength especially if he make a successfull comeback to the test side. He will have the popular support and we could see a sustained media campaign as well. But for that to happen he will have do very well vs England in tests. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Came online just to lol at this post :cantstop:
saneindian Posted October 26, 2012 Posted October 26, 2012 Yuvraj for test captaincy? He shouldnt even be in the squad. Practcially yes. But you think that's how things work in our system? All he needs is a couple of good test performance and then be ready to see media headlines "The warrior is ready to lead the country". Go back to the coverage he was getting just before the T20 squad was to be named for the T20s vs NZ. But for that sustained campaign which ran for 9-10 days, I doubt if he would have been named even in the 15.
saneindian Posted October 26, 2012 Posted October 26, 2012 :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Came online just to lol at this post :cantstop: Bas dekhte jao, aage aage hota hai kya.
MCcricket Posted October 26, 2012 Posted October 26, 2012 What exactly is this based on? This is based on class and temperament, Badrinath looks mediocre if any one decent with pace is bowling also does not have strokes, nor does he rotate strike, I haven't seen him play well or slight confidence against any team which has a decent pace attack, Tiwary has a faulty mindset and game also is not at all good against pace, a length ball or full ball outside off he will try to flick to leg, VVS got away with it because he had class also his technique was far better and he could play pace. Domestic games are no measure of a batters potential as even zonal teams have 120 plus trundlers and flat decks which even a tailender would score off, I dont care how much a batter scores when he gets a chance against a decent side it is how hew reacts, does he have time and technique to play pace and is he overawed, you know Unmukt, Pujara, Saha have it, even Murali Vijay to me will come good against good attack, Badrinath, Tiwary are flat track bullies, Tiwary has talent but his game especially in test is lacking, same as Dhoni.
cowboysfan Posted October 26, 2012 Posted October 26, 2012 The new selectors have to be tough on Sachin,we cannot carry him because of his past exploits.He should be given 2 tests to prove himself or forced to retire completely,let him end his career at Wankhede.
India-KXIP fan Posted October 27, 2012 Posted October 27, 2012 Problem isn't just with the openers though. It's also the weak bowling attack. I mean sure they did well against the worst players of spin WI and NZ but against quality batsmen they will struggle. I mean names like Ojha hardly strike fear into the opposition. He is no legend killer. Just an ordinary left armer with no variations. Despite being in the form of his life he still averages above 30. And players with almost 700 international wickets are being left out. :facepalm:
Trichromatic Posted October 27, 2012 Posted October 27, 2012 Problem isn't just with the openers though. It's also the weak bowling attack. I mean sure they did well against the worst players of spin WI and NZ but against quality batsmen they will struggle. I mean names like Ojha hardly strike fear into the opposition. He is no legend killer. Just an ordinary left armer with no variations. Despite being in the form of his life he still averages above 30. And players with almost 700 international wickets are being left out. :facepalm: :hmmm:
BeautifulGame Posted October 27, 2012 Posted October 27, 2012 This is based on class and temperament, Badrinath looks mediocre if any one decent with pace is bowling also does not have strokes, nor does he rotate strike, I haven't seen him play well or slight confidence against any team which has a decent pace attack, Tiwary has a faulty mindset and game also is not at all good against pace, a length ball or full ball outside off he will try to flick to off, VVS got away with it because he had class also his technique was far better and he could play pace. Domestic games are no measure of a batters potential as even zonal teams have 120 plus trundlers and flat decks which even a tailender would score off, I dont care how much a batter scores when he gets a chance against a decent side it is how hew reacts, does he have time and technique to play pace and is he overawed, you know Unmukt, Pujara, Saha have it, even Murali Vijay to me will come good against good attack, Badrinath, Tiwary are flat track bullies, Tiwary has talent but his game especially in test is lacking, same as Dhoni. Again against which quality attacks in test cricket are u basing this on? The fact is both Tiwary and Badrinath have scored heavily in every opportunity in test cricket.If u are judging them based on ODIs or T20s then neither does Rohit should be near the test team.
rkt.india Posted October 27, 2012 Author Posted October 27, 2012 Again against which quality attacks in test cricket are u basing this on? The fact is both Tiwary and Badrinath have scored heavily in every opportunity in test cricket.If u are judging them based on ODIs or T20s then neither does Rohit should be near the test team. Whcih test cricket Tiwary has played? Bardi played a test against SA in India and looked all at sea.
BeautifulGame Posted October 27, 2012 Posted October 27, 2012 Whcih test cricket Tiwary has played? Bardi played a test against SA in India and looked all at sea. Thats exactly my point.They havent been given enough opportunities to make a judgement on them or write them off as domestic bullies. And even in the one test he played against SA (the best attack in world) he still scored a 50 on debut more than anyone else apart from Sehwag. P.S. My reference of test cricket was referring to Ranji and duleep trophy
rkt.india Posted October 27, 2012 Author Posted October 27, 2012 Thats exactly my point.They havent been given enough opportunities to make a judgement on them or write them off as domestic bullies. And even in the one test he played against SA (the best attack in world) he still scored a 50 on debut more than anyone else apart from Sehwag. P.S. My reference of test cricket was referring to Ranji and duleep trophy I have seen enough of Badri against good bowling attacks since 2006 warmup match against England. He has never convinced me that he can handle good pace bowling. Manoj Tiwary is sill better than Badri.
CG Posted October 27, 2012 Posted October 27, 2012 Whcih test cricket Tiwary has played? Bardi played a test against SA in India and looked all at sea. Well everybody except shewag,tendulkar looked at sea against steyn .I agree he is not test material but he has scored runs in domestic cricket and got the chance for india A.
MCcricket Posted October 27, 2012 Posted October 27, 2012 Badrinath in the squad is a waste of space, he being the senior or veteran never ever looks to take initiative or take on the attack be it on A tours, against Umesh, Ishant, any fast medium bowler and he looks like a deer caught in the headlight also he is a strokeless wonder might score a boundary only of a juicy half volley outside off everything else will be a no run. RKT I was just watching Buchi Babu vidoe as was bored the other day, found some decent rookies, what do you think about Ravi Thakur, M Mohamed I know you think is good,Chirag Jani looks decent too.
rkt.india Posted October 27, 2012 Author Posted October 27, 2012 Well everybody except shewag' date='tendulkar looked at sea against steyn .I agree he is not test material but he has scored runs in domestic cricket and got the chance for india A.[/quote'] It is not about just that match only. In our domestic cricket, you barely find any good quality fast bowlers. I first saw him in 2006 in a warmup game against England and ever since he has struggled against pace.
rkt.india Posted October 27, 2012 Author Posted October 27, 2012 Badrinath in the squad is a waste of space, he being the senior or veteran never ever looks to take initiative or take on the attack be it on A tours, against Umesh, Ishant, any fast medium bowler and he looks like a deer caught in the headlight also he is a strokeless wonder might score a boundary only of a juicy half volley outside off everything else will be a no run. RKT I was just watching Buchi Babu vidoe as was bored the other day, found some decent rookies, what do you think about Ravi Thakur, M Mohamed I know you think is good,Chirag Jani looks decent too. Ravi Thakur looks to have some pace. Chirag Jani is normal.
BeautifulGame Posted October 27, 2012 Posted October 27, 2012 It is not about just that match only. In our domestic cricket' date=' you barely find any good quality fast bowlers. I first saw him in 2006 in a warmup game against England and ever since he has struggled against pace.[/quote'] May be true as didnt follow or remember any of these warm ups.And probably he isnt good enough for international cricket.But fact is he was discarded from test team after failing in the ODI series in west indies.IMO that wasnt the right approach because once selected he deserved a few test matches to prove his worth.
Sachin=GOD Posted October 27, 2012 Posted October 27, 2012 The clamor for giving Yuvi the captaincy may gather strength especially if he make a successfull comeback to the test side. He will have the popular support and we could see a sustained media campaign as well. But for that to happen he will have do very well vs England in tests. I would think that Yuvraj would have to perform very well in Tests for at least 1 year before he can be even considered for the Captaincy.