Desi Cartman Posted October 30, 2012 Author Posted October 30, 2012 If $5000 was on the line' date=' I would go to the consulate in person even if i have to fly. In person, they typically expedite processing.[/quote'] arey bhai, they dont even pick up the phone. SF is from where India gets all IT dhanda but there is no way for anybody to get an update from the consulate. I tried calling for more than an hour and it rings and gets disconnected. When I was able to get connected the message was "dont call us, go to DABLU DABLU DABLU.travisa.com" The same travisa which has a message "dont call us " :fishing:
Desi Cartman Posted October 30, 2012 Author Posted October 30, 2012 Who's asking for a refund ? Rescheduling is a diff ball game, innit ? BTW business class :woot: You're a job creator :woot: I can reschedule but will have to pay 1k approx .. bigger issue is that now I wont have any azaadi time :wall: and no, Business class was a joke
punjabi_khota Posted October 30, 2012 Posted October 30, 2012 :hahaha: Reminds me of US 221g TAL (technology alert iist) where they put random engineers/scientists under background check. At the counter they tell people 2-3 weeks, the form they give says you will get visa in 4-8 weeks and On website, they say don't contact us for 60 days. :(( All this for people who are ALREADY working in US.
Clarke Posted October 30, 2012 Posted October 30, 2012 I can reschedule but will have to pay 1k approx .. bigger issue is that now I wont have any azaadi time :wall: and no, Business class was a joke To theek hai na reschedule kar le Come back early if u want a few bachelor days :winky:
The Outsider Posted October 30, 2012 Posted October 30, 2012 I've got my passport renewed at the San Francisco consulate once. I was traveling to India and had completely forgot my passport had expired till around 4-5 days before my flight. I went there in person, explained my situation, pulled a sorry face, filled out a few forms, made small talk, and went back the next morning to collect my new passport. That's been my only experience with an Indian consulate, so can't relate at all to the stories on this thread.
KhanSaab Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 Was vacationing in london few years ago (before I got my OCI) and learned that my uncle in India is really sick. Realized my Indian visa had expired the week before so rushed over to the Indian consulate in london. Applied for a new visa and was told that it will take weeks because I am not a resident of UK and my previous Indian visa was issued by the consulate in chicago. Told the auntieji my situation and she said they will try to hurry it up. Few days passed by and I didnt hear anything so I called them and some lady told me she has contacted chicago consulate and given them my information but hasnt heard back from them. This is what she told me everyday for almost a week. So eventually I called chicago myself. Talked to someone who told me nobody from London has called and he pulled up my info right there and said I am cleared and london just needs to call them with the official request. So I called the lady back and viola next day I got my visa. So this lady listened to me begging for a full week, told her about my uncle's condition and everything and still was too lazy to put a call through to chicago. Just mindbogglingly lazy and kathor dil.
EnterTheVoid Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 Was vacationing in london few years ago (before I got my OCI) and learned that my uncle in India is really sick. Realized my Indian visa had expired the week before so rushed over to the Indian consulate in london. Applied for a new visa and was told that it will take weeks because I am not a resident of UK and my previous Indian visa was issued by the consulate in chicago. Told the auntieji my situation and she said they will try to hurry it up. Few days passed by and I didnt hear anything so I called them and some lady told me she has contacted chicago consulate and given them my information but hasnt heard back from them. This is what she told me everyday for almost a week. So eventually I called chicago myself. Talked to someone who told me nobody from London has called and he pulled up my info right there and said I am cleared and london just needs to call them with the official request. So I called the lady back and viola next day I got my visa. So this lady listened to me begging for a full week, told her about my uncle's condition and everything and still was too lazy to put a call through to chicago. Just mindbogglingly lazy and kathor dil. Wow. When I applied for a tourist visa, the visa processing branch in my city didn't even have a landline telephone number. The one stupid number they gave, it rerouted to a call centre in Delhi/Mumbai where you had to pay per minute via credit card :wall:
Desi Cartman Posted October 31, 2012 Author Posted October 31, 2012 Wow. When I applied for a tourist visa, the visa processing branch in my city didn't even have a landline telephone number. The one stupid number they gave, it rerouted to a call centre in Delhi/Mumbai where you had to pay per minute via credit card :wall: lol yea ..they do that but worse is that the call gets disconnected after 1 min. So I would enter details and pay and then explain my question but before they could answer it would get disconnected but when I email I got a reply quickly.
Desi Cartman Posted October 31, 2012 Author Posted October 31, 2012 I've got my passport renewed at the San Francisco consulate once. I was traveling to India and had completely forgot my passport had expired till around 4-5 days before my flight. I went there in person, explained my situation, pulled a sorry face, filled out a few forms, made small talk, and went back the next morning to collect my new passport. That's been my only experience with an Indian consulate, so can't relate at all to the stories on this thread. now they dont even entertain people at the consulate, they dont answer phone and no communication.
Nova Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 I feel for you man. You have not even spared them on twitter. Did you ever get a response from Shastri, when you asked him why he yells in the mic during presentations... :hysterical:
Desi Cartman Posted October 31, 2012 Author Posted October 31, 2012 I feel for you man. You have not even spared them on twitter. Did you ever get a response from Shastri, when you asked him why he yells in the mic during presentations... :hysterical: lol no, I think there were plenty of comments about Ravi's moooouch as for Bharat sarkar, well they only notice a tweet when its offensive :headshake:
IKnowU Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 The feking government gave me a PIO card instead of a dual citizenship along with my Aussie passport including my sister. Only problem was it only lasts 5 yrs or so. Me and my sister were travelling last yr to India, the airport babu lets my sister through after check in, I go in after her and I get pulled up because my PIO card expired. :mad: The babu goes off in a rant about it being expired and how Im fked. I was raging when I released my sister's PIO would have also expired since we got it at the same time. I told the babu how did you let my sister through when her PIO card is also expired? His heart stopped for a second before he realised he fked up, and let me through after pretending to fix the problem. :headshake: btw the PIO is some cheap cardboard passport lookalike with manual stamps and signatures, looks like a 80's passport.
The Outsider Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 The feking government gave me a PIO card instead of a dual citizenship along with my Aussie passport including my sister. Yeah, damn the fecking government for not bestowing his highness IKnowU with India's first dual citizenship.
Nova Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 The feking government gave me a PIO card instead of a dual citizenship along with my Aussie passport including my sister. Only problem was it only lasts 5 yrs or so. Me and my sister were travelling last yr to India, the airport babu lets my sister through after check in, I go in after her and I get pulled up because my PIO card expired. :mad: The babu goes off in a rant about it being expired and how Im fked. I was raging when I released my sister's PIO would have also expired since we got it at the same time. I told the babu how did you let my sister through when her PIO card is also expired? His heart stopped for a second before he realised he fked up, and let me through after pretending to fix the problem. :headshake: btw the PIO is some cheap cardboard passport lookalike with manual stamps and signatures, looks like a 80's passport. Be thankful to the "babu" that he allowed you and your sis entry. You would not have been able to enter the US on expired documents.
The Outsider Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 Be thankful to the "babu" that he allowed you and your sis entry. You would not have been able to enter the US on expired documents. Yeah, after traveling with expired documents he is the one "raging" at the "babu". :hysterical:
coffee_rules Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 In my case, I had the OCI card which shows the expiry as "LIFELONG", but the accompanying passport which has the OCI stamp was missing because I had a new US Passport without that. So, the babu was complaining not carrying all the documents. Still he let us in with a 2-day transit visa, which I had to convert to a 30-day visa at some visa office. I had to make 2 trips to the Visa-office in India and get an extension, and then I got a neighbor to go to my house in US and mail me that old passport which I had the damned OCI stamp to stay for full 30 days in India. But I was glad I had an option, other than in USA where they heartlessly pack you back in a return flight without an entry in such cases.
Desi Cartman Posted October 31, 2012 Author Posted October 31, 2012 Yeah' date=' damn the fecking government for not bestowing his highness IKnowU with India's first dual citizenship.[/quote'] I think he means OCI :((
Desi Cartman Posted October 31, 2012 Author Posted October 31, 2012 oh btw still no update, no reply to my email from Travisa or the consulate. Now I understand why our previous generation was so scared of anything sarkari and would get the sarkari work done before anything else. I havent told my father about this situation yet as mere ko daant padney wali hai
Desi Cartman Posted October 31, 2012 Author Posted October 31, 2012 YAY Got it Hurray Just got the email :aha: :aha: azaaaadi Kashmir humara hai :finger: Pakistan hai hai
Nova Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 DC's bachelor days are back... Full daaru party... :D