1983-2011 Posted October 29, 2012 Posted October 29, 2012 The IPL franchises have been given an opportunity to reduce their player costs, should they wish to do so, because of a tweak to regulations made by the league's governing council earlier this month. The franchises have been asked to submit a list of players they want to retain for the next season, to be played in April-May 2013, by October 31 while the rest will go into the next auction. What this effectively means is that a franchise can release a player who was bought at a high price, make sure he is included in the auction pool, and then try and buy him at a lower price. "It is possible for a team or teams to rectify a player's price. For instance, Saurabh Tiwary was bought by the [Royal Challengers] Bangalore at $1.6 million, way higher than the estimated price for the batsman," an IPL official told ESPNcricinfo. "If they wish, they can cut ties with him and again buy him at the auction at a cheaper rate." Such an approach, however, is fraught with risk. "No team would like to disturb its core group for reducing the player's fees, so I doubt if any team would actually take the risk of putting a key player into the auction pool," another IPL team executive said. "If Irfan Pathan, bought at $1.9 million by Delhi Daredevils, goes into the auction pool for a correction and if two and three teams are looking for an allrounder at the auction, then there is every likelihood that the player will be sold for almost the same amount and Delhi may lose him eventually." With less than two days to go for the deadline to submit the player list to the IPL authorities, the teams seemed to prefer to keep most of their leading players. Officials of three franchises confirmed they "won't fiddle around with most of our overseas players". And those officials also confirmed they "will release a few of the domestic players". "After all, we cannot ignore the trading window that will precede the auction," an official said. "If we need to have a re-look at the core group of our squad, we can do so even during the trading window. But some of the lesser exposed and lesser skilled domestic players will turn out to be free agents in two days." Another factor the franchises are dealing with ahead of the October 31 deadline is finalising whether their veteran players can last another season. Sourav Ganguly's decision not to feature in the next IPL is a result of the same. However, two other veterans, Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar, are set to play at least one more IPL season. Neither Rajasthan Royals nor Mumbai Indians intend to part ways with them. http://www.espncricinfo.com/india/content/story/588732.html?CMP=chrome which players do you think will get the chop? My list top of my head: Yusuf Pathan Saurabh Tiwary Rohit Sharma Ravindra Jadeja R. P. Singh
GautiMaan Posted October 29, 2012 Posted October 29, 2012 Mi loves Rohit and Dhoni loves Jadeja,so i think they will be retained
BeautifulGame Posted October 30, 2012 Posted October 30, 2012 Why would we part way with Jadeja? He was peerty good for us in last IPL and damn useful player in Indian conditions and gives u a very good balance. In fact I can't see any of the players u mentioned being not retained.
Executioner Posted October 30, 2012 Posted October 30, 2012 Why would we part way with Jadeja? He was peerty good for us in last IPL and damn useful player in Indian conditions and gives u a very good balance. In fact I can't see any of the players u mentioned being not retained. so do you think someone like jadeja is WORTH 2 million USD?:giggle: I dont see the use of jaddu when you already have jakati and aswhin...and better batsman like mukund and srikant
BeautifulGame Posted October 30, 2012 Posted October 30, 2012 so do you think someone like jadeja is WORTH 2 million USD?:giggle: I dont see the use of jaddu when you already have jakati and aswhin...and better batsman like mukund and srikant 1.Its owners money so i dont give a **** since his 2 mil price tag wont affect us in auctions .Also dont think owners would care either considering we are highly successful both on and off the field. 2.Jadeja is a better bowler than Jakathi and out bowled him easily in last IPL.And pretty good batsmen in indian conditions and one of India's best fielders. We dont need to replace Jadeja with Anirudth since both will play.Jadeja is far more valuable T20 player than Mukund.If there will be a player who is more likely to replae him it will be Aparajith but i would prefer Jadeja for this season.
The Dark Horse Posted October 30, 2012 Posted October 30, 2012 Jadeja is waste of space. Do away with him already :facepalm:
BeautifulGame Posted October 30, 2012 Posted October 30, 2012 Jadeja is waste of space. Do away with him already :facepalm: oh come on.He often scored some vital runs and often bowled some crucial overs (Match against MI for ex) for us in last IPL.U are unfair to him.
The Dark Horse Posted October 30, 2012 Posted October 30, 2012 oh come on.He often scored some vital runs and often bowled some crucial overs (Match against MI for ex) for us in last IPL.U are unfair to him. Once in 10 matches he is useful, are you telling me he is worth a 2 million?
BeautifulGame Posted October 30, 2012 Posted October 30, 2012 Once in 10 matches he is useful' date=' are you telling me he is worth a 2 million?[/quote'] No he isnt but so what? Why should we care about the price tag? Its not like his price will affect us in future auctions.
Number Posted October 30, 2012 Posted October 30, 2012 If you name Rohit then Uthappa too hasn't done much for that much money.
yoda Posted October 30, 2012 Posted October 30, 2012 Golden opportunity for CSK actually to get rid of Jadeja and use that money to get a few quality bowlers/hitters. He is neither a bowler nor a bat.
Zap_Brannigan Posted October 30, 2012 Posted October 30, 2012 Golden opportunity for CSK actually to get rid of Jadeja and use that money to get a few quality bowlers/hitters. He is neither a bowler nor a bat. The problem is that their isnt any good domestic bowler or batsman left to be picked.
BeautifulGame Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 IBN is reporting that Bhajji may be released by Mumbai Indians. Kaaptaan :hysterical:
diga Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 Finally the owners want some accountability for the performance of the team..The kaptaan is the first to go. Whats the salary cap?
Crookbond Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 Harbhajan, Stuart Broad to be released http://www.espncricinfo.com/india/content/current/story/589141.html Several high-profile players are set to be released by their IPL franchises ahead of the 2013 season, in line with the October 31 deadline for all franchises to finalise the players they would like to retain ahead of the IPL trading window and player auction. Possibilities on that list include Mumbai Indians captain Harbhajan Singh and Kings XI Punjab's Stuart Broad. Harbhajan led Mumbai Indians during the 2012 IPL and two Champions League Twenty20 editions - including their victorious campaign in 2011 - to increase their purse for the player auction. Though the franchise has officially denied the news, a source confirmed to ESPNcricinfo that Harbhajan will indeed be "released first and then bid for during the player auction". Meanwhile, Broad's prolonged wait for his IPL debut seems on the verge of being extended yet again. The England fast bowler was bought by Kings XI ahead of IPL 2011 but missed both subsequent seasons. A franchise official said the decision to offload Broad was primarily because, for most of IPL-6, he would be on international duty with England. Besides Broad, Kings XI have decided to release six more cricketers, including Abhishek Nayar and Ramesh Powar. Nayar, the Mumbai allrounder who was bought for $800,000 at the 2011 auction, was considered "overpriced". Australia's Nathan Rimmington and James Faulkner and the Himachal Pradesh duo of Paras Dogra and Vikramjeet Malik also feature on the list. This means Kings XI will now have nine slots vacant ahead of the trading window and player auction, since Abhinav Bali and Shalabh Srivastava have been suspended till May 15 next year due to their alleged misdeeds during a TV sting operation. Pune Warriors, whose 2011 captain Sourav Ganguly has announced his decision to withdraw from the next IPL, is set to release five more cricketers, with New Zealand's Jesse Ryder being the most prominent. Though all the names could not be confirmed, it was learnt that Warriors will release three overseas players, including Ryder, and two domestic players, including Sachin Rana. The squad-pruning is in line with the IPL rule but some of the franchises questioned the timing of the deadline. "If you are asking to me take a decision, this should have happened after the trading window because then the franchises could have had the chance of trading them instead of releasing them," a franchise official said. Another official from a different franchise agreed with the view, saying he had told his bosses that it was better to wait for the window to open. "I feel I can retain the players now and trade when the window opens. This deadline only offers some franchises whose squad strength is a little too big and so it provides them an opportunity to have a re-look. I think all the franchises would look at reducing a certain amount (of players) and then look forward to the trading window" the official said. However, all the franchises don't seem to be on the same page. "It's a double-edged sword and we would prefer such a deadline before the trading window since it allows to get rid of a player if we just do not want him," an official said. "No franchise can be sure whether they would be able to trade a player whom they wish to and if they cannot, they will have to retain him. This deadline helps us in avoiding it."
diga Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 Bhajji :hehe: Tripple whammy for Bhajji... first BCCI contracts, then IPL and now punjab police too. He has to do some havan/pooja The 'Turbanator' had recently shown interest in an offer made to him by the Punjab government in February 2002 to join Punjab police as a deputy superintendent of police. At that time chief minister Parkash Singh Badal had showered praises on Bhajji, calling him 'Punjab da puttar', besides giving a cash award of Rs 5 lakh and a residential plot in his home district Jalandhar. However, at the peak of his form, busy with cricket commitments and flooded with offers from the tinsel world, Bhajji did not respond to the offer in 2002. More than 10 years later when he finally did show interest, the Punjab government has confirmed that the offer no longer exists. A senior official in the government told TOI, "The deputy chief minister has made adverse remarks on Bhajji's file and the case is almost closed. Bhajji has been busy in the glamour world and preferred not to serve his state."