Who Should Be India"s New Captain And Why

I think Dhoni will resign himslef after this match just to pre-empt any attempts to sack him from captaincy. He might even "retire" from Test cricket and concentrate on ODIs and T20s... There's a high possibility of Midget becoming Test captain.. Reason: He's not gonna retire any soon, might as well give him some responsibilities...

no hes not running away responsibility:giggle:
I thought you were one of the sane posters on this site - test series loss se kuch jyada shock laga hai kya :--D His Godfather is BCCI Prez and he has just played a pretty good innings and now you expect him to voluntarily resign and even retire.............its simply impossible.
:(( Dhoni's a smart guy... He knows his brand value and the best way to extend is to concentrate on LOIs... Too much load captaining Test team especially when the team is full of backstabbers...
exactly,he aint going anywhere
:(( Dhoni's a smart guy... He knows his brand value and the best way to extend is to concentrate on LOIs... Too much load captaining Test team especially when the team is full of backstabbers...
He's a smart guy so he will milk it for all its worth and stay in Test cricket for as long as he can (i.e. till the time he continues to enjoy the support of the BCCI Prez). If he goes from test cricket then his brand value will surely go down so I don't think he will go voluntarily.
How? In India public don't give a damn about Test cricket.. As long as he's doing well in Home series of ODIs and T20s and IPL, he should be fine..
How? In India public don't give a damn about Test cricket.. As long as he's doing well in Home series of ODIs and T20s and IPL' date=' he should be fine..[/quote'] if he retires from Tests (or worse for him, is sacked and removed from the side) then his image would take a beating and the number of International matches he plays would decrease so for the advertisers he wouldn't be as lucrative a brand as he currently is (or was after the World Cup). Besides, he has already said that he is will not run away from his responsibilities - in other words, he won't quit and its up to the BCCI to sack him, and he knows that in all probability they won't do it.
if he retires from Tests (or worse for him, is sacked and removed from the side) then his image would take a beating and the number of International matches he plays would decrease so for the advertisers he wouldn't be as lucrative a brand as he currently is (or was after the World Cup). Besides, he has already said that he is will not run away from his responsibilities - in other words, he won't quit and its up to the BCCI to sack him, and he knows that in all probability they won't do it.
SG, did you realize that if anyone didn't know the context in which this post was written, it would suit to a perfect T for another sooperstar in the side :--D
SG' date=' did you realize that if anyone didn't know the context in which this post was written, it would suit to a perfect T for another sooperstar in the side :--D[/quote'] you mean Chawla :P

Gambhir? seriously? He hasn't scored a hundred in 25-26 Test matches lol Dhoni should continue. Yes he's not a very good tactician, but you have to look at what has happened to India's batting as well. It's nothing like what it was 2-3 years ago. Dravid and Laxman left the game. Tendulkar is a clown. He's way past it and is hindering the process of young talent coming through. India's feeble batting was responsible for this loss more than anything. Someone like Kohli will find it difficult as a captain against the Aussies.

Gambhir can be, but considering how he has handled himself in the last 2 years (total denial) , how will he handle the team well. although I would say at this time it should be anyone but Dhoni. His sacking is prerequisite to move forward.