My only question about this would be ..... If you guys remember the Show called 'Fame Gurukul' and remember the guy 'Qazi Taukeer' from srinagar (I can bet gals cant forget this guy's name) , that guy won even though judges would put him in the 'bottom three' every time* and he was supposedly the worst singer in the whole competition and every time public would save him with even bigger margin (what can I say, even My dad send him so many votes). this guy made a record of one person getting the maximum TV voting. just tell me what northie-southie logic you would apply coz 1) he was a muslim so not a part of religious majority. 2) he was supposedly the worst singer compared to many other maharathis in that competition 3) he was from srinagar so not exactly your typical northie.
Their was contestant called HemaChandra who happens to be Karunya's cousin and is a darn good singer who got needlessly eliminated.
So he can beat north indians by singing well....and that argument holds good till he reaches the final...but the same argument doesn't hold good when he leses...you can't have it both ways...!
I think that argument is VERY valid. It is one thing to allow a person from a different lingusitic background to progress in a competition , but an entirely different matter to allow him to win it.
Infact how many north indians did you see in the last 5 in this indian idol..... Most of them have been from the east and north east. If the people voted out people from their own states ...how can you accuse them of regionalism. It is very sad!
Are you actually trying to tell me , that every person who votes in this , the middle-class govt clerk , the ladies working in the garment factories , the auto driver who comes home and sees T.V , will all have ZERO regional bias. And it works both ways. How it is extremely difficult for a Southie to win a predominanly Hindi-competition , so it would be for a Northie to cross the Vindhyas and do well there. Its just the way it works

People tend to forget that Indian idol is a personality based contest....and people vote for the best package .... If you want only singing ,then watch saregama ........although it is also full of drama.... As for kumblerocks statement about judges making that appeal...they did it again this time because of the female singers getting eliminated....but that doesn't men it's true. the fact is that barring prashast the other 2 mmale singers are far more superior tothe girls....... So should people vote for girls just because they are girls or because they like the personality /singing? Should people vote for someone because he belongs to a certain region or because they like the personality or singing..? Infact people voted wholeheartedly for a chinese indian till the competition got really tough.He wasn't good enough to ne top 3. I feel prashant is not good enough but I think the entire police force is voting for him:D

Their was contestant called HemaChandra who happens to be Karunya's cousin and is a darn good singer who got needlessly eliminated.
What is needlessly eliminated? I think he reached the top too.So you think people have a God given right to be chosen winners ....

So sriram...you are saying that a talanted south indian should be always voted over a talanted person from any other region? not just karunya's case......in general.... How do you account foe the popularity of south indian actresses being popular inthe hindi film industry?:giggle:haan ..koi jawaab hai uska???:D

So sriram...you are saying that a talanted south indian should be always voted over a talanted person from any other region? not just karunya's case......in general....
No , I never meant it that way. I am more along the lines of - " If there is equally talented South and North person , or even if the Southie guy is slightly more talented, still the Northie would win if there was a popular poll.
How do you account foe the popularity of south indian actresses being popular inthe hindi film industry?:giggle:haan ..koi jawaab hai uska???:D
Exactly the same way in which North Indian actress are HUGELY popular in South India. If you recall , Khushboo dominated Tamil cinema for a decade. They even built temples for her. Here its not a question of North-South Bias. Its more a question of who can offer something "Different" ( and i mean this a very dignified sense actually). In the case of North Indian actresses, they are fairer , taller and hence considered " Good-looking"

Karunya was way better than Sandeep. Even the first idol, the guy who went out 3rd last was the best of them all. It is too naive to believe that the show is settled only by votes. It gets rigged in the end. How could one explain Ankita getting voted ahead of the other two girls. They were better than this show pony. But show ponies get more votes/viewership in reality TV. People voting for these shows are the same ones that believe in world peace, Santa Claus and that the world is flat.:giggle: Also after the Sonu Nigam guest judge episode, they should have declared Emon the idol. He is far superior than Amit. Amit is pleasant to hear only in low pitch, his high pitch songs are impossible to hear when he goes offkey quite a lot. Also, SRGMP singers are much much better than Idol ones. I have always been a SRGMP fan even in its original formal. There is this guy called Raja Hasan, he is a long way better than Emon/Amit (in singing ability)

khusboo is north indian????
She is from Mahararshtra, which by popular south Indian opinon , is in the "north":D Not just her , But recently Simran too, Who is Punajbi simran_01.jpg P.S - This is the most homely pic i could get.
arre KR to phir yeh rona dhona kyun??
Are Veer Bhai ! Show me a post of mine , wherein I have abused any poster in this thread. It was this Radhika who started abusing me personally first even though I was extremely polite to her. This is one thing I positively hate about this message board. Full of immature posters abusing others just because they have POV which does not align with theirs.