India-KXIP fan Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 5th hundred in Ranji this season btw quality thread OP. Ignore these childish trolls. :nice:
India-KXIP fan Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 Agree but he is young. Scoring runs in mohali which is the most pace friendly track in India is another thing selctors if they have a brain will look at, particularly for overseas tours. Defo not ready yet, well probably not. But with sehwag and gambhir useless now, we are crying out for an opener. Who knows, end of this year he may be close to a call up if keeps it up and has a good A tour. I just pray our selection commitee are astute enough to pick him on next A tour This. Will be disgusted if there is no Jiwanjot in A tour. One of Chand or Mukund will have to sit out. Dhawan and Vijay shouldn't be picked. Jiwanjot has out performed the others and I like how he converted almost all starts into big scores.
saneindian Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 Another 100 for the youngster. Well played youngman. BTW How tall is Jiwanjot? Looks to be a very short guy
rkt.india Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 Another 100 for the youngster. Well played youngman. BTW How tall is Jiwanjot? Looks to be a very short guy looks like bit shoretr than Bhajji, about 5'7"-5'8".
saneindian Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 5'7"-8" is a decent height, Looking at those pics I thought he was of the same height as Sunny paaji, reminded me of that tiny left hander in the u-19 squad Zol!
The Dark Horse Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 Can be tried in A tours, he has done that well this season.
wanted_desi Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 The problem with India is that there are 3 back up openers, all of them are crap. But they will still get chance ahead of this guy 1) Mukund 2) Vijay 3) Dhawan
King Tendulkar Posted January 9, 2013 Author Posted January 9, 2013 He's played just 1 season and you want him in the team? Now that itself is a bigger troll than us yawning at them. :asleep: :asleep: :asleep: :asleep: Stop trolling and being a sheep and following others. Read the OP. Where does it say I want him in the team NOW? Now thats trolling or lack of understanding simple english!! Now go have a sleep over with your fellow green avatar chums:giggle:
The Dark Horse Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 He can be sent in the Emerging players tournament(If it's still happening) for a start.
King Tendulkar Posted January 9, 2013 Author Posted January 9, 2013 Great ton, dream season for him. Cant wait to see how he does on A tour
Cevno Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 The problem with India is that there are 3 back up openers, all of them are crap. But they will still get chance ahead of this guy 1) Mukund 2) Vijay 3) Dhawan Mukund is not crap. And the plan seems to be making Rahane open in tests which i am not sure about. Jiwanjot needs to perform first for one more season consistently before getting a go, imo.
India-KXIP fan Posted January 10, 2013 Posted January 10, 2013 High-flying Jiwanjot remains firmly grounded In July 1826, Thomas Marsden, playing for Sheffield and Leicester against Nottingham, became the first batsman to score a double-century on his first-class debut. Since then, 13 other batsmen have repeated the feat, with Jiwanjot Singh, the 22-year-old right-handed opener from Punjab, being the latest entrant to the club. He scored 213 against Hyderabad, and, with 158 against Bengal in his second game, became the first Indian to register a double-hundred and a century in his first two Ranji matches. At the time of writing, he had an aggregate of 776 runs from seven matches at an average of 77.60. The runs will become harder to come by and the average will take a dip as the bowlers start reading him better, but with four centuries and a half-century in the kitty so far, he has distanced himself from the other debutants of the season by a clear margin. The initial success has thrust Jiwanjot into limelight, and he is amused by it. “When I was making runs at junior level, nobody asked, but now with a double-century on debut everyone wants to know who Jiwanjot is.” He made his entry into state cricket at the Under-15 level with a century on debut against Jammu and Kashmir in the 2005-06 Polly Umrigar Trophy, and stellar performance last season in the Under-22 CK Nayudu Trophy instilled in him the belief that he could do well at the senior level. “Last year, in the Under-22, I scored 533 runs in seven matches and it gave me a lot of confidence,” he says. He recollects the build-up to his maiden Ranji Trophy game. “The atmosphere in the team was good for my debut game, the seniors told me to play my natural game, give my 100% and enjoy,” he says. “With God’s grace, I got a double hundred.” Calmness has earned him the big runs. “I believe in batting calmly. It is not possible to play attacking cricket always, and to score hundreds one has to have a lot of patience to bat for at least 80 overs.” The serene attitude both on and off the field has not gone unnoticed among his teammates, who have nicknamed him Amla, reference to another cricketer of the modern era whose body language is equated with that of a monk. At a tender age, Jiwanjot’s level-headed nature stands out. “Please do not create much hype about me, I am yet to do something big,” he tells Wisden India. His understanding of the big picture and the importance of balance in life have allowed him to manage his game well so far. “I do not carry my game to my room,” he says. “Outside the field, I am just a normal human being. The media attention is too much, which is good because your performance gets noticed, but if I stop scoring, all this is meaningless. Therefore, it is important for me to focus on my job.” Born in Patiala in November 1990, Jiwanjot, like many others, was inspired by Sachin Tendulkar and started playing cricket at the age of 12 with a dream. “I went to an academy because I dreamt of playing for India and my father, who has played a bit of cricket, and my coach, Mahesh Inder Singh, a former Punjab cricketer, made me work hard,” he says. His immediate objective, however, is to help Punjab win Ranji Trophy this year. “At every level I have represented Punjab, we have won the finals and this year, my aim is to contribute in winning the Ranji Trophy.” Jiwanjot, who after a fantastic start had a couple of low scores, has already felt the challenges of first-class cricket. “The loose balls are very rare, and for me to play regularly at the highest level I have to work on my fitness,” he says. “In the off season, I will work on building more muscle strength and on my fielding. I think the secret to be successful at this level is to keep it simple, and take it match by match instead of thinking too ahead.” Arun Sharma, the coach of Punjab, knows the fickle nature of first class-cricket and is already working on maintaining Jiwanjot’s consistency. “200 can be followed by zeros, therefore I have released him from close-in fielding positions so that he is not fatigued standing in one position,” he says. The result was immediate. Jiwanjot scored his third century of the season, against Rajasthan in Punjab’s last home game. Rashmi Ranjan Parida, who witnessed that innings from first slip, thinks that Jiwanjot is a good prospect. “At his age, he is technically very correct and in that innings he played a few extraordinary shots that are difficult to execute on a green wicket.” Jiwanjot became the fastest Punjab batsman to reach the 500-run mark in first-class cricket but Sunil Joshi, currently the coach of Hyderabad, feels that it is too early to offer an informed opinion. “The runs must have given him confidence, but let him face better attacks over the next couple of years and only then can we judge him,” he says. Jiwanjot has an idea of what Joshi means. “Run karo tho khaas hai, nahi hai tho koi nahi puchta hai [if you score runs, that’s great, otherwise no one will ask about you]. http://www.wisdenindia.com/cricket-article/high-flying-jiwanjot-remains-firmly-grounded/41127 Good attitude :nice:
Magneto Posted January 10, 2013 Posted January 10, 2013 Another 100 for the youngster. Well played youngman. BTW How tall is Jiwanjot? Looks to be a very short guy Not more than 5'5.
Vivek.S.123 Posted January 10, 2013 Posted January 10, 2013 Getting runs in the Indian domestic games is not a huge task. Our trundlers are not good at all. Even SIR Jadeja can get triple centuries
Old guy Posted January 10, 2013 Posted January 10, 2013 Getting runs in the Indian domestic games is not a huge task. Our trundlers are not good at all. Even SIR Jadeja can get triple centuries he got runs in mohali..where jaddu wont even cross 10 tracks were really hard in north india ...only thing against him right now is tht he is new guy and bowler dont know his weakness in coming seasons they will target him better and he will need to over come it otherwise he has done everything right got runs on tough tracks and at important times....
diga Posted January 10, 2013 Posted January 10, 2013 he got runs in mohali..where jaddu wont even cross 10 Has Jaddu crossed 30 outside of Rajkot?
Vivek.S.123 Posted January 10, 2013 Posted January 10, 2013 he got runs in mohali..where jaddu wont even cross 10 tracks were really hard in north india ...only thing against him right now is tht he is new guy and bowler dont know his weakness in coming seasons they will target him better and he will need to over come it otherwise he has done everything right got runs on tough tracks and at important times.... hmmmm true. But he should also go on A tours so we can see if he can play Intl level bowling. If he does good in both domestic and A series, then I believe he should be given chances in our test team.
Old guy Posted January 10, 2013 Posted January 10, 2013 Has Jaddu crossed 30 outside of Rajkot? no idea:cantstop:
Old guy Posted January 10, 2013 Posted January 10, 2013 hmmmm true. But he should also go on A tours so we can see if he can play Intl level bowling. If he does good in both domestic and A series' date=' then I believe he should be given chances in our test team.[/quote'] test team is too far away for tht he needs to perform like this next year too and i agree he should def be in a team no question abt that
diga Posted January 10, 2013 Posted January 10, 2013 test team is too far away for tht he needs to perform like this next year too and i agree he should def be in a team no question abt that Actually my criterion is somewhat like this For tests: Performace in Ranji -> Duleep trophy -> A tours/practice matches against visiting teams -> Tests For ODI's: Performace in Ranji ODIs -> Challengers ->A tours/practice matches against visiting teams -> ODI's For T20I: IPL but exceptional talents need to be fast tracked direclty to ODI's or tests to gauge their temperament..