Do you know to read & write your own language?  

• Yes
    • No
    • Sort of
    • Chalta hai...its sort of cool to not to know your language.

I also had it in Graduation and I found it really tough. The teacher tought our class for 2 semesters then finally both the students and the teacher realized it was no good and we were not going to learn :cantstop: As for my language, I know how to read, write and speak Hindi.
:giggle: Even in our class, it was like all or none effect. Either students found it high scoring or simply hated it. PS: I had Sanskrit in my school (CBSE) and hence perhaps a language like French was more scoring for me,. Just have to use logic and simply some "ratta" :winky: for grammer. Our teacher used to say: Le franíÂis est assez simple si vous aimez le vin (pardon resident French speakers if any errors :giggle:) which roughly translates to: You will love learning French if you have tasted (?) and love wine :dance:
Tridibans' date=' French is difficult to pronounce similar to Malayalam. In that aspect, they are quite similar.[/quote'] Yes but if ever you have time, try learning some grammer. It is actually pretty easy unlike German where you have to memorise lot many vocabulary for simple items and certainly the syllabi is a lot wider (vast). But yeah I agree that speaking French is a bit tough just for pronunciation.
I have also heard that Chinese is pretty difficuly. Atleast the reading and writing part.
:agree: There's no alphabet to be learnt. Simply words and their corresponding images. I learnt quite a bit and then forgot almost all. :(( Not an easy language to learn :headshake:
Thats a new to me. Wow! So are there any Conjunctions in Chinese? AFAIK they are not used. So how to compile sentences?
Saurav is right. The alphabets are merely pictures. Manadarin/Cantonese are almost like heiroglyphic scripts.
:giggle: Even in our class, it was like all or none effect. Either students found it high scoring or simply hated it. PS: I had Sanskrit in my school (CBSE) and hence perhaps a language like French was more scoring for me,. Just have to use logic and simply some "ratta" :winky: for grammer. Our teacher used to say: Le franíÂis est assez simple si vous aimez le vin (pardon resident French speakers if any errors :giggle:) which roughly translates to: You will love learning French if you have tasted (?) and love wine :dance:
I also had Sankrit in classes 7 & 8 but it didn't seem to help me in french where I had to depend on "ratta" to pass :(
Well that "ratta" thing which I used to learn Sanskrit was handy whikle learning French :giggle: No, seriously, if you have the basics of French grammer clear (obviously along wih a few words of French vocab.), its pretty easy. Infact, as a WW2 enthusiast, I always wanted to learn german. But somehow found it too difficult :(( So its "toota-foota" German for me.
Your English is impeccable and would be nice if you could share how you were able to gain such command in the language. A lot of really bright students face it difficult to overcome the language barrier when they move on to a professional career or higher academics where most of the things are done in English.
Actually, I did face a lot of difficulty when I went to Delhi from Odisha. I fast realized that if I did not improve my English and my dressing sense, I was not going anywhere with my career. You won't understand the problem unless you have experienced it. At that time, I could not manage to speak even a single complete sentence in English. Thankfully, I had learned my grammar well in school. So for me, it was not about learning the language, but about practicing it in speech and in writing. Took me about six months of real hard work. I used to stand in front of a mirror and speak to myself on random topics, read news papers and novels aloud and learn from their sentence construction. I started watching English channels more and concentrated on pronunciations of different words. And I started talking to people in English. I was made fun of when I made stupid mistakes, but it helped me learn the language faster. Since I was knew my grammar well, I mostly knew when I made mistakes. So it was about reducing mistakes while speaking in English, without fumbling, without slowing down, not stopping searching for the right words and without showing in anyway that I was putting efforts into it. I also practiced writing a lot and it was key to improving my language. I would write a sentence and then try to write the same sentence in many different ways and figure out which is the best for the tone of the topic. Thanks to God, I got over my language problems and managed to build myself a decent career in advertising, where communication in English plays an instrumental role - not just in communicating with clients, but in telling them how they should communicate with their TG.
I have the same problem,speaking English,though can read n write well.in my case,there are'nt many people I can speak in English to.so I fumble and jumble when I'm forced to speak:((
I have the same problem' date='speaking English,though can read n write well.in my case,there are'nt many people I can speak in English to.so I fumble and jumble when I'm forced to speak:(([/quote'] Find someone to speak to. Since you know the language, it won't be much difficult. :nice:
I have the same problem' date='speaking English,though can read n write well.in my case,there are'nt many people I can speak in English to.so I fumble and jumble when I'm forced to speak:(([/quote'] Practise by speaking to imaginary friends. And that doesn't mean people like Sabby, K11P etc.
I have the same problem' date='speaking English,though can read n write well.in my case,there are'nt many people I can speak in English to.so I fumble and jumble when I'm forced to speak:(([/quote'] Setup a blog on cricket. Take part in forums were "bad" English is censured.
I have the same problem' date='speaking English,though can read n write well.in my case,there are'nt many people I can speak in English to.so I fumble and jumble when I'm forced to speak:(([/quote'] It's OK yaar.. My English is terrible as well
Setup a blog on cricket. Take part in forums were "bad" English is censured.
how would I 'speak' English on blog and forums?:hmmm:
Practise by speaking to imaginary friends. And that doesn't mean people like Sabby' date=' K11P etc.[/quote'] I am an expert at that.talk well to myself,but can't in front of real people:((