I have seen that clip multiple time, first when Ravish put it on and then Tdigi now, and unless I am missing something it does not come across as anything that hilarious, or stupid. Rahul Gandhi is right on the money that Indians should stop complaining about what their politicians can do, and take some responsibility themselves. Most mature countries work this way. The Government has a minimal role, in our country we expect Government to do every little thing. And why does Rahul Gandhi get this kind of media highlight, or cross-questioning anyway? Why would he be asked about Akash tablet? Is he the technology minister? Or Human resources minister?? I see no reason why he has to know this. The questions that should be asked to Rahul Gandhi is the immense corruption of Robert Vadra for example. Now that I would love to watch.
I think Its his Policy of rare Media or public appearances which creates the frenzy .Its good for him he throws his point of view on issues be it in parliament or outside in this day and age.
I have seen that clip multiple time' date=' first when Ravish put it on and then Tdigi now, and unless I am missing something it does not come [b']across as anything that hilarious, or stupid. Rahul Gandhi is right on the money that Indians should stop complaining about what their politicians can do, and take some responsibility themselves. Most mature countries work this way. The Government has a minimal role, in our country we expect Government to do every little thing. And why does Rahul Gandhi get this kind of media highlight, or cross-questioning anyway? Why would he be asked about Akash tablet? Is he the technology minister? Or Human resources minister?? I see no reason why he has to know this. The questions that should be asked to Rahul Gandhi is the immense corruption of Robert Vadra for example. Now that I would love to watch.
Here is the thing. Of course the personal responsibility of average Indian citizen is paramount but this is leader of an elected government, who is essentially a government servant who is in effect a servant of the people. So, what people can do for their country is one thing, but that does not take away his prime responsibility to address the issues of the republic. This is equivalent of Obama putting his hand up and saying screw the deal, firstly tell me American people what are you going to do about debt situation. Now, it is true that irresponsibility of people has also contributed to the situation but that does not take anything away from his prime responsibility as an elected representative of the people. The shocking and hilarious part of that he could not answer the question. After having answered the question, he could have said, well and you as an average Indian can do.....
He was stunned so it was his tactic to buy some time to think about it.But still he could not :giggle:
Obama has been invoking that quote of JFK ever since he came to the office actually. He keeps talking about the sacrifices that American people will have to make to address the debt imbalance. During Obama's election campaign (1st term) he had put forth a plan of cutting dependence on foreign oil which included, hold your breath, - individuals checking tire pressure routinely, driving at a particular speed, tune up engine on time etc. His opponent John McCain had tried to make a mockery of his "solution" but many Americans had rallied around Obama back then showing how the citizens could help offset the gas issue. Can you imagine that happening in India? Sonia Gandhi or Mamta Banerjee or Advani asking people to cut on gas expense? People would be furious. Generally Indians are happier when these same netas come out trying to increase the subsidy on foreign oil, even if it bleeds the national ex-chequer.

YT comment :giggle:

Rahul lalaa tera toh Popat Ho gaya re. you just lost all your senses and have become "Anand Bhai". My only request to you is kindly find a good suitable Job and start earning instead of relying on your mother's income even at the age of 43. have some self-respect man. Let me give you 1 single advise that Politics is just not your thing.
I have seen that clip multiple time, first when Ravish put it on and then Tdigi now, and unless I am missing something it does not come across as anything that hilarious, or stupid. Rahul Gandhi is right on the money that Indians should stop complaining about what their politicians can do, and take some responsibility themselves. Most mature countries work this way. The Government has a minimal role, in our country we expect Government to do every little thing. And why does Rahul Gandhi get this kind of media highlight, or cross-questioning anyway? Why would he be asked about Akash tablet? Is he the technology minister? Or Human resources minister?? I see no reason why he has to know this. The questions that should be asked to Rahul Gandhi is the immense corruption of Robert Vadra for example. Now that I would love to watch.
I agree with you on the Akash part, but on the first question he should have presented something even like that you don't need to be very well educated to start using technology as you see kids get familiar with it at such a young age and then technology helps them grow. And then asked the guy for his solution. The guy was also an awwal darje ka idiot saying, "I thought about it but if I knew I wouldn't ask you." LOL! At least say what you supposedly thought! But the broader point here is that internet BJP and Modi supporters are getting desperate by picking on benign things. They spend hours collecting, distributing, and making fun of videos like this on the net, but the ground reality is that their party and hero stumbles from one ass whooping to another. This makes them more desperate and they resort to picking up on even more benign stuff to comfort each other.
I agree with you on the Akash part' date=' but on the first question he [b']should have presented something even like that you don't need to be very well educated to start using technology as you see kids get familiar with it at such a young age and then technology helps them grow. And then asked the guy for his solution. The guy was also an awwal darje ka idiot saying, "I thought about it but if I knew I wouldn't ask you." LOL! At least say what you supposedly thought!
I completely agree with the notion that his answer was hardly the most exceptional. And he could have answered it quite differently. And yet I can not help but completely concur with his notion that It is high time Indian citizens, and specially young Indians, start coming up with their own solution instead of looking at the Govt. Personally I have always beleived in this down up approach, rather than the hierarchical top-down routine. And yes I was surprised at the person who asked the question. On prompted by Rahul Gandhi he did start very well with how he could perhaps spare 2-3 hours to help these folks. Again something we have talked about here, and makes absolute sense. But then he starts playing to the gallery a little bit I thought.
But the broader point here is that internet BJP and Modi supporters are getting desperate by picking on benign things. They spend hours collecting, distributing, and making fun of videos like this on the net, but the ground reality is that their party and hero stumbles from one ass whooping to another. This makes them more desperate and they resort to picking up on even more benign stuff to comfort each other.
I do agree to that. To compare Narendra Modi who is a seasoned politician, holds a political office and is a viable PM candidate (even if may not like him) to someone like Rahul Gandhi who is frankly a political nobody is weird, and gets increasingly weird. Unless I am missing something here this video is a bit much ado about nothing.

^ You like trolling BJP fans, don't you? BUt seriously I sympathize with RG, he is reluctant politician..Given a chance he would run away from India and settle down in western country where he doesn't get this kind of attention..He can't take any of the constant attention media and general populace showers on him. I am sure he is sick of being constantly judged..He is not confident of himself... But congress has no choice but to make him a leader, because if he steps out congress will disintegrate. Read this interview.. http://www.scribd.com/doc/24442422/The-Rahul-Gandhi-Interview He comes across as some one who is introvert and a person who doesn't have own thinking..It is best for him to step out of race and politics once for all...

I completely agree with the notion that his answer was hardly the most exceptional. And he could have answered it quite differently. And yet I can not help but completely concur with his notion that It is high time Indian citizens, and specially young Indians, start coming up with their own solution instead of looking at the Govt. Personally I have always beleived in this down up approach, rather than the hierarchical top-down routine. And yes I was surprised at the person who asked the question. On prompted by Rahul Gandhi he did start very well with how he could perhaps spare 2-3 hours to help these folks. Again something we have talked about here, and makes absolute sense. But then he starts playing to the gallery a little bit I thought. I do agree to that. To compare Narendra Modi who is a seasoned politician, holds a political office and is a viable PM candidate (even if may not like him) to someone like Rahul Gandhi who is frankly a political nobody is weird, and gets increasingly weird. Unless I am missing something here this video is a bit much ado about nothing.
Not at all weird because RG is touted as PM candiadate for 2014 by many congressmen, and nothing wrong if people compares prime ministerial candidates
^ You like trolling BJP fans, don't you?
lol no not really. A liberal at heart yes, troll? :bootyshake:
Read this interview.. http://www.scribd.com/doc/24442422/The-Rahul-Gandhi-Interview He comes across as some one who is introvert and a person who doesn't have own thinking..It is best for him to step out of race and politics once for all...
That's actually a pretty good interview. It is more of a man's interview than a politician. Just finished reading through it, from bathroom arrogance to folding hands and getting stuff done in Amethi. Frankly I love reading this kind of personal interviews than the usual talking points. Thanks for sharing :two_thumbs_up:
Dude he is a PM hopeful... And to know about aadharsh tablet one need not be a Science minister or a techie, it's one of the most ambitious govt projects ever in the education/empowerment field... that he doesn't know ABCD of the same suggests he has his priorities somewhere skewed... And no, nobody expects him to know everything.. but then there is a way to deal with such questions... He's brought on the public stage not to dictate things to people, instead the students have every right to undertand his vision - something he pathetically suggested he doesnt have by evading every question shot at him. If he wants to occupy the most important position in India, well let him be prepared to face some intense cross questioning. If he can't face even a student's question, how's he gonna address the nation's problems?
Those are just talking points :winky: To use an analogy, and a bad one at that, you cant go to John Kerry (or Hillary Clinton) and ask about US's debt situation. They will laugh at you and tell you to go ask Timothy Geitner. Why would Rahul Gandhi need to know this? And just for kicks, what has Rahul Gandhi done till date to deserve better mention than say someone like Nitish Kumar?? If you are truly honest about wanting to know good political readers I encourage you to check some of his interviews. We have an amazing country. We promote no-gooders and then wonder why did he become famous? :giggle:
Dude he is a PM hopeful... And to know about aadharsh tablet one need not be a Science minister or a techie, it's one of the most ambitious govt projects ever in the education/empowerment field... that he doesn't know ABCD of the same suggests he has his priorities somewhere skewed...
Perhaps I missed something, but where does he claim ignorance of the tablet. He says that he is not aware of the details and perhaps the manufacturers of the tablets would know more. PS: It's Aakash, not Aadarsh since you are getting so worked up about Rajiv Gandhi not knowing the details one would have expected you to at least know the name. :winky:
when you are the "yuvraj" and the PM candidate of the country's biggest political party you are bound to get media highlight and be questioned. Also, in his 10 years in politics he has faced the media on so few occasions that nobody really knows much about his opinions on important issues facing the country so its only natural that people/journalists would ask questions whenever they get a chances.
I have seen that clip multiple time, first when Ravish put it on and then Tdigi now, and unless I am missing something it does not come across as anything that hilarious, or stupid. Rahul Gandhi is right on the money that Indians should stop complaining about what their politicians can do, and take some responsibility themselves. Most mature countries work this way. The Government has a minimal role, in our country we expect Government to do every little thing.
That can sometimes sound good to hear on camera and one can't disagree with the general theory. The problem though especially wrt education is that all mature countries you speak of have a system which ranges from reasonable to excellent. If there is a single area the govt could focus on to get the individuals to start thinking for themselves on all issues under the sun: population control/family planning, fiscal issues, health awareness, resource management & our impact on environment & climate change and so on, it has to be a solid education system. What is this minimal role that you speak of which doesn't include education ? Its not like Bharat sarkar provides quality healthcare & social security that brings smiles all across the board.
What is this minimal role that you speak of which doesn't include education ? Its not like Bharat sarkar provides quality healthcare & social security that brings smiles all across the board.
My assertion was rather general in nature and nothing specific. Yes you are indeed correct that Western society have a mature and well established structure, unlike India, and hence often it is easier for the citizens to do things themselves rather than wait on Govt. And yet I can not help but wonder if we dont keep looking to solve our problems?? Here is a point that I have often raised. Look at the overall health of Indian society. That is a simple and perhaps easiest way to see how much a person takes matter in his own hands. Not trying to castigate an entire nation but often health and well being is one area Indians have a lot to own up for. Most men who are fat are looked at as well to do, opulent and rich. Most women tend to grow fatter post marriage than a 6 year old blowing a balloon. One of my pet peeves is to visit an Indian Doctor and see him to be 100 kg plus. Clearly as a Doctor he should know better than that. My elder brother, love him to death, is one such Doctor.