rahulrulezz Posted March 11, 2013 Posted March 11, 2013 Hello to my fellow ICF guitarists, This thread is for anyone n everyone who is into guitar, learn/share chords & tabs , share their favorite guitar songs, wants to learn guitar,or anything to do with guitar. The pic below which I just took it off my FB is from 16 months back when I first bought this guitar or held any guitar in my hands ..Notice the random chords and sturmming pattern... I didn't have any prior knowledge of guitar or music and totally learnt it off youtube n other online tutorials... I practiced everyday for 1-2 hours n now I can say that I m pretty descent with my guitar.... and believe me if a stupid besura guy like can learn guitar and play it in public within a year, ANYBODY can learn a guitar... My guitar- Silvertone SD 50 Accoustic Favorite song for my guitar to perform in public- Paani da Rang and 'Tere Yadien' ol30oUgpBLo&feature=youtu.be So let the thread begin. Share some good songs, request any chords or share your chords..Let the jam begin....:thrasher::thrasher:
rahulrulezz Posted March 12, 2013 Author Posted March 12, 2013 Alright seems like there aren't many guitarists in ICF... This means it is time to pick up a guitar... Lets go into the basics of guitar... First things first... Picking up a new guitar.... I highly recommend an accoustic guitar for the begineers rather than an electrical guitar... Choosing the best beginner acoustic guitar can make or break a successful experience learning to play guitar.. Best brand out there for any guitar is Gibson or Yamaha (bit cheaper)..however I would recommend to buy a bit cheaper brand (Silvertone, Epiphone, Yamaha) initiallly so once you get into the habbit of playing everyday, you can even eventually buy an expensive brand.. Guitar Tuner: A guitar tuner is a must for a begineers as it reduces the frustration a beginner has with tuning. I have bought a Guitar Tuner app through my Iphone called Guitune and it works like a charm.. Tuners should be smooth and accurate... As I mentioned earlier, it is a must for a begineer.. Choice of Strings My best buddy who motivated me to get into guitar has a classical guitar and it comes with Nylon strings.. Nylon strings are good for the begineers as they don't hurt the fingers as much as your regular accoustic steel string guitar do however I went against his suggestion and bought a typical steel string accoustic guitar...... so if you are ready to man up and are not worried about the pain initially in your fingers, go for your regular Steel string Accoustic Guitar.... Even in steel strings, they are a mixture of alloys (different metals make up the string) however I don't want to get into too much details ... So in short, go for steel string accoustic guitar however nylon strings are not a bad option for a begineer.. I will keep the lessons going cuz I am sure there are lots of lurkers who want to learn guitar but they don't pursue it cuz they think that it is very hard to learn without any musical background... As I said earlier, guitar is probably the easiest thing to learn out there... Next post would be about how to remember the strings and how to play the basic chords
veer Posted March 12, 2013 Posted March 12, 2013 Rahul paaji.. main kehta hun aap to purush he nahi.. maha purush ho.. !! An accoustic guitar was gifted to me by my brother in hopes that I would learn it.. but didnt. I did print out lots of desi tunes and cords on paper to try it out.. but i thought my approach not right.. so then had a book.. which showed position you hold guitar and keep your fingers.. did all that.. but then i left it there.. Tell me what should be the approach to start fresh? I keep hitting multiple strings which turns into besura awaaz.. how should i practice and hit only one string.. ? Much Much appreciated for putting down your instructions above..
PBN Posted March 12, 2013 Posted March 12, 2013 Make youtube lessons. good job on learning the guitar, btwwhere do you play the guitar in public ?
Dumbbells Posted March 12, 2013 Posted March 12, 2013 I am learning it frm my friend. He s a christian guy n plays in many prayer meetings and gets a good amount of pocket money frm d church. I m learning frm him. I think its a cool instrument and its a great way to impress girls. Believe me, girls love this stuff. Grw long hair and show off wid a guitar. I dnt knw why our boys dnt consider this easy way to impress girls . My gf loves it.
rahulrulezz Posted March 12, 2013 Author Posted March 12, 2013 Rahul paaji.. main kehta hun aap to purush he nahi.. maha purush ho.. !! An accoustic guitar was gifted to me by my brother in hopes that I would learn it.. but didnt. I did print out lots of desi tunes and cords on paper to try it out.. but i thought my approach not right.. so then had a book.. which showed position you hold guitar and keep your fingers.. did all that.. but then i left it there.. Tell me what should be the approach to start fresh? I keep hitting multiple strings which turns into besura awaaz.. how should i practice and hit only one string.. ? Much Much appreciated for putting down your instructions above.. Great question Veer!! Actually perfect question for this thread at this stage. What u go through is probably the most common scenario for anyone who is in their initial period of learning guitar and number 1 reason for quitting(so I don't blame you). Most people get guitar as a gift n buy it without any plan n eventually give up. There are two main reasons. Motivation and Patience!! I swear these are the only two things that stops people from loving, learning n playin guitar. Now I don't wanna sound like your typical BS motivational speaker but actually want to give solutions for these two problems. Problem for lack of motivation arises because when u r in ur initial stages of learning a guitar and trying to play even basic chords, all u hear is random buzzing/sounds and *one starts to feel *like wtf are they doing with this dabba with strings. That's where the solution lies. U have to find a song that uses only 1 or 2 very basic chords so you can humm or sing along with those simple basic chords. So once u find that random basic chords can be used to play a song, u will actually start enjoying that random strumming n will get the motivation. The problem is where do we find those songs that can be played with those very simple basic chords. This is where I (or others who are into guitar) will come in n help you by suggesting you those songs that can be played with only 1 or two simple basic chords. Once u develop the motivation( cuz now u can sing along with those random strumming) you *will finally develop the patience. So in short- Problem for most people is the 'lack of motivation' cuz u see yourself *going nowhere with it and it eventually develops into 'lack of patience' Practical Solution: Find songs that requires only very basic chords and u can sing along with the sound of guitar. Once u realize that 'wow it makes sense' n 'that u can actually sing with your guitar', take the step above n learn the difficult bar chords and eventually plucking n mixing chords around. My next lesson/post would be addressing your concern and I would be going over two basic chords and couple of songs u can try practicing those basic chords. Eventually my future posts would go over the other basic n complex chords n songs u can practice them with. P.s. I am a totally Bollywood guy so I wud primarly share n suggest bolly songs only Rahul
rahulrulezz Posted March 12, 2013 Author Posted March 12, 2013 Make youtube lessons. good job on learning the guitar, btwwhere do you play the guitar in public ? Thanks. I just play it in family events, parties or friends get together. Not among strangers or general public. I might upload some audio files I see your left eye Oops my Paint skills suck:--D I am learning it frm my friend. He s a christian guy n plays in many prayer meetings and gets a good amount of pocket money frm d church. I m learning frm him. I think its a cool instrument and its a great way to impress girls. Believe me' date=' girls love this stuff. Grw long hair and show off wid a guitar. I dnt knw why our boys dnt consider this easy way to impress girls . My gf loves it.[/quote'] Haha it sure does come handy to charm her but it's more like cherry on the cake kinda quality. Playing guitar wouldn't itself attract girls. So do you play guitar n if you do, share ur guitar profile (which guitar, how long, favorite song to play etc etc)
The Outsider Posted March 13, 2013 Posted March 13, 2013 Brilliant stuff Rahul. Too bad my acoustic skills suck so bad that I don't think I will be able to contribute to this thread much in the near future.
veer Posted March 13, 2013 Posted March 13, 2013 Looks like I need to pick up that guitar again.. thanks to you rahulzzz... keep your gyaan flowing here..
PBN Posted March 13, 2013 Posted March 13, 2013 Rahul, how much was your guitar and which store did you get it from? Yeah, agree with the motivation and drive part. I've got a tumbi which I tried learning watching a few youtube videos and after a while I gave up.
EnterTheVoid Posted March 13, 2013 Posted March 13, 2013 My guitar: As for inspiration, check this out, best ****ing cover of Metallica ever! [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lrj5Nfw12IA&list=UUNSeAc2MVFXwBZRne-ZJ11A&index=29]メタル布教活動ã¨ã—ã¦Enter Sandmanã®ギターを弾ã„ã¦ã¿ãŸ - YouTube[/ame]
maniac Posted March 14, 2013 Posted March 14, 2013 Learning to play the guitar. ...can play happy birth day to u and sa re ga ma and do re ga so far
EnterTheVoid Posted March 15, 2013 Posted March 15, 2013 Maniac, if you can't play chords yet, play the root notes instead - i.e. f note instead of the f chord, a note instead of the a chord, e note etc. Chord progressions take time, it is a process that gets perfected through replication.