Crookbond Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 I meant the Property Fair was held in Bandra at the MMRDA grounds. :--D But the property rates in Mumbai, suburbs and all around were spectacular Even in place like Dombivali you can max buy a 1 BHK far away from the station - that will around 20-30 lakhs. Baaki sab :((
Lurker Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 Wahaan ke bhi prices bahut zyaada hai - abhi hi check karke aaya hu. :(( Really? Wow. I mean not really it shouldnt be a surprise and yet it is. What is the avg cost of a 2BHK in those areas? Does parking come standard or extra?
Magneto Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 Even in place like Dombivali you can max buy a 1 BHK far away from the station - that will around 20-30 lakhs. Baaki sab :(( Virar is going around 25-30 nowadays. :giggle:
Lurker Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 ^How are the property prices in the South of Mumbai? like Cuffe' date=Colaba etc.?I remember there was a huge influx of selling property in these areas and moving to Lokhandwala complexes in suburbs a few years back Those are relatively inexpensive. Napean Sea and Malabar Hills are cheaper. The price starts getting on the higher side once you move towards Jogeshwari and further towars Virar, the hub of Bombay.
maniac Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 Those are relatively inexpensive. Napean Sea and Malabar Hills are cheaper. The price starts getting on the higher side once you move towards Jogeshwari and further towars Virar' date= the hub of Bombay. Wow...things must have changed...Owning a property in Cuffe Parade/Colaba in my childhood was lequivalent of owning a condo in NYC.
Magneto Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 ^How are the property prices in the South of Mumbai? like Cuffe' date='Colaba etc.?I remember there was a huge influx of selling property in these areas and moving to Lokhandwala complexes in suburbs a few years back[/quote'] Just a few crores :giggle:
Magneto Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 Wow...things must have changed...Owning a property in Cuffe Parade/Colaba in my childhood was lequivalent of owning a condo in NYC. Lurker trolled you and you got trolled Serves you right for all that pavaarhouse trolling :finger:
maniac Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 Lurker trolled you and you got trolled Serves you right for all that pavaarhouse trolling :finger: No the reason why I kinda bought into what he was saying is that people were getting rid/selling of their south Mumbai property to move in these Lokhandwala complexes in Suburbs....sometimes the demographics of real estate does change....eg;when the new airport was constructed in Hyderabad,prices in and around that area shot up where as Begumpet area which was closer to the old airport became stagnant. As far as Powerhouse goes....I don't need to troll as you and everyone in their heart of hearts know SRH is the greatest bowling unit put together on Indian domestic soil :--D
Magneto Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 No the reason why I kinda bought into what he was saying is that people were getting rid/selling of their south Mumbai property to move in these Lokhandwala complexes in Suburbs....sometimes the demographics of real estate does change....eg;when the new airport was constructed in Hyderabad,prices in and around that area shot up where as Begumpet area which was closer to the old airport became stagnant. As far as Powerhouse goes....I don't need to troll as you and everyone in their heart of hearts know SRH is the greatest bowling unit put together on Indian domestic soil :--D Okay good good, still you should know that South Bombay is prime property ka baap in India. :--D
maniac Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 If I had the money to invest in real estate in a big city in India,I would go with Bangalore.....Mumbai is too risky to invest if you don't have a long term plan of settling there.
Yoda-esque Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 ^How are the property prices in the South of Mumbai? like Cuffe' date='Colaba etc.?I remember there was a huge influx of selling property in these areas and moving to Lokhandwala complexes in suburbs a few years back[/quote'] Doubt if theres even anything there to buy.:giggle: If so 5-20 crores
Lurker Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 If I had the money to invest in real estate in a big city in India' date='I would go with Bangalore.....Mumbai is too risky to invest if you don't have a long term plan of settling there.[/quote'] Bangalore is hardly safe bet. Right now there are no safe bets, real estate wise. In Delhi NCR area the cost has skyrocketed all the way to Bhiwadi to Mathura. These days you will get a 60 lakh flats in Vrindavan! The thread title should be changed to - How have those living abroad changed India. The NRI factor has played a big role in skyrocketing of the price. :((
Crookbond Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 Really? Wow. I mean not really it shouldnt be a surprise and yet it is. What is the avg cost of a 2BHK in those areas? Does parking come standard or extra? 2BHK will be anywhere between 60 - 90 Lakhs. Parking extra.
maniac Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 Bangalore is hardly safe bet. Right now there are no safe bets, real estate wise. In Delhi NCR area the cost has skyrocketed all the way to Bhiwadi to Mathura. These days you will get a 60 lakh flats in Vrindavan! The thread title should be changed to - How have those living abroad changed India. The NRI factor has played a big role in skyrocketing of the price. :(( Forget NRI's.....You will be surprised with the purchasing power of local techies and even call center /BPO employees. Gone are the days when people used to be excited about getting great staff quarters,now even salaries have increased and finance easily available which encourages real estate buying.
Magneto Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 Forget NRI's.....You will be surprised with the purchasing power of local techies and even call center /BPO employees. Gone are the days when people used to be excited about getting great staff quarters,now even salaries have increased and finance easily available which encourages real estate buying. :agree: It takes this pattern: a) Take a 20-25 lakh flat on a long-term EMI. b) Hold on to it for a few years and then sell it off. That 25 Lakh flat has become 50-60 by then. Buy a 1-crore flat now with another set of EMIs and continue the pattern. Not very difficult if you are finance-savvy.
veer Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 lalloo.. i am planning on moving in or around bombay area. The best way to invest is buy a place on loan in pune or new bombay (around belapur area).. and pay it up in 5-6 years... and watch the price go up.. (appreciation). Ofcourse, you gotta have a steady job/business to make it work..
Lurker Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 Forget NRI's.....You will be surprised with the purchasing power of local techies and even call center /BPO employees. Gone are the days when people used to be excited about getting great staff quarters,now even salaries have increased and finance easily available which encourages real estate buying. True that. I was simply commenting on how the trend started. Sometimes I wonder what the aam naukari-pesha aadmi does these days. Cant imagine a school teacher, a college professor buying a half decent makaan. No wonder PK is going all mental, I mean rental
EnterTheVoid Posted April 11, 2013 Posted April 11, 2013 I highly doubt there is a single person in ICF who would have the ability to buy a 1 bedroom apartment in Bandra or Juhu' date= nevermind in the more posh locales. Mumbai prices are nuts, it blew me away when i visited Mumbai for the first time in 99 and found my cousin's apartment costs the same per month in rent as mine in Seattle! Thank God her employer was paying the rent or else she'd have to spend like 150% of her income on rent! In Vancuover, we have a section of the North Vancouver city that is known as British Properties- its a big chunk of the city with estate-style villas and compounds located on beach front, with mountain as the backdrop. Just about the cheapest property there starts at 5 million dollars ( which would be a 2 bedroom rancher built in the 1920s) and averages about 25 million dollars. My buddy who runs a garbage disposal company once remarked that he drove up to this house in British properties that had a 100m long 'driveway' built out of jade. Jade! Now, i know jade is not the most expensive stone but 100m driveway of jade! Incidentally he remarked that the bunglow was a 8 bedroom replica of Victoria Memorial in Kolkata, which probably costs around 50-75 million for the whole property. Mumbai is just a city-sized version of British properties. You couldn't be more wrong.
King Tendulkar Posted April 12, 2013 Posted April 12, 2013 It is not a simple cut and dry one point question, it has multiple facets and depends completely on the person, his background, even where he lives (at home and abroad). An Indian moving to London will show different behavior than a fellow Indian moving to US. Here are some that hold true for me. 1) I have become more self-independent. Like most Indians living in US, I can cook/clean/laundry etc. Stuff that normally an average Indian male wont(not saying all Indian male don't do chores). If I was in India I would most likely have some kind of domestic help who would clean the utensils and wash the clothes etc. This may even hold true in UK and Australia to an extent. In US such services are pretty expensive and often folks do it themselves, which in my opinion is a good thing. 2) Interacted very closely with people of different cultures. That changes you completely. You realize that people are the same where ever you go. All this notion of whites behaving in certain way, Indians in another, Chinese in another is nonsense. There would be some generalization of course but dating an Indian woman is not different to a British woman. Actually this is perhaps no different in India as well (these days) when dating a Bengali woman and a Marathi just makes you realize they are both woman and not different entity. 3) Discouragement of melancholia. This is a tad hard to explain. But often while growing up in India I found that I may have missed the post by a whisker. As in coming second in 100m dash. And then lament over it whole year long. Would always have audience who would listen to me as well. In US I found that after the first few times my buddies would look me in the eye and go Dude, stop feeling sorry for yourself and do something about it. I think that helped me push myself a little bit. Just a few from top of my head. From the man who used to berate and slam any NRI indian abroad. Many would have been victim to his tirade for being NRI. Used to hammer them while always saying how he lived in India. While typing this BS he was actually a yank living in Ameeerika under George Bush. Can anyone take you seriusly!! What silly lies. Pathetic. Internet full of phoneys pretending to be something they are not. Lurker classic example
ravishingravi Posted April 12, 2013 Posted April 12, 2013 One of my known NRI folks bought a flat in Sobo at around 5.5 cr. 3 BHK. I thought it was good deal in prime area.