rkt.india Posted April 10, 2013 Author Posted April 10, 2013 So minor changes were made to Shukla's action at the pace foundation. Initially, he had a pronounced jump, would bowl from wide of the crease and angle it in. But keeping in mind the stress on the body the action was creating, Shukla was advised to go from a mixed action to a semi side-on one without compromising on pace. But was he always equipped with natural pace? Yes, says state-mate Aaron. Aaron recalls the 2008-09 season of the Cooch Behar Trophy when he and Shukla opened the bowling for Jharkhand. "We were both quick and were a handful during that season in which we were runners-up," Aaron said. And I still wonder why these two guys were never selected for any India U19 team.
gakgupta Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 Can't see playing for india. Injury - prone.....just like Aaron
Magneto Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 And I still wonder why these two guys were never selected for any India U19 team. Because performances in the Domestic U-19 tournament matters a lot in the selection of the U-19 teams. For that matters, they used to have a rule that even if an U-19 cricketer is doing well in Ranji, he HAS to play the U-19 tournament to be eligible for selection (for eg. Virat Kohli had to leave his Ranji Trophy matches and play in the U-19 domestic tournament to be eligible for selection in 2008.) Also, if they have pace but are generally wayward, they'll not be selected for the U-19 team.
rkt.india Posted April 10, 2013 Author Posted April 10, 2013 Because performances in the Domestic U-19 tournament matters a lot in the selection of the U-19 teams. For that matters, they used to have a rule that even if an U-19 cricketer is doing well in Ranji, he HAS to play the U-19 tournament to be eligible for selection (for eg. Virat Kohli had to leave his Ranji Trophy matches and play in the U-19 domestic tournament to be eligible for selection in 2008.) Also, if they have pace but are generally wayward, they'll not be selected for the U-19 team. Please check cricket archive. Both played in U19 Cooch Behar Trophy, did well too and and Jharkhand was runner up in 2008. In this year's U19 team, we had Ravikant Singh, Mohsin Sayyed, Kamal Passi, all wayward bowlers. Thing was They do not pick too many players from one state and because likes of Saurabh Tiwary was already there and Ishank Jaggi also in the mix, they could not pick others. There are always quota picks in selection. check this list. Shukla averaged 18, Aaron 16. http://cricketarchive.com/Archive/Events/11/Cooch_Behar_Trophy_2008-09/Bowling_by_Wickets.html
Magneto Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 Please check cricket archive. Both played in U19 Cooch Behar Trophy, did well too and and Jharkhand was runner up in 2008. In this year's U19 team, we had Ravikant Singh, Mohsin Sayyed, Kamal Passi, all wayward bowlers. Thing was They do not pick too many players from one state and because likes of Saurabh Tiwary was already there and Ishank Jaggi also in the mix, they could not pick others. There are always quota picks in selection. check this list. Shukla averaged 18, Aaron 16. http://cricketarchive.com/Archive/Events/11/Cooch_Behar_Trophy_2008-09/Bowling_by_Wickets.html RKT, you are looking at the wrong stats. This is the tournament of 2008-2009, and the U-19 WC we are talking about happened in the 2007-2008 season (in February 2008). The Indian pace bowling squad for the U-19 World Cup comprised Sid Kaul, Pradeep Sangwan, Ajitesh Argal and Duvvarapu Shivkumar. You need to look up the 2007 Cooch Behar Trophy (which happened in November 2007) and compare their performances maybe.
munafbhai Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 So bottomline is we have fast bowlers or atl east medium fast bowlers.........If they are trained correctly and given chances at right time we can have Mcgrath and Shaun Pollock type of bowlers who may not have been as quick as Lee or Marshall but were very effective in all parts of the world. Hopefully BCCI prepare a pool of bowlers like Shukla, Awana , Varoon, Umesh, Bhuvvi, Dhawel Kulkarni , Kaul , Ishwar pandey and others and get them trained by Pollock or Mcgrath and then rotate them and give proper chances in international era . Rotation will ensure they are not injured on regular basis due to heavy workload
Crookbond Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 The only thing one can announce in IPL circus is cheerleaders. I'm not saying R.Shukla is poor, I think he is a very good talent. But lets not hype this as "annouces"...lets wait and see how he announces in real cricket situation. I'm only saying lets not base anything based on IPL. IPL is just bollywood like tamasha stage. We can watch IPL, troll in IPL forums and have fun. But cannot make cricketing judgements and cricketing announcements based on that tournament. But yes - good find, and wish him all the best. How is this not a real cricket situation?
carnish Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 I went on to see the sppeds of bowlers in this IPL and saw Vinay Koomar hitting 142+ a couple of times ... Thats surprising ... Did that really happen, I mean how can he be so quick?? I mean yes he can get upto 136-138, sometimes, which we all know but 142???
Magneto Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 I went on to see the sppeds of bowlers in this IPL and saw Vinay Koomar hitting 142+ a couple of times ... Thats surprising ... Did that really happen' date=' I mean how can he be so quick?? I mean yes he can get upto 136-138, sometimes, which we all know but 142???[/quote'] VK has hit 150 in Australia as well :beee:
vvvslaxman Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 VK has hit 150 in Australia as well :beee: [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=23y1mU8U09o]VINAY KUMAR BOWLING AT A SPEED OF 200KMPS! IN IPL FASTEST BALL EVER.!.!.!.!.! - YouTube[/ame] someone has made this video lol
carnish Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 VK has hit 150 in Australia as well :beee: Really, never knew that. BTW, can you tell me how o find average speeds of bolwers in the IPL .. can't find a link.
kubrickian Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 I wonder why he stopped bowling that ball. :hysterical:
Magneto Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 ^^^ That is VK's legendary Malinga delivery. I hope it makes a comeback soon.
Magneto Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 Really' date=' never knew that. BTW, can you tell me how o find average speeds of bolwers in the IPL .. can't find a link.[/quote'] I :dontknow: RKT keeps track of all that here. PM him, be polite, and he may send you 9-10 links.
mastana Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 Yeh jo green color ke keeray hote hai na yeh bahut khatarnaak hote hai inhe apni g**** mein ghusne nahi dena chahiye. Yeh keeray kuch logo ki mein ghus chuke hai. Ab naya phaaast bowler agaya hai guru iski photu wotu banao scan karo, pant utaaro aur lag jao kaam pe pyaare. :two_thumbs_up:
ExpressPace Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 VK has hit 150 in Australia as well :beee: :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
vvvslaxman Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 Not sure about top 5. Shaun Tait, Mitchell Johnson, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel and Brett Lee have higher average speeds I believe. He bowled well in the last game. Hopefully, he can keep up that pace, even improve on it. But, with past experience of watching fast bowlers who slowed down considerably, I'm very skeptical. Apart from Umesh Yadav and Ishant to some extent none of our bowlers can match average speed of Australian pacers. Ishant even though has high clock speeds, ball comes at batsman much slower. Speed measuring technology is not exactly a reflection of how the batsman perceives it.
rkt.india Posted April 11, 2013 Author Posted April 11, 2013 Yeh jo green color ke keeray hote hai na yeh bahut khatarnaak hote hai inhe apni g**** mein ghusne nahi dena chahiye. Yeh keeray kuch logo ki mein ghus chuke hai. Ab naya phaaast bowler agaya hai guru iski photu wotu banao scan karo' date=' pant utaaro aur lag jao kaam pe pyaare. :two_thumbs_up:[/quote'] aap to pehle se hi lage huye ho photo laga ke.:winky:
rkt.india Posted April 11, 2013 Author Posted April 11, 2013 RKT, you are looking at the wrong stats. This is the tournament of 2008-2009, and the U-19 WC we are talking about happened in the 2007-2008 season (in February 2008). The Indian pace bowling squad for the U-19 World Cup comprised Sid Kaul, Pradeep Sangwan, Ajitesh Argal and Duvvarapu Shivkumar. You need to look up the 2007 Cooch Behar Trophy (which happened in November 2007) and compare their performances maybe. Even in 2007-2008, they had done very well. Rahul Shukla picked 25 wickets at an average of 13 and Aaron 19 wickets at 20. Rahul Shukla's best 8/34 was not surpassed by anyone in that season. I always maintained Rahul Shukla's performance was better than Aaron at junior level. Only one of the top wicket taker Argal played in 2008 WC, but not the top wicket taker Mohammad Mudassir from J&K, neither Bhuveneshwar Kumar, nor Abhimanyu Mithun or Koppala Achyutananda Reddy who all got more wickets than Ajitesh Argal and Kaul. Sangwan did not even play Cooch Behar trophy that year and still played U19 WC. Duwarapu Sivakumar had 4 wickets that season at 45. Now, you know selection ka khel, I guess, states quota. http://cricketarchive.com/Archive/Events/6/Cooch_Behar_Trophy_2007-08/Bowling_by_Wickets.html