Sreesanth, Chandilla and Ankit Chavan arrested for spot fixing in IPL

^ 2 More weeks? Judicial custody? How can court extend that much time without any proof :dontknow:
Police custody max 15 days Judicial custody max 60 days (for collecting evidence) also depends on severity of the crime
^ 2 More weeks? Judicial custody? How can court extend that much time without any proof :dontknow:
How do you know there's no proof ?
Not me. CSK fans argue like that, so after reading same thing 100 times i am also slowly believeing they are right.
It doesn't mean they have no proof, it just means the Mumbai Police doesn't have enough proof to convict them. Custody is taken for many reason: 1. Collecting evidence 2. Stopping the accused from destroying evidence. 3. Prevent accused from absconding and so on
Not me. CSK fans argue like that, so after reading same thing 100 times i am also slowly believeing they are right.
Joseph Goebbels :cantstop:
It doesn't mean they have no proof, it just means the Mumbai Police doesn't have enough proof to convict them.
Huh, how do you know they don't have evidence for conviction? Court never allows extended custody for so long without enough evidence
Huh' date=' [b']how do you know they don't have evidence for conviction? Court never allows extended custody for so long without enough evidence
If police feels that they have enough evidence to convict them, police will not ask court for custody. They will charge sheet and file a CASE against all of them. (Both Delhi and Mumbai police) When police feel that they have a air-tight case the police will stop asking for custody.... Purpose of custody is to collect evidence and make the case stronger against the accused who have done something criminally culpable based on prima facie evidence provided.
May be they have evidence in particular cases and investigating some other cases :dontknow: 14 days judicial custody for a high profile VIP is not common in India.
True... I never said they didnt have proof or evidence. How much they have? I dont know, my guess is as good as yours. I was only saying they are building the case stronger because all of them are high profile guys. If they dont, all of them will come out easy.
There are many things custody is used for. For example, (as in this case) they will confronted by a couple of new bookies they have arrested just yesterday. They will also use it to garner more leads and name of others involved. All this takes time But also remember, without sufficient proof, court does not extend custody just like that. See how they refused to extend Sreesanth and the other two player's custody?
Exactly what I meant when I said prima facie evidence to extend custody in my post above..... Your are right on both points.

Bookies lose Rs. 5,000 crore as punters refuse to pay for 'fixed IPL matches' http://www.ndtv.com/article/cities/bookies-lose-rs-5-000-crore-as-punters-refuse-to-pay-for-fixed-ipl-matches-374574?pfrom=home-otherstories

The recent crackdown on the spot-fixing racket has caused losses worth Rs. 5,000 crore to bookies in Mumbai, Thane and Navi Mumbai, sources have revealed. Punters, who had earlier placed bets on matches, have now turned the tables on the bookies, refusing to pay them their dues, based on the logic that the matches were fixed. In fact, sources have revealed that a Bollywood actor's mother lost Rs. 7 crore after placing bets on the IPL matches, and still owes the whopping sum to bookies. Speaking on condition of anonymity, a prominent Mumbai-based bookie, who receives bets in Mumbai and Delhi, claimed that the betting ring in Mumbai, Navi Mumbai and Thane is populated by as many as 200 women. Bookies, forced underground since the spot-fixing scam broke, have been making calls to these betters who lost money on bets placed for IPL matches, in hope of exacting their ill-gotten gains from the clients. The task however is turning out to be harder than they had anticipated. Their clients have now gone on the offensive. Refusing to pay for their losses, these betters claim that the bookies cheated them by taking bets from them and then fixing the matches to rob them of profits. A source revealed that four days ago, a bookie approached one such better at her residence in Bhandup. Asked to cough up Rs. 17 lakh that she had lost in matches, the woman refused, saying that she had no idea that the matches were being fixed. When the bookie in question threatened retribution from his underworld connections, the woman retaliated by threatening to lodge a rape case against him. The bookie was left with no option but to retreat.
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Press Trust of India ‏@PTI_News 3m Actor Vindoo Dara Singh, CSK team principal Gurunath Meiyappan and six others granted bail by Mumbai court.
heard they got bail for rs 25' date='000:haha:[/quote'] BAIL on BOND of Rs 25,000:haha: Hopefully Sreeshanth will also get bail and this farce will end. lets go onto to CT.....