FischerTal Posted August 25, 2013 Posted August 25, 2013 Venky Prasad has better bowling average than Ishant. Samaraweera has better batting average than Aravinda De Silva. what is that supposed to prove? :hmmm:
The Outsider Posted August 25, 2013 Posted August 25, 2013 what is that supposed to prove? :hmmm: That Ishant is phhassht and sh!t. :hysterical:
FischerTal Posted August 25, 2013 Posted August 25, 2013 That Ishant is phhassht and sh!t. :hysterical: India's pace spearhead
div Posted August 25, 2013 Posted August 25, 2013 what is that supposed to prove? :hmmm: U can't claim quality of bowling has declined :winky:
G_B_ Posted August 25, 2013 Posted August 25, 2013 One thing we can all agree on. Whenever KT makes a thread it gets lots of replies for some reason or the other. ICF must give KT a special honour.
div Posted August 25, 2013 Posted August 25, 2013 Kapil All-time XII: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Virender Sehwag, Mohammed Azharuddin, Yuvraj Singh, Virat Kohli, Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh, Javagal Srinath, Zaheer Khan. 12th Man: Ravindra Jadeja. :cantstop: Sourav Ganguly's ODI XI: Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni, Kapil Dev, Ravindra Jadeja, :cantstop: Anil Kumble/Javagal Srinath, Zaheer Khan. Quality of cricket was so good in the past.
AnkurUpadhyay Posted August 25, 2013 Posted August 25, 2013 and btw I knew that I had this debate before a few years back on another forum. As per the Worlds Fastest Bowlers Competition 1979 , I dont see many bowlers (barring Thompson) bowling an average speed of 140 in this event. Each got 8 balls. So they were trying their fastest for a really short period of time. From what i know the methods used in this is more accurate than speed guns we had at the ground. (being more of a lab set up) bPDW7hj1yfs So its fair to say that the pacers of the past were certainly not in the Lee Akther bracket barring Thompson. This test was conducted in 1979. Thomson had lost a lot of pace by then because of a serious shoulder injury in 1976-77. Every player of that era admit that Thomson was way quicker before that injury. He was the fastest bowler ever and that came naturally to him. The fact that he could generate that much pace from such a short run up and unusual action proves that. Holding, Roberts and Lillee had lost pace too by then. All of them were slower than their peak.
Crookbond Posted August 25, 2013 Posted August 25, 2013 Two names which does not crop up in this discussion as much as they should are - John Snow, Charlie Griffith and Roy Gilchrist. They would give Thomson a good run for his money.
AnkurUpadhyay Posted August 25, 2013 Posted August 25, 2013 Two names which does not crop up in this discussion as much as they should are - John Snow' date=' Charlie Griffith and Roy Gilchrist. They would give Thomson a good run for his money.[/quote'] Snow was never an out and out express pace bowler. Roy Gilchrist was bloody quick despite being only 5'8''. But according to many former greats, frank tyson was the only player(apart from lee, akhtar and tait) that can give thomson a run for his money, in terms of pure pace.
Hafeez Posted August 26, 2013 Posted August 26, 2013 Pakistan Fast bowling Standard also has gone down Wasim.Waqar.Imran.Aqib to Junaid,Irfan,Gul now
Crookbond Posted August 26, 2013 Posted August 26, 2013 Pakistan Fast bowling Stander also has gone down Wasim.Waqar.Imran.Aqib to Junaid,Irfan,Gul now Sikander aur Bander suna hai, yeh Stander kya hota hai :dontknow:
G_B_ Posted August 26, 2013 Posted August 26, 2013 This test was conducted in 1979. Thomson had lost a lot of pace by then because of a serious shoulder injury in 1976-77. Every player of that era admit that Thomson was way quicker before that injury. He was the fastest bowler ever and that came naturally to him. The fact that he could generate that much pace from such a short run up and unusual action proves that. Holding' date=' Roberts and Lillee had lost pace too by then. All of them were slower than their peak.[/quote'] 8 balls with plenty of time between balls. It should not have been an issue. Dont tell me that Holding was somehow lost pace in 1979 he was 25 years old back then. Why do i get a feeling that people always fall for this old is gold hype?
Fontaine Posted August 26, 2013 Posted August 26, 2013 Then why don't we have batsmen averaging 60-70 if pitches are the main reason? Just accept it' date=' that the overall quality of cricket is down the toilet.[/quote'] Yes and no. Batsmen now just don't fear fast bowlers because they practically come out wearing a suit of armor. That simply wasn't the case years ago when batsmen routinely came into the dressing room with bruises all over their bodies. Fear of getting hit was a huge factor in scoring rates and wickets. That's just one factor off the top of my head and there's simply no way to fairly compare bowlers like Zaheer Khan, Jimmy Anderson etc to other previous bowlers from the 60's/70's. You don't need high profile ex players etc to tell you that. If you've ever bowled a serious bouncer to some sucker who's not wearing a helmet then their reaction will tell you everything you need to know about the difference.
thongale Posted August 28, 2013 Posted August 28, 2013 Gilchrist's problem was far from chucking. It was beamers and bouncers that made him a dangerous bowler
AnkurUpadhyay Posted August 28, 2013 Posted August 28, 2013 8 balls with plenty of time between balls. It should not have been an issue. Dont tell me that Holding was somehow lost pace in 1979 he was 25 years old back then. Why do i get a feeling that people always fall for this old is gold hype? Thomson suffered a serious shoulder injury and as a result of that injury, he lost pace. As simple as that. How could rest help him in regaining his pace?