Sachin to retire after 200th test

Scarves

He's posting in anger of course. I'm British' date= a massive tennis fan and I support WBA in football. He knows nothing about me and is just having a typical racist dig.
Joke of the day! you've made it very obvious so far :hysterical:
yes' date=' British Pakistani.[/quote'] Nationality , ethnicity doesn't even matter. Are we this small? We have the option of countering his points, orignoring his posts. Shouldn't do personal attacks, shouldn't even report the posts coz they are relevant to the topic.
Nationality ' date= ethnicity doesn't even matter. Are we this small? We have the option of countering his points, orignoring his posts. Shouldn't do personal attacks, shouldn't even report the posts coz they are relevant to the topic.
When it comes to India & Pak, and especially on a cricket forum, it does matter. Are we this blind?
When it comes to India & Pak' date=' and especially on a cricket forum, it [i']does matter. Are we this blind?
So what if I as an indian post the same thing? Do you then choose some other form of personal attack? An unsolicited advice - the anger(or whatever sentiment) over this non-issue is not worth it.:)

Anyone can see that Tendulkar was one of the elite batsmen of his generation ahead of Lara, Ponting and Kallis if not on a par. But as with Ponting, Tendulkar continued to play for an extra 25 tests. 25 Tests which he gave little in terms of runs, wickets and contributions on the field. Any other player with the level of performances he provided the last few years would not have been shown anywhere near the same mercy. Just because a great player retires, doesn't mean you can ignore the glaring obvious facts, he continued to play knowing the selectors dare not anger the public by dropping him. A good retirement is one where people are saying why did he go, he had possibly some more left in him, not in this case where many (particularly non Sachin fans) are saying it's several months too late.

Agree with your post except that sachin played 8-10 tests too many (but not 25 tests too many).
So what if I as an indian post the same thing? Do you then choose some other form of personal attack? An unsolicited advice - the anger(or whatever sentiment) over this non-issue is not worth it.:)
Yep. And where did I get personal with Bones?
To be honest where him and Ponting should have retired and all this is hindsight, specially the exact no. like 25, you are coming with. Retiring when you are on top and can contribute more is more selfish. Having fear of getting your personal legacy tarnished is cowardly. Sachin tried his best and contributed for India, as much as he could. Also he might have failed last few series, but I can claim without even watching that his efforts didn't lack anything. On a personal note, pretty slimy of you that in a career of 200 tests, all you are picking on is last few series where he failed.

Back to Topic.. When I started following SRT in early 90s, my first impression was his 'Bindas Attitude'... koyi bhi bowler ho, todne ka usse..

To be honest where him and Ponting should have retired and all this is hindsight, specially the exact no. like 25, you are coming with. Retiring when you are on top and can contribute more is more selfish. Having fear of getting your personal legacy tarnished is cowardly. Sachin tried his best and contributed for India, as much as he could. Also he might have failed last few series, but I can claim without even watching that his efforts didn't lack anything. On a personal note, pretty slimy of you that in a career of 200 tests, all you are picking on is last few series where he failed.
Jab bas ka hi nahi tha to effort put in karne se kya hoga? Putting effort didn't do much, he didn't have it in him anymore. Imo, england and aus. tour were acceptable but he should have realized it by then and retired fter aus. tour.
Agree with your post except that sachin played 8-10 tests too many (but not 25 tests too many).
25 was an exagerration, just done a quick review based on the stats, he played about 12-16 matches too many. If you give 3 of them due to bad form as everyone suffers that, then it comes down to 13. So Tendulkar payed 13 games too many, that's 4 series in this day and age. In 5 years time not many will care, heck I won't care, but when a player's retirement is still breaking news on most channels, it's one of the foremost questions.
Jab bas ka hi nahi tha to effort put in karne se kya hoga? Putting effort didn't do much, he didn't have it in him anymore. Imo, england and aus. tour were acceptable but he should have realized it by then and retired fter aus. tour.
haan use raat ko sapna aa jana chahiye tha ki main kal jaldi out ho jaaunga, isliye retirement le leta hun.
On a personal note' date=' pretty slimy of you that in a career of 200 tests, all you are picking on is last few series where he failed.[/quote'] As I said before I won't remember his bad performances at the end of his career in 5 years time. In 5 years time, like all cricket fans I will immediately acknowledge Sachin's run making records. His legacy on Indian cricket. But right now, when he's still got 2 more games to play, that's not what some people think.
haan use raat ko sapna aa jana chahiye tha ki main kal jaldi out ho jaaunga' date=' isliye retirement le leta hun.[/quote'] But its not like the selectors are gonna drop him, the realization did finally come. It came too late is what we are saying.

No player can/will ever have all the records to his name. But this one guy has most batting records to his name.... Good that Mumbaites are going to see him at Wankhede. I am feeling jealous.

Pretty rich for a paki to say after Imran has retired twice, miandad came back for 96 world cup (and boy did he contribute), also their current star keeps taking conditional retirements or sabbaticals.... the truth is our neighbors have no classy men and hence do not get any respect globally, thus the jealousy over tributes for sachin... you will notice talks about kallis, lara and everyone else but it's actually only jealousy