SLICKR392 Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 dude rohit is opener in odis...there is a huge difference .. and both have not opened for their ranji side for atleast 2 seasons now! now vijay was comfy maybe he s still comfy and maybe now he will score some runs for us this time because he is comfy? stop these ridiculous arguments trying to down play a test 100! and rohit was equally bad even in odis against tsotsobe and did pujara crossed 10 runs in that series in tests? based on 1-2 matches he is not even good enough to be in squad after making great comeback with 2 match winning 100's ? while rohit and rahane who are not even openers are good enough to replace him for no reason ? i don't rate any of these guys in swing conditons to be very honest but vijay deserves his fair chance and rohit and rahane deserve chance in middle order if its vacant and not opening the inning replacing an in form batsman . I have said this before than Vijay deserves a chance as he scored runs against Aussies but I don't want him in SA, but you do, and we both haven't got a solid reason why they should be playing there. Vijay scored runs in dust bowls and failed in A tours unlike Rohit. wah! rahane could not even score runs against lame aussie side! kya logic hai! Logic? Picking a batsman after benching him for an year, selecting him on a topsy turvy wicket and expecting him to score straight away is logic?
saneindian Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 Vijay will hit a 100 again to silence his detractors like he did vs Aussies.
Old guy Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 I have said this before than Vijay deserves a chance as he scored runs against Aussies but I don't want him in SA, but you do, and we both haven't got a solid reason why they should be playing there. Vijay scored runs in dust bowls and failed in A tours unlike Rohit. Logic? Picking a batsman after benching him for an year, selecting him on a topsy turvy wicket and expecting him to score straight away is logic? he got only one chance to bat in a tour no ? i have very solid reason ..he is only opener available and is scoring ton after ton in chances he got after come back.. i asked you to name atleast one opener and you named 2 middle order batsmen that is enough to prove my point.. as hard as it might be to accept but vijay is best we got right now and he deserves a decent go before getting dropped and dropping him for middle order batsmen who just you "think " will do well is BS as you accepted that he will score runs even at home against windies. he has not even failed yet and he deserves to drop for some one who has not even succeeded yet..yeah ..sorry but as much as i hate vijay think he has earned his place for south africa.. now lets see what happened with vijay we always ignore what he went through.. he got chance again against australia and failed in first test.. pressure on him in 2nd match with other opener gone and he responds by playing with good defense and scoring a big 100 while playing inside his limitations .. does same in 3rd test ..where dhawan debuts and in last test he atleast gave decent start with a 50 and was our top scorer in first inning on a rank turner and only guy to score 50 in game for us other than pujara and fluke by siddle.. now after thee performances you want him dropped ? yeah they were at home but we lost at home before he was opener and his starts played a huge role in us winning .. just because he looks like shyte in odis and t20's does not change the fact that guy showed he can defend session after session unlike any opener before him in last 2 years and score a 100 and give us a start. rahane came in same match and got out cheaply in first inning and slogged in 2nd under pressure.. now that does not means he is bad player but it does not means he deserves to open either.:winky: and rohit is not an test opener so lets not even discuss about this ,ok ?
Laaloo Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 Vijay will hit a 100 again to silence his detractors like he did vs Aussies. and then fail in South AFrica and then again in England Impressive :clap:
Old guy Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 Vijay will hit a 100 again to silence his detractors like he did vs Aussies. they all know he will against windies and guess what they want him to fail so that he does not go to south africa...awesome fans we have and his replacements are middle order batsmen
Old guy Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 and then fail in South AFrica and then again in England Impressive :clap: since you know everything tell me result so i can bet :icflove:
MCcricket Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 I hope Ishant is ignored similarly for his own good , Shami, BK, Umesh, Pandey or Pankaj should be selected
Laaloo Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 since you know everything tell me result so i can bet :icflove: 2-0 5-0
G_B_ Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 i don't really give a damn about opening in limited over cricket as its totally different thing and for some reason people are ignoring this obvious difference . and rahane opened for mumbai at start of his career and later on got middle order position and has been playing in middle order even with sachin and rohit both playing for mumbai and openers injured so its very clear that he is no longer considered as an opener even by his ranji side . now sehag wants middle order positon so he is batting (or was ) for delhi in middle order ..maybe rahane needs to do same wth mumbai ? umm again some totally redundant logic. Mumbai shunted him down the order because they wanted to solid their middle order after the openers had blunted the ball. IE they believe Rahane is the best person to cash in once the new ball is over. Which is why Rahane had come in at 3 or 4 as per the situation. Clearly Mumbai are there to win and not there to simply provide india who they want. Not at that stage with Rahane when he was not on the India radar. The puzzle fits differently for different teams. IF mumbai all of a sudden get a wave of strong middle order players then Rahane will open again. I dont think Shikar Dhawan was an opener. Only started about 3 odd years ago (maybe Sane can confirm, not sure on this). Thats like saying i did a BSc in computer engineering and did a masters in economics. So i forget everything i did on computers in my BSc. I mean look at his technique. He can handle the new ball.
saneindian Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 and then fail in South AFrica and then again in England Impressive :clap: Will do better than Sehwag did :--D
tweaker Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 Selectors should experiment against WI.as they r not a strong team in Indian condition
SLICKR392 Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 they all know he will against windies and guess what they want him to fail so that he does not go to south africa...awesome fans we have and his replacements are middle order batsmen Why is it so funny? There aren't such rules that middle order batsmen can't open. Whatever, lets bump this thread after the SA seires. :elefant:
G_B_ Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 In any case this discussion is meaningless barring Injruy Vijay and dhawan will be our opning combo. If vijay cashes in he will be there probably for the sa tour atleast. meaningless to speculate.
SLICKR392 Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 he got only one chance to bat in a tour no ? i have very solid reason ..he is only opener available and is scoring ton after ton in chances he got after come back.. i asked you to name atleast one opener and you named 2 middle order batsmen that is enough to prove my point.. as hard as it might be to accept but vijay is best we got right now and he deserves a decent go before getting dropped and dropping him for middle order batsmen who just you "think " will do well is BS as you accepted that he will score runs even at home against windies. he has not even failed yet and he deserves to drop for some one who has not even succeeded yet..yeah ..sorry but as much as i hate vijay think he has earned his place for south africa.. now lets see what happened with vijay we always ignore what he went through.. he got chance again against australia and failed in first test.. pressure on him in 2nd match with other opener gone and he responds by playing with good defense and scoring a big 100 while playing inside his limitations .. does same in 3rd test ..where dhawan debuts and in last test he atleast gave decent start with a 50 and was our top scorer in first inning on a rank turner and only guy to score 50 in game for us other than pujara and fluke by siddle.. now after thee performances you want him dropped ? yeah they were at home but we lost at home before he was opener and his starts played a huge role in us winning .. just because he looks like shyte in odis and t20's does not change the fact that guy showed he can defend session after session unlike any opener before him in last 2 years and score a 100 and give us a start. rahane came in same match and got out cheaply in first inning and slogged in 2nd under pressure.. now that does not means he is bad player but it does not means he deserves to open either.:winky: and rohit is not an test opener so lets not even discuss about this ,ok ? Why can't he be one? What's this big deal about a middle order batsmen opening? Its not the first time in cricket. It will be fun seeing Mooli's defensive bhangra against Styen and co.
Laaloo Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 Will do better than Sehwag did :--D well that doesnt mean much doing better than a king pair
Old guy Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 Why can't he be one? What's this big deal about a middle order batsmen opening? Its not the first time in cricket. It will be fun seeing Mooli's defensive bhangra against Styen and co. well you can laugh at our opener or support him :winky: btw it is not the first time but normally people like dravid did it with tight technique also it will be short term soluton and he is no genius against new ball anyway and if it was me i will nevr play him higher than number 5 in tests cos that is what his technque is suited for otherwise we have already seen him face steyn earl in ipl and sachin had to go talk to him after he missed 4 balls in row .. he is never going to be natural opener in test ..not with his shots he can be very good number 5 though
Old guy Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 Why is it so funny? There aren't such rules that middle order batsmen can't open. Whatever, lets bump this thread after the SA seires. :elefant: why not open with ashwin and jadeja.? there is no rule against it but it is obviously not a good idea and any one who has eeen cricket knows this that cases like sehwag are exception rather than rule ..and even he never performed well on green tracks .
Old guy Posted October 29, 2013 Posted October 29, 2013 i can understand if it is some one like pujara or dravid in reserve or in form gauti but here we are talking about cricketers ho have there own share of problems against moving ball .. did u see rahane bat against jogi today ? seriously these guys have future in team but that position is not opening and it will only harm them more then good.. example would be vvs laxman who flourished only in middle order and he wasm uch better against pace then rohit anyway..