cricketman Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 Yes' date=' you did. You always did. Hell, that trend continues in your playing XI as well.[/quote'] lmfaoooooooo *pwnt* This guy won't have the guts to voice his opinion out in public, everything he does in the UK depends on an Indian (including his education, healthcare etc that he described a few posts above).
Vijy Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 Er... is this a cricket thread or what? The fact is: both England and India are poor travellers. Now, I suppose someone will trot out the win against India in India by England. Similarly, Indian supporters will prob point to the 1-1 draw in SA 3 years ago or something. But the fact is that nearly all teams (bar SA) are poor travellers. See the stats as given by Rajesh on cricinfo for 2013. For this reason, I do feel that we will lose against England, though I expect some of out batsmen to do well.
alexander Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 lmfaoooooooo *pwnt* This guy won't have the guts to voice his opinion out in public, everything he does in the UK depends on an Indian (including his education, healthcare etc that he described a few posts above). :hysterical: There was no Indians in my prep school. My doctor is not an Indian. No Indian professors taught me at university and I work for an English owned firm. So no facts - but well done. Get over yourselves mate, the rest of us already did. :two_thumbs_up:
alexander Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 He can support any team he wants' date=' so can you. Its a freaking sport, not war. Just because you live in England or have a British passport does not mean you have to support British teams in sport![/quote'] See, I think if you were born here it does obligate you to be loyal.
SLICKR392 Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 See' date=' I think if you were born here it does obligate you to be loyal.[/quote'] Being loyal or obligated to a country and supporting a particular team in sports are two different things. Learn the difference, bud and stick to cricket on this thread.
Sarkar Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 Celebrate that identity in Calcutta then - not in Cornwall. :two_thumbs_up: I can celebrate where ever i like first stop poaching players from South Africa and Ireland
Sarkar Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 So much for being British majority of Indians and Pakistanis celebrate their Independence Day over St George,s Day.
Sarkar Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZmMX-DEs2M]India World Cup 2011 Celebration, Soho Road, Birmingham, England - YouTube[/ame] Alexander this is what we Indians do when India wins
Sarkar Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 Ingrates. British Raj looted India for many hundreds of year but never acknowledged the wealth amassed from Indians talk about being ungrateful
Raghav_12 Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 India have no chance is England I also would have thought so if I had not followed this Ashes. Now I feel if there is a place outside sub-continent where India have a chance, then it is England only :giggle:
CG Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 I also would have thought so if I had not followed this Ashes. Now I feel if there is a place outside sub-continent where India have a chance' date=' then it is England only :giggle:[/quote'] :hysterical: there would be no england team by the end of ashes.
Vijy Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 See' date=' I think if you were born here it does obligate you to be loyal.[/quote'] Ah, the familiar strains of patriotism - a most ubiquitous malady.
The Outsider Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 I also would have thought so if I had not followed this Ashes. Now I feel if there is a place outside sub-continent where India have a chance' date=' then it is England only :giggle:[/quote'] LOL! Got to agree.
Muloghonto Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 See' date=' I think if you were born here it does obligate you to be loyal.[/quote'] Your depth of thinking then never matured past GCSE levels. Its a pity when people think supporting sporting teams is an obligation. :haha:
Marut Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 See' date=' I think if you were born here it does obligate you to be loyal.[/quote'] Sportsmanship is to appreciate sporting talent, wherever you see it. No need to invoke patriotism here. Here is something in a lighter mood, from an English writer- Samuel Johnson - "Patriotism is the last refuge of the scoundrel.":haha:
vayuu1 Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 Being loyal or obligated to a country and supporting a particular team in sports are two different things. Learn the difference' date=' bud and stick to cricket on this thread.[/quote'] Oh rehne de yaar kisko samjha raha hai, Kuch logo tattey chatney ki aadat hoti hai. Or should I say, Kuch logo main khada Baal hai.
adi B Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 predictions b4 the series- cook wont be the captain kp dropped from the side anderson retirement prior retirement
adi B Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 kellogs yet again with a "bait thread" :cantstop:
special K Posted January 4, 2014 Author Posted January 4, 2014 Gentlemen, I have no problem with British of indian ancestry supporting India. Just I don't like the hypocrisy. Graeme Smith is an Englishman born in SA. He chose to represent his place of birth, but clearly his name tell you he's as English as Jonathan Trott. KP has English ancestry and chose to play fro England. Now if Monty had chose to play for India as one of your better tailenders, I wouldn't have had a problem with it. England dominates cricket anyway. Aussies are poms with bleached blond hair, so we always own the ashes.