Rahul Gandhi wants job reservations in the private sector

Congress to push for reservation in private sector in its manifesto? The Congress is expected to push for reservation in the private sector in its election manifesto for the 2014 Lok Sabha election on Wednesday. It is believed that after pursuing economic liberalisation under Manmohan Singh for a decade, the Congress is intending to go back to the left-of-centre politics under the leadership of Rahul Gandhi, the party vice-president and its future leader. The Scheduled Castes Cell of the AICC headed by Rahul's close aide K Raju is learnt to have made a strong pitch for a legislation to have a mandatory quota for the SCs/STs in the private sector. The party is pushing for a strong affirmative action in the private sector to make up for its failure in job creation on the eve of the elections, analysts said. But the party will be doing it at the cost of bypassing meritocracy. Nandan Nilekani, the party candidate contesting from Bangalore South, has also backed the idea of reservation in job sector, stirring up a controversy. [Read here] The Congress manifesto will also widen the ambit of rights-based legislations to include healthcare and employment. It could also include a resolve to fight corruption, uplift 70 crore people falling between the middle class and below poverty line, women empowerment and increase their presence in politics. The party may also propose 20 per cent reservation for women in police and judiciary. The manifesto will be released by party chief Sonia Gandhi in the presence of several party leaders.
Read more at: http://news.oneindia.in/new-delhi/is-congress-pushing-for-reservation-private-sector-in-its-manifesto-lse-1418546.html Wonder where the general category guy goes now.

Rahul Gandhi wants job reservations in the private sector We should have 20% reservation for people who are NOT Muslim, sc, st,obc etc as that's what these netas want at the end of the day. I was watching lalu and he wants govt to redistribute land and wealth so I'm not too shocked at this chutiap

So reservations in Private sector added to Empowering Women and Youth :woot: Time to buy Vote ink eraser liquid (Can I buy it on amazon :pray:)and tickets to India to be in time to vote a few times for Rahul Baba :woot: :woot:

They should do away with reservations it's been 50 yrs. they served their purpose.
There should still be reservations in the education sector not the private or public sector, but they should apply for the economically under-privileged and should not be caste-based. And those reservations should also go away eventually. Where does a poor person from the general category go? Why does a rich and influential person from a lower caste get these benefits?
DO you think there is a rational thinking behind the continuation of reservations? Politics in India at the grass root level and I am not talking about BJP--Congress high-command level but more local and state level are caste-based which builds these big parties in the first place..the sad truth is they will never go away
DO you think there is a rationale thinking behind the continuation of reservations? Politics in India at the grass root level and I am not talking about BJP--Congress high-command level but more local and state level are caste-based which builds the big parties in the first place..the sad truth is they will never go away
I know that. What is worrisome is that it is only getting worse. Forget about eliminating some of the existing reservations, they are planning to add more.
I know that. What is worrisome is that it is only getting worse. Forget about eliminating some of the existing reservations' date=' they are planning to add more.[/quote'] Maybe Indian based Conglomerates like say Reliance or Tata might cut a deal for their gains and accept the reservation policy but I don't see MNC's play ball while setting up shop in India. Most Indian based companies may not have reservations but most of them work on Sifarshi based than merit-based,so won't make a huge difference.

:facepalm: Phirse wohi chewtiyaap! But here's the thing which has always amazed me, lets say you are beneficiary of this policy. You know it would be wrong/incorrect etc. if you are economically well-to-do will you accept this "favour"? If not, are you as equally retarded as the creators of the policy?

This is not going to happen.Such a legislation will be challenged in the court and done away with.You cannot ask any person who he recruits who he rejects that is encroaching on one's fundamental rights and anyways the corporate lobby will oppose this and this will be closed.