hhunaeh Posted April 25, 2014 Posted April 25, 2014 Election Commission admits mistake on its part over Mumbai electoral roll fiasco "We can't stop people from going to court but once again I apologies and reiterate that we can't do anything about this now," the Election Commissioner said, adding that a part of the onus is also on the voters as they should have pointed out the error on March 9, the day designated to verify whether a voter's name figured on the final voters' list
scorpio90 Posted April 25, 2014 Author Posted April 25, 2014 Regarding, deletion of names, there is a process to follow. What has happened in MH atlest is that the said process was not foolowed. The setup is as follows: Each district has an "Election Branch". This branch has a Deputy Election Officer (DEO). He/she works in co-ordination with the District Collector. The DEO is a supervisory post onlee. The tehsildar and staff of the collectorate make up the other members of this "Election Branch". During non-election period, the staff of the "Election Branch" has the task of upgdation, addition and deletion of the electoral rolls. The actual process is: 1. Staff visit the houses in all assembly constituency to physically verify if the voter is present or not. 2. If persons present, no change. 3. If not present, should verify with neighbours, which is never done. 4. If not present and neighbours don't have any info, paste the notice on the front door. The notice states present your documents or yourselves before the authority before so and so date. 5. At the end of such drive, a newspaper advertisement is to be placed informing about dates for updation of rolls. 6. If person does not present himself or list of documents, name is deleted. There are many cases where names of some of the family members are present but others are deleted. If process was followed, this can never occur. Hence, the inference of "arbitrary deletion to suit particular party." With the District Collector and staff being state appointees, any malice on the part of the party in power can be performed by the Election Branch.
Crookbond Posted April 25, 2014 Posted April 25, 2014 The problem is Step 1 - "Staff visit house". So many times has the BLO visited my house during the day and I'm not at work. There has to be some other solution.
diga Posted April 25, 2014 Posted April 25, 2014 The problem is Step 1 - "Staff visit house". So many times has the BLO visited my house during the day and I'm not at work. There has to be some other solution. you mean at work.. :--D
scorpio90 Posted April 25, 2014 Author Posted April 25, 2014 Vinita Deshmukh @VinitaDeshmukh 23m P I Sawant says he cannot take FIR and he has already got statement from EO that procedure was adopted. i again read out @Dev_Fadnavis tweet
asterix Posted April 25, 2014 Posted April 25, 2014 Election Commission admits mistake on its part over Mumbai electoral roll fiasco What if the Name was in the list when checked by the voter and then removed later? There needs to be an investigation. How can EC wash it's hands and say, "we can't do anything about it?". These are thousands of names not being in the list.
scorpio90 Posted April 25, 2014 Author Posted April 25, 2014 Sachin Kalbag Editor MidDay Per EC's data, the following numbers were deleted from voters' list: Thane: 6.7 lakh, Mumbai: 3.22 lakh. Maharashtra total: 13.29 lakh
scorpio90 Posted April 25, 2014 Author Posted April 25, 2014 rajpurohit BJYM® @ravindra1044 1h Not surprising that Amit Deshmukh s/o Vilasrao Deshmukh,has the contract of digitization of Maharashtra Voter List #ECActNow @rajuparulekar
scorpio90 Posted April 25, 2014 Author Posted April 25, 2014 Missing voter names: Illegal deletions, modifications of voter list galore http://moneylife.in/article/missing-voter-names-illegal-deletions-modifications-of-voter-list-galore/37147.html
Sachin=GOD Posted April 25, 2014 Posted April 25, 2014 Hopefully we will know who is behind all these. hahahahaha
Yoda-esque Posted April 25, 2014 Posted April 25, 2014 OK, Consider the names deleted. But how does one know what names to delete?
Number Posted April 25, 2014 Posted April 25, 2014 OK, Consider the names deleted. But how does one know what names to delete? Mostly middle class.
Sachin=GOD Posted April 25, 2014 Posted April 25, 2014 OK, Consider the names deleted. But how does one know what names to delete? They do know that in which areas of the city there is a higher concentration of people of a particular caste/religion and many times they also know that these people mainly vote for their rivals.
Sachin=GOD Posted April 25, 2014 Posted April 25, 2014 If you see the places where all this has happened then it turns out that in many cases these were constituencies where there was a close fight between Cong and some other party (maybe BJP or Shiv Sena or SP or BSP etc) - IMO that is not a coincidence. Congress's Dirty Tricks Department has been at work here it seems....
scorpio90 Posted April 25, 2014 Author Posted April 25, 2014 dna @dna 39m Bombay High Court takes suo-moto cognizance of voter names missing in Mumbai. To order probe. : TV Reports
scorpio90 Posted April 25, 2014 Author Posted April 25, 2014 If state govt. has decided to remove your name from voting list then there is almost 0 % chance of getting a chance to vote in time of election . Its for no reason that post of Tahsildar ( election ) always goes to party loyalist ( to the core ) , a trade secret perfected by Congis . He can enroll , can delete & if required keep your application at home during his whole tenure. He updates the list of voters & is the person to contact for getting the list of voters in a particular area and for no reasons he can give one list whereas make another list , inshort he is the mai-baap of Indian election .
scorpio90 Posted April 26, 2014 Author Posted April 26, 2014 Look at the reason for poll in booths located in NDA's area of strength Too many goof ups. As is said Once is happenstance, twice is coincidence, thrice is enemy action - take cover!