Tiger80 Posted May 8, 2014 Posted May 8, 2014 Adani Enterprises Ltd won approval on Thursday from the Australian state of Queensland for an A$16.5 billion ($15.4 billion) coal and rail project in the untapped Galilee Basin. The mine, designed to eventually produce 60 million tonnes a year of thermal coal used in power stations, has been the focus of opposition by green groups fighting new coal mines and the rail and ports needed to ship the coal. “This project has the potential to be the largest coal mine in Australia and one of the largest in the world,†Queensland deputy premier Jeff Seeny said in a statement. The state’s report, which set 190 conditions for Adani to meet, including compensating landholders affected by any harm to water supplies, now goes to Australia’s environment minister for a final decision. Adani welcomed the approval and said it could now move to the next stage of the project. “We remain committed to delivering the multi-billion dollar project,†Adani Chairman Gautam Adani said in a statement. Adani still faces challenges stalling progress on the project, not the least of which is raising the money needed to build the mine, rail and port for the coal. to help us personalise your reading experience. The port that Adani plans to use, Abbot Point, is facing a legal challenge from green groups fighting a port expansion that will dredge up 3 million cubic metres of sand to be dumped near the Great Barrier Reef. Green groups have been attacking the economics of the project too, highlighting that getting coal out of the Galilee Basin, which is nearly 500 kilometres (310 miles) from any port, will be a loss-making prospect if thermal coal prices stay where they are, below $75 a tonne. “Carmichael coal is low energy content and high ash, such that the mine proposal will continue to be challenged by permanently low thermal coal market prices,†said Tim Buckley, a former head of equity research at Citigroup who is now a director of the U.S.-based Institute of Energy Economics and Financial Analysis, which is campaigning against fossil fuels. http://indianexpress.com/article/business/companies/adani-enterprises-wins-australia-state-nod-for-15-bn-coal-rail-project/ Time for Kejriwal and Rahul Gandhi to protest against Australian govt :winky:
gs Posted May 8, 2014 Posted May 8, 2014 Time for Kejriwal and Rahul Gandhi to protest against Australian govt :winky: In before Kejriwal's dharna
hhunaeh Posted May 8, 2014 Posted May 8, 2014 Adani's business acumen is not being contested by anyone. The concern is the Gujarat govt gave him too good a deal.
Khalpat Posted May 9, 2014 Posted May 9, 2014 Adani's business acumen is not being contested by anyone. The concern is the Gujarat govt gave him too good a deal. Please do some research, each and every state has given them good deals. Gujarat government gave them a Desert barren land at 1 Rs/sqft rate which is anyways of no use. The land do not belong to anyone as its desert and nothing can be grown there. Gujarat government also gave 1000 Bigha land to Indian Central Government at the same place at the same rate.
Sachin=GOD Posted May 9, 2014 Posted May 9, 2014 Indian billionaire Gautam Adani’s wealth has tripled since Narendra Modi became the top opposition party’s prime minister pick eight months ago, Adani, a 51-year-old native of Gujarat state, has seen his fortune triple to $6 billion as of May 2 from $1.9 billion on Sept. 13, according to the Bloomberg Billionaires Index, equivalent to $25 million per day. - http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-05-05/adani-s-4-1-billion-wealth-surge-in-8-months-fuels-modi-attacks.html
Yoda-esque Posted May 9, 2014 Posted May 9, 2014 Indian billionaire Gautam Adani’s wealth has tripled since Narendra Modi became the top opposition party’s prime minister pick eight months ago' date=' Adani, a 51-year-old native of Gujarat state, has seen his fortune triple to $6 billion as of May 2 from $1.9 billion on Sept. 13, according to the Bloomberg Billionaires Index, equivalent to $25 million per day. - [url']http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-05-05/adani-s-4-1-billion-wealth-surge-in-8-months-fuels-modi-attacks.html Kya popat ki tarah vahi baat dohra rahe ho ?
Khalpat Posted May 9, 2014 Posted May 9, 2014 Indian billionaire Gautam Adani’s wealth has tripled since Narendra Modi became the top opposition party’s prime minister pick eight months ago' date=' Adani, a 51-year-old native of Gujarat state, has seen his fortune triple to $6 billion as of May 2 from $1.9 billion on Sept. 13, according to the Bloomberg Billionaires Index, equivalent to $25 million per day. - [url']http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-05-05/adani-s-4-1-billion-wealth-surge-in-8-months-fuels-modi-attacks.html And how is Modi responsible for that? IS he the PM of India? FM of India? How much money Adani has given to Modi in personal? Kutch Bhi... Do you really think a person who is targeted by every political party, AAP, Congress, SP, BSP, TMC his own budhaus if there was a single penny worth personal charge against him they would have spared. Whole government machinery has been setup from last 5 years to find a single thing which goes against this man and you will be disappointed to know they have not fond any thing against him.
JaiRamesh2 Posted May 9, 2014 Posted May 9, 2014 I don't know about Adani. But one empire that needs be dismantled is Reliance. Reliance is a hindrance to India's economic growth.
Straight Drive Posted May 9, 2014 Posted May 9, 2014 I saw some of the infrastructure that Adani group has built in Gujarat. It is above average. It is definitely a huge improvement by Indian standards imo. However, the infrastructure for similar operations of business in other countries have been at a higher level than what Adani has come up with in India.
Precambrian Posted May 9, 2014 Posted May 9, 2014 Indian billionaire Gautam Adani’s wealth has tripled since Narendra Modi became the top opposition party’s prime minister pick eight months ago' date=' Adani, a 51-year-old native of Gujarat state, has seen his fortune triple to $6 billion as of May 2 from $1.9 billion on Sept. 13, according to the Bloomberg Billionaires Index, equivalent to $25 million per day. - [url']http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-05-05/adani-s-4-1-billion-wealth-surge-in-8-months-fuels-modi-attacks.html That surge in wealth is driven by the rise in share prices, primarily. So what are you saying? Modi rigged share prices? Wow.
Straight Drive Posted May 9, 2014 Posted May 9, 2014 I don't know about Adani. But one empire that needs be dismantled is Reliance. Reliance is a hindrance to India's economic growth. Reliance has business in more sectors as compared to Adani group. Also, imo Reliance has better infrastructure in the sectors wherein they compete with Adani group in Gujarat. The good thing though is Adani group, like Reliance has ventured in critical business sectors.
Sachin=GOD Posted May 9, 2014 Posted May 9, 2014 That surge in wealth is driven by the rise in share prices, primarily. So what are you saying? Modi rigged share prices? Wow. Did I even say ANYTHING in that post? I just quoted from the article. And Adani's shares are going up because people think Modi will be PM and they know that Adani will be favored.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted May 9, 2014 Posted May 9, 2014 Did I even say ANYTHING in that post? I just quoted from the article. And Adani's shares are going up because people think Modi will be PM and they know that Adani will be favored. Thats a big will be!
Raghav_12 Posted May 9, 2014 Posted May 9, 2014 That surge in wealth is driven by the rise in share prices, primarily. So what are you saying? Modi rigged share prices? Wow. No. But Modi said that Gujrat Govt. will give you Adani something for Rs 1/item and then will buyback same thing for Rs 50/item (as long as you keep take care of expenses of my campaigns)Adani's would make Rs 49?item without doing anything. Anybody in share market would like to be part of such business and that's why people would like to buy shares of such company which in turn would push the share prices of company. Hope you would be able to understand this simple logic.
adi B Posted May 9, 2014 Posted May 9, 2014 Indian billionaire Gautam Adani’s wealth has tripled since Narendra Modi became the top opposition party’s prime minister pick eight months ago' date=' Adani, a 51-year-old native of Gujarat state, has seen his fortune triple to $6 billion as of May 2 from $1.9 billion on Sept. 13, according to the Bloomberg Billionaires Index, equivalent to $25 million per day. - [url']http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-05-05/adani-s-4-1-billion-wealth-surge-in-8-months-fuels-modi-attacks.html so?modi ka kya kaam isme?
Raghav_12 Posted May 9, 2014 Posted May 9, 2014 so?modi ka kya kaam isme? wahi jo Robert Vadra ki growth mein Gandhi family ka.
diga Posted May 9, 2014 Posted May 9, 2014 No. But Modi said that Gujrat Govt. will give you Adani something for Rs 1/item and then will buyback same thing for Rs 50/item (as long as you keep take care of expenses of my campaigns)Adani's would make Rs 49?item without doing anything. Anybody in share market would like to be part of such business and that's why people would like to buy shares of such company which in turn would push the share prices of company. Hope you would be able to understand this simple logic. the current share price is an indicator of future earnings/growth potential & not of past earnings/dealings..
adi B Posted May 9, 2014 Posted May 9, 2014 wahi jo Robert Vadra ki growth mein Gandhi family ka. are u trying to be sarcastic or u seriously dont know the gravity of both the cases? modi gave land to adani under his govt policy whereas the CM of haryana was acting like a property dealer of vadra and there are solid evidences which can prove it
FischerTal Posted May 9, 2014 Posted May 9, 2014 wahi jo Robert Vadra ki growth mein Gandhi family ka. ask kejriwal. congress was his ally once