maggot_brain Posted November 19, 2007 Posted November 19, 2007 Hi Everyone, I'm a new member here but I do have one small 'complaint'. People mixing Hindi in when writing posts. Some of us are not from or have origins that aren't in Hindi speaking regions of the Subcontinent. My family origins lie in Bengal so obviously I only understand Bengali (and not all that well to be honest) and none of my family in the UK or India speak a word of Hindi. It would be nice if some of the forum members would take this into account. What does anyone else think of this? Feel free to shoot me down if you disagree!
Bongosamaj Posted November 19, 2007 Posted November 19, 2007 nomoshkar, maggot_moshai. Bhaalo aachen ?
maggot_brain Posted November 19, 2007 Author Posted November 19, 2007 nomoshkar' date=' maggot_moshai. Bhaalo aachen ?[/quote'] Aami bhaalo aachi, dhonobad (Is this the correct way to spell it in English?) Don't try to write anything too complex in Bangla - I haven't spoken it regularly for nearly fifteen years! Aami onek bangla kotha jani na! Anyway it would be hypocritical and unfair to others that don't understand!
Dhoni's English Posted November 19, 2007 Posted November 19, 2007 Hi Everyone, I'm a new member here but I do have one small 'complaint'. People mixing Hindi in when writing posts. Some of us are not from or have origins that aren't in Hindi speaking regions of the Subcontinent. My family origins lie in Bengal so obviously I only understand Bengali (and not all that well to be honest) and none of my family in the UK or India speak a word of Hindi. It would be nice if some of the forum members would take this into account. What does anyone else think of this? Feel free to shoot me down if you disagree! I am have no Indian origin whatsoever but visit the country twice a year, so sometimes if someone types in Hindi I always ask for the English translation. This way I am learning a tad of the language which will assist me in my travels.
The Outsider Posted November 19, 2007 Posted November 19, 2007 Some of the puns/saying completely miss their target in translation, but in general I agree with OP. Posters should try to write in English as much as they can and provide a simple translation if they feel something will come out better in Hindi or some other language.
Guest dada_rocks Posted November 19, 2007 Posted November 19, 2007 It's obvious when they write those hindi words they ain't targetting reluctant hindi speakers or non-hindi speakers are. Chill not everyone has to understand every post
beetle Posted November 19, 2007 Posted November 19, 2007 I don't mind the odd guju or kannada conversations that go on here....... so please bear with us hindibhashi (hindi speaking) people....:P Anyways...will try to stick to english and if not then provide translation.Although sometimes the translations are quite ridiculous and you read it at your own risk.....theek hai bhaiya???:D
Predator_05 Posted November 19, 2007 Posted November 19, 2007 Point taken, maggot (not the best nick you could have had...!). Welcome to ICF. How did you hear about us
maggot_brain Posted November 19, 2007 Author Posted November 19, 2007 Point taken, maggot (not the best nick you could have had...!). Welcome to ICF. How did you hear about us FYI regarding the nickname: http://wm01.allmusic.com/cg/amg.dll?p=amg&sql=10:jifixqy5ldfe I think I heard about you from a straightforward Google Search. "Indian cricket site" or "links" or something of the sort.
dial_100 Posted November 19, 2007 Posted November 19, 2007 If you dont follow, ask someone to translate. I guess it is okay but I doubt ppl will avoid using hindi but translation is must wherever required.
fineleg Posted November 19, 2007 Posted November 19, 2007 This is a nice place. Stay and u'll enjoy the news, discussions and debates/fights :D
chamatkar Posted November 19, 2007 Posted November 19, 2007 I'd be flummoxed if someone asked me for a translation of what my custom user title was... now how the hell do you say that in English and get that emotion?
Bongosamaj Posted November 19, 2007 Posted November 19, 2007 I'd be flummoxed if someone asked me for a translation of what my custom user title was... now how the hell do you say that in English and get that emotion? Chamatkar = miracle.
coffee_rules Posted November 20, 2007 Posted November 20, 2007 I'd be flummoxed if someone asked me for a translation of what my custom user title was... now how the hell do you say that in English and get that emotion? Chamatkar - Don't prepare Tea. very easy.
beetle Posted November 21, 2007 Posted November 21, 2007 :hysterical::hysterical:Chamatkar - Don't prepare Tea. very easy.