'"Yes! I am a woman. I have breasts and a cleavage! You got a problem!!??' says Deepika Padukone on ToI's tweet.

Number

Bar dancers are people too and they have families to support' date=' pal. Don't be so judgmental of them.[/quote'] so glorify them like this?Doesnt that involve objectification of women? Compare how film Chandni bar portrayed them with this

People are getting unnecessarily worked up over something we shouldn't pay this much attention to. She puts up a rebuttal which plugs in a promotion for her next movie, and toi responds with an article with more pics. :haha: I'd say your outrage is wasted, read the tamasha, look at the pics and videos and the movie too if you feel like punishing yourself and let others get worked up over it.

so glorify them like this?Doesnt that involve objectification of women? Compare how film Chandni bar portrayed them with this
This is a song, not an entire movie to portray bar dancers as people with thoughts, feelings and emotions. You are looking too much into it if you think this pop song is that harmful. As I said, its a just fun song or music video with some glamour. Nothing more to it.

People are getting unnecessarily worked up over something we shouldn't pay this much attention to. She puts up a rebuttal which plugs in a promotion for her next movie, and toi responds with an article with more pics. :haha: I'd say your outrage is wasted, read the tamasha, look at the pics and videos and the movie too if you feel like punishing yourself and let others get worked up over it.
Wouldn't have been an issue if TOI didn't put up one stupid response after another :cantstop:

This is a song, not an entire movie to portray bar dancers as people with thoughts, feelings and emotions. You are looking too much into it if you think this pop song is that harmful. As I said, its a just fun song or music video with some glamour. Nothing more to it.
maybe but it does sound hypocritical to me when she does such roles and talk about women empowerment lets agree to disagree

OK so after a considerable amount of reading about the controversy surrounding deepika. So this is what I think about this whole thing. We are living in a society where unfortunately, women are treated as objects of desire by the aware as well as the unaware. I think its more important to understand the reason behind the picture. A woman should be portrayed the way she allows herself to be portrayed and there is nothing that should stop her from feeling that way. Its a woman's way of expressing her sensuality and unfortunately, men don't have that gift. So the focus is less on men. A character she portrays on screen, is something that she does for our entertainment and unfortunately we don't leave that image behind in the cinema but carry that impression about celebrities, every time we think, see or hear about them. I just think we need to be more accepting of them as people and the focus should not be more on the superficial aspect of their lives, but on the more serious part of their existence. I think one thing I took from this entire episode is, at least we know a little bit more of what she's like, not as a celebrity but as a person.

Reaction in the Shweta Basu episode was different.. Lot of people sympathized with her despite she actually did far worse. But with Deepika reaction is different..

Both ToI and Deepika showing double standards and both are benefitting - Deepika getting lot of publicity right at the time of release of Finding Fanny and ToI getting lot of hits. I was so pissed of lower standards of ToIlet newspaper, I asked my newspaperwala if you don't get me another newspaper, i'll stop subscription. Since than I have been reading indian express.

This cleavage show reminds me of our 1st year college viva. We had a lady prof from mumbai& who was having lets say having a wardrobe malfunction. We had a couple of typical desi guys from vidarbha who were uncomfortable even sitting besides girls let alone talk to them. It resulted in them having totally frozen during the vivas sweating & could hardly speak. Luckily the teacher inquired about them & we had to tell her that they were good students & they were nervous about the viva that too by a lady prof. She understood & gave them passing marks & it ended well.

Padukone has said her stance is “not about being a celebrity”. She told the news channel NDTV: “I am standing up for all the women and all the girls … in India and around the world.”
:cantstop: TOI is projecting only you as a Bimbo. To them, You are no more young innocent beauty. If anything its your industry to blame which has been selling screen sex it to people.

She marketed her cleavage as part of her body show in many publicly "consumable" means - photoshoots, movies etc. That marketing might be part of her job, but that was aimed at titillation of audience. TOI is just evidencing previous instances. When she was younger she had shown everything except maybe 10% of her body and I am being generous to her "hidden" top portion here. Now when TOI plays to that end-result, titillation, suddenly she has a problem? I find it hypocritical - unless she wants usage of her pics to be based on royalty - "Ok you may show my cleavage, but I need x%, u may show my thights, but I need y% royaty" A rough analogy will be a porn star taking exception at being called a *****.
I think the problem here is they encroached on her privacy as she wasn't wearing any cleavage revealing clothes but they used high camera angle to take the photo.