15 Members of VHP, Bajrang Dal Arrested Over Attack on Ujjain University Vice Chancellor

http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/15-members-of-vhp-bajrang-dal-arrested-over-attack-on-ujjain-university-vice-chancellor-593348
Ujjain: Police have arrested 15 members of the Vishwa Hindu Parishad and Bajrang Dal for the attack on the Vice-Chancellor of a university in Ujjain on Monday. (Ujjain University Vice Chancellor Attacked for his Help J&K Appeal) Jawahar Lal Kaul, the Vice-Chancellor, was attacked on Monday, allegedly by radical saffron groups, for asking students to help the people in Jammu and Kashmir. Mr Kaul had also appealed to local landlords to waive rent for Kashmiri students of his university, who were in financial trouble owing to the condition of their families back home. Mr Kaul, who was discharged from the hospital today, told NDTV, "A group had come to my office and I was telling them that I have made such an appeal, when they suddenly turned violent". The mob ransacked the office, damaging furniture and computers, and targetted other areas of the university. Related Ujjain University Vice Chancellor Attacked by Saffron Men for his Help J&K Appeal, 2 Arrested Ujjain Vice Chancellor Attacked For Appeal to Help Flood-Hit in J&K "What happened with a professor (earlier) flashed before my eyes and I felt sick. My colleagues managed to rescue me and sent me to a hospital," said Mr Kaul, who was discharged today after spending a day in the hospital. The "professor" he referred to was Professor HS Sabharwal, who had died of cardiac arrest eight years ago in Ujjain after he was allegedly manhandled by workers of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad. But all the accused were let off by the court for want of evidence. The Vikram University was shut on Tuesday in protest against the violence. "We condemn what has happened with our VC, so we have shut the university," said Kamal Joshi, a leader of the university's teachers' association. The Congress, too, took up the case, surrounding the office of the superintendent of police and demanding immediate action.
Probably this was the day when they didn't find a case of love-jihad so they decided to target poor VC. Another example how emboldened these goons have become after seeing their own in power. These kind of events are increasingly becoming a routine in the country where things are held ransom by similar hooligans. Of course incumbents would turn a blind eye after all these elements espouse their cause only. Similar set of people had caused death to another prof in same university few years ago. But nothing had happened post that.
if you don't have anything to post on the matter' date=' you are not compelled to post here.[/quote'] i am not. But the suggestion from me is free.....
There is no need to get personal on the matter. If you support such actions and hooliganism' date=' go and post that.[/quote'] going on a dharna is personal? If anything its good to protest such things right?
going on a dharna is personal? If anything its good to protest such things right?
boss, you unnecessarily taking on me for posting this thread on hooliganism. If you support them, post a defense. No need to give me suggestion on what I should be doing is personal. Discuss the matter.
boss' date=' you unnecessarily taking on me for posting this thread on hooliganism. If you support them, post a defense. No need to give me suggestion on what I should be doing is personal. Discuss the matter.[/quote'] nobody is taking you on. Stop being paranoid.
Chalo.. attacks were justified then. Release these crusaders of justice.
again, where have i said attacks were justified? I have not said anything about the attacks. For or against.

"allegedly by radical saffron groups" In both cases.....the operative word is allegedly.......like how PM Modi was allegedly responsible for Gujarat 2002.......but has now been acquitted...... If these guys are truly responsible.........then they deserved to be jailed...... However......notice the media headlines........ http://ibnlive.in.com/news/ujjain-13-vhp-bajrang-dal-activists-arrested-for-attacking-vikram-university-vc/499717-3-236.html This article also mentions that it is alleged.......but why bother being objective eh?

again, where have i said attacks were justified? I have not said anything about the attacks. For or against.
are you Diga? You responding to me, even when I am not talking to you and you say I am being paranoid. :giggle:
Armies of Modi fans going to descend on this thread now to berate it :((.
thought I clarified with you that I accidentally clicked on the rating button..no need to go that route
It was in lighter vein. Just commented humorously on what hh(xxxxxx) brought up. I didn't bring it myself. If you want I can publish the clarification that you sent. No issues with that.