Obama: Gandhi Would Be Shocked by Religious Intolerance in India

President Barack Obama has said religious intolerance in India would have shocked Mahatma Gandhi. In his National Prayer Breakfast address in Washington on Thursday, Mr. Obama said that India was “full of magnificent diversity – but a place where, in past years, religious faiths of all types have, on occasion, been targeted by other peoples of faith, simply due to their heritage and their beliefs.†Mr. Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama visited India as guests at the country’s Republic Day celebrations last month. Advertisement The United States president said acts of intolerance in India “would have shocked Gandhiji, the person who helped to liberate that nation.†Mr. Obama is a long-time admirer of Gandhi, the architect of India’s non-violent independence movement. The president visited the memorial to Gandhi in Delhi during his three-day visit to India’s capital last month. In his final speech during the visit, Mr. Obama said that India would only succeed if it didn’t “splinter along religious lines.â€
http://blogs.wsj.com/indiarealtime/2015/02/06/obama-gandhi-would-be-shocked-by-religious-intolerance-in-india/ A lot of our posters here were excited that he was gracing us with his presence. This comes after he rudely left in the middle of his visit to go to a despotic, suppressive state. All I gotta say is that Martin Luther King would be shocked at what happened in Ferguson under his watch!!!

- Great to see that we never gave opportunity to shock Gandhiji. - Also great to see the expectations that Americans and rest of civilised world have on India. Obviously, some random banana republic will not have such lofty expectations. We still have little issues but as Obama himself admitted " bade bade desho mein..."...

Why would Gandhi be shocked by religious intolerance? He lived during the Partition where religious riots killed lakhs of people. India - for the most part - is a far more peaceful place now.

Ombaba is a humble, understanding guy and means no harm to India . People will do well to take it without getting angry even if most will disagree with him
I take it positively for sure. US had its own problems and has been through this intolerance stuff. It is nice to see an older secular democracy advising another secular democracy. People really under-appreciate the power of secularism in a country like India. Our minorities and the rights they have here play a big part in the attitude of Saudis and Iran towards us for example. They are with India partly due to these factors ( it should not be the case but hey we live in a real world not ideal).
Gandhiji lived during the partition..... I am guessing he saw read about and heard a lot lot worse.
It doesn't look like Obama has read Indian history all that well.

I know this is not going to happen but I wonder if Modi should retort with a: "Martin Luther King jnr would be shocked by recent events in America". As Jaitley right said, few abberations don't undermine our tolerance.

Its funny to see Delhi netas arguing on TV about what Obama said in a prayer lunch. Also, why to say "what about US", well things are not 100% anywhere including India and the US. Lets focus on what is wrong in India. Is he wrong? I dont think so, but is he a judge, not really

Bhakts might be regretting giving so much importance to Obama and his visit to India now :giggle:
Why? We are interested in financial benefits.I dont think even dog cares about Obama personal views in US :cantstop:

Mentioning bapu can be such a cliche. If India really lived up to his ideals in all senses, we'd be some agrarian society without any army or much of industry. Hell, we might have ended up as a giant Pakistan instead, offering the other cheek et al to Jinnah/Muslim league or the Paki Army of the later decades. Which might not have drawn criticism from Obama & co judging by their love for Saudiland/Pakiland.