State split excuse can be given for the Fiscal deficit . But then why would the State Govt exacerbate that fiscal deficit with Populist measures like Rs.50,000 CRORE Farm Loan subsidy /waiver and then beg the Govt for assistance ?
That is a question the state govt has to answer. Not the central govt. Could be that Chandrababu Naidu is inspired by the secular UPA under MMS who also gave farm loan waivers before 2009 elections.

any idea how much land the Indian railway holds? and what its worth is? Prabhu did mention he would monetise assets. I assume land is a big chunk of that

dont know..but Container Corporation of India is a railway PSU(30K crore Mcap) where govt. owns 61%. They can disinvest. They can list some of the other railway PSU in stock market. -http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_public_sector_undertakings_in_India monitization can mean of a broad range of options of how one can raise money.
Prabhu said that the rail budget has laid a roadmap for the coming five years for an overall revamp of the rail system, which entails an investment Rs 8,56,020 crore. For the current year, the investment figure is Rs 1,00,011 crore. “Money that is to be raised to finance our operation is largely coming from extra-budgetary resources. But we cannot depend upon the GBS alone. The finance ministry also raised money from the market. So why not we do the same thing?” Prabhu said during his post-budget media interaction.
http://www.india.com/news/india/top-3-mantras-of-suresh-prabhu-for-indian-railways-borrowing-ppp-asset-monetisation-298012/
No new train announcements was the best part... Was sick of hearing Mamata harping Duronto trains from Kolkata, Kolkata, Kolkata in previous budgets and then the cribbing about how one state did not get anything, some states are being favored,etc. good riddance of that tamasha
:hysterical: That cost us so much.

Re trains I think we should aim to run trains at an average speed of 125km per hour between major cities. That can be accomplished with existing infra. Mumbai to Delhi would be about 11-12 hours. I do believe the max speed of trains or locomotives we have is 150km per hour. A person can book a train for 9pm in mumbai and end up in delhi at 9am. Many people will prefer that.

Even though , he has not been part of our group for a long time , we are hoping Modiji will sympathise with fellow baldies and allow full tax deduction for Hair transplants.