You are saying like born criminal. They have it written on their forehead. There are always things that provoke them for commiting a crime.
Nope, this is the difference between a normal man like you and me and criminals. I can be drugged, drunk, whatever, but I am never going to assault a women Are you saying if tomorrow someone gives you a drink you are going to go out and rape women as you were provoked First of the provoking statement itself is PATHETIC. It focuses on external factors than the criminal. The victim provoked. The clothes provoked. The alcohol provoked, the porn provoked. Everything etc the criminal himself is responsible And this is the mindset why crime against women will never go down. Parent won't blame their education or their kids. Society won't blame rapists. No, it is always external factors.
I wouldn't have called police' date='because all my life i have been taught to ignore eve teasing,abuses etc etc..just saying that the man got sort of sympathy from the public,thats what i felt.I know its not a big deal.yes i have taken all those abuses ''not a big deal'' kind of way all through my life.[/quote'] I dont think it is sympathy from Public..Usually crowd in India wouldnt tolerate eve teasing by a drunkard, and he is going to get thrashed in public if he doesnt behave. At least this happens where I stay. I think people were warning you to ignore him because it is not worthwhile to fight with a man who has lost all senses.
I have no sympathy for narrow minded people who cannot look beyond themselves and judge them on such things as whether they drink or eat meat. We have lots of such people in our country India has such a repressed menatlity about such things that everything is blamed on them instead of looking at the actual reasons. For examples, there were some article about porn and rapists and people here like Radhika were asking porn to be banned. However truth is, that in the west studies have been done on this and violent criminals and rapists are made to watch porn to control their tendencies This is how far away from reality we are because of our repressed culture that we believe the opposite of what is true just because we have been brought up to think these things are bad by themselves.
Oh man..I dont know you are serious! Since you are all knowing, can you please tell me what are the actual reasons for rape?
Nope, this is the difference between a normal man like you and me and criminals. I can be drugged, drunk, whatever, but I am never going to assault a women Are you saying if tomorrow someone gives you a drink you are going to go out and rape women as you were provoked First of the provoking statement itself is PATHETIC. It focuses on external factors than the criminal. The victim provoked. The clothes provoked. The alcohol provoked, the porn provoked. Everything etc the criminal himself is responsible And this is the mindset why crime against women will never go down. Parent won't blame their education or their kids. Society won't blame rapists. No, it is always external factors.
So what according to you creates rapists? I think you are being very naive when you claim there is no influence of external factors in sexual crimes. Well, all of us may have certain tendencies for violence within us in some scale , which is repressed by our super-ego( internalised moral standards ) and we control our moral behavior. Certainly external factors like alcohol or drugs will act like stimulants and id will take over and masks the moral standards which is an acquired behavior. It is proven that alchol plays a role in more than 25% of sexual crimes all over the world, and here you are teaching us there is no external factors?
So what according to you creates rapists? I think you are being very naive when you claim there is no influence of external factors in sexual crimes. Well' date=' all of us may have certain tendencies for violence within us in some scale , which is repressed by our super-ego( internalised moral standards ) and we control our moral behavior. Certainly external factors like alcohol or drugs will act like stimulants and id will take over and masks the moral standards which is an acquired behavior. It is proven that alchol plays a role in more than 25% of sexual crimes all over the world, and here you are teaching us there is no external factors?[/quote'] So everybody who consumes alcohol will turn into a rapist?
This is one sided thinking. Not everyone is like you. Somewhere else, I talked about same. They were saying the docu has not made me thinking negatively so it wont do to others too. They forgot not everyone is them or thinks like them. It is a country of 125 crore people. You cannot find just one reason for rapes. There are several reasons due to that a crime happens. You think parents teach their kids to rape girls. People are different reasons behind crimes are different. If everyone was like you why would a rape happen. Dont talk about just black and white. You yourself talked about human psychology of backfire effect and confirmation bias and now yourself ignoring it. I would not categorize dressing as provocation. Neither eating meat is a provocation. I used a wrong word, provocation. I meant crime happens when people cant think about the consequences. The mind isnt in the right state to think and differentiate between right or wrong. Intoxication whether alcohol, opiates, etc. do the same. The create a brain fog which destroys the thinking ability of brain. I have seen people destroy their life under the influence of drug. I have seen people who are so sane normally doing crazy things under the influence of alcohol. I am not saying they are excused because they had alcohol neither I am saying alcohol should be banned. I always talk about social psychological counseling. Unstable minds are always more prone to commit crime of any kind.
Alcohol is a huge excuse..for certain men to abuse women.I was abused verbally by a man in the street' date='for apparently no reason,he was calling me all sorts of names,.And bypassers advised me to ignore him,that he is under the influence of alcohol.See how the guy got a free pass,u can abuse a random woman on the street under the influence of alcohol.Awww...baby sweet was under the influence,otherwise such a cute little angel.[/quote'] When it is a man involved...it is an excuse. When it is a woman involved ...it is the REASON. I wonder if the same people would make that excuse if it was a drunk woman abusing.
Agree regarding VVS' date=' Alcohol is a huge culprit for rapes and domestic violence. Those guys were drunk too when they raped the girl. I dont think they would have done it in a right state of mind.[/quote'] No...that is not right. There are men who will rape if they have the opportunity or excuse to rape(or when there is no fear of bing caught.) Then there are men who will not rape...no matter what. If what you wrote was true....many more drunk men would be raping......most drunk men do not. Similarly....there are men who indulge in DV...they sometimes need an excuse ,sometimes don't. Then there are men who will not indulge in domestic violence no matter what.These guys also get drunk...but they go home and sleep or laugh or make a scene......not beat up wife and kids.
No one is giving any benefit to doubt to them. My point is we can have a lot less number of such crimes if men start prohibiting alcohol.
If that were the case...there would be a lot less rapes in islamic countries where alcohol is banned.
No...that is not right. There are men who will rape if they have the opportunity or excuse to rape(or when there is no fear of bing caught.) Then there are men who will not rape...no matter what. If what you wrote was true....many more drunk men would be raping......most drunk men do not. Similarly....there are men who indulge in DV...they sometimes need an excuse ,sometimes don't. Then there are men who will not indulge in domestic violence no matter what.These guys also get drunk...but they go home and sleep or laugh or make a scene......not beat up wife and kids.
I didnt say people who are not drunk dont do rapes.
When it is a man involved...it is an excuse. When it is a woman involved ...it is the REASON. I wonder if the same people would make that excuse if it was a drunk woman abusing.
For me, it is the reason for man too. I don have two perspective in these two cases.
I have no sympathy for narrow minded people who cannot look beyond themselves and judge them on such things as whether they drink or eat meat. We have lots of such people in our country India has such a repressed menatlity about such things that everything is blamed on them instead of looking at the actual reasons. For examples, there were some article about porn and rapists and people here like Radhika were asking porn to be banned. However truth is, that in the west studies have been done on this and violent criminals and rapists are made to watch porn to control their tendencies This is how far away from reality we are because of our repressed culture that we believe the opposite of what is true just because we have been brought up to think these things are bad by themselves.
I am not against porn or its accessibility.I am against it being at inappropriate places.More importantly ...inappropriate porn . Porn has a place in life.But if it is made available in mobiles or in the newspapers in general magazines....then it is a problem.It is not nice to have men looking at porn on their mobiles and ogling at little school girls passing by ...making sick comments.Or someone looking at porn while sitting next to people on buses and metro.People should be free to watch non criminal porn in the privacy of their personal space without making others uncomfortable.Porn is like A+++ movies and should be treated as such.To be available to appropriate ages in appropriate places. Just like the tharki thread on this forum. It is fine to have that stuff in the designated thread...but not ok to have it all over the forum in every thread. Some porn like Child porn,rape porn or stuff recorded without the consent of the participants...illegally has no place in civilized society and should be illegal and criminal.
If that were the case...there would be a lot less rapes in islamic countries where alcohol is banned.
Alcohol to Gujarat me bhi ban hai, but kya logo ko alcohol nahi milta vahan.
For me' date=' it is the reason for man too. I don have two perspective in these two cases.[/quote'] That is what is the reality in most parts of India and world.
Alcohol to Gujarat me bhi ban hai' date=' but kya logo ko alcohol nahi milta vahan.[/quote'] Not like countries where it is Haram with severe punishment.It is not that easily available to all rapists.

If I wrote a word alcohol, it does not mean it is the only reason for a rape or any other crime. If it was so easy to find reasons, we could have stopped crimes.

Not like countries where it is Haram with severe punishment.It is not that easily available to all rapists.
Punishment for rape is also far severe in those countries.
I am not against porn or its accessibility.I am against it being at inappropriate places.More importantly ...inappropriate porn . Porn has a place in life.But if it is made available in mobiles or in the newspapers in general magazines....then it is a problem.It is not nice to have men looking at porn on their mobiles and ogling at little school girls passing by ...making sick comments.Or someone looking at porn while sitting next to people on buses and metro.People should be free to watch non criminal porn in the privacy of their personal space without making others uncomfortable.Porn is like A+++ movies and should be treated as such.To be available to appropriate ages in appropriate places. Just like the tharki thread on this forum. It is fine to have that stuff in the designated thread...but not ok to have it all over the forum in every thread. Some porn like Child porn,rape porn or stuff recorded without the consent of the participants...illegally has no place in civilized society and should be illegal and criminal.
Forget about legal or illegal... My simple question to you being a woman..Do you support the objectification of women through porn? Do you support men watching porn treating the women as sexual objects? When one watches porn, and stimulates himself sexually , it is possibly pervade in real life and start oozing women passing by as if they are sexual objects. In what way porn is good for human behavior?