jalebi_bhai Posted May 5, 2015 Posted May 5, 2015 oh the ironies Same people who support BJP-SS alliance and ignore the fact that no word can be said about Marathi, Hindus or Thackerys in Maharashtra are now talking about importance of free speech. We dont want to allow anybody to eat beef because it primarily affects our religious sentiments and we are discussing how some religious (or touchy!) people should ignore an event which is being hosted to insult their religion. Stop crying about the beef banned would you. The banning of cow slaughter is part of the directive principles of our constitution (article 48a). If you have a problem with it, take up with those who drafted the constitution. You can still eat buffalo beef if you want. If you still have a problem, float your own party in MAH, win an election and reverse the ban. Simple. BJP-SS had the banning of beef as part of their election manifesto. They got the people's mandate and hence fulfilled a promise they made. We belong to a country where neither Salman Rushdie nor MF Hussain could express their opinions and live in peace. I hope you realize that it was Muslims who wanted Rushdie's book banned, not Sanghis. Agree about the MF Hussain part. Just because a senile moron paints something, I don't believe that people should lose their minds. That was a step too far. I wonder why you didn't bring up the banning of Da Vinci code in Kerala and Dashavataram though :hmmm: And recently, I believe All India Bakchod were asked to apologize for making fun of Jesus in their roast. That also eluded your memory :hmmm: Seems like seculars have an issue with free speech as well. OH and before you guys go all thackery on me, I don't care about ANY religion, I am for 100% free speech and would shoot all nutjobs if I could, but I couldn't resist pointing out double standards in this thread. I thought progressives were all for gun control laws. Shooting people, that's very unprogressive of you Cartman sahab.
Desi Cartman Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 Stop crying about the beef banned would you. The banning of cow slaughter is part of the directive principles of our constitution (article 48a). If you have a problem with it, take up with those who drafted the constitution. You can still eat buffalo beef if you want. Pointing the ironies is crying? I am just stating some facts. It seems like you are the one who is getting emotional. Also its good to know that the same constitution doesn't apply in other states. Also for some reason it wasn't implemented by previous BJP-SS govts in Maharashtra or any other state. Perhaps, it wasnt on the agenda of BJP till two months ago. If you still have a problem, float your own party in MAH, win an election and reverse the ban. Simple. BJP-SS had the banning of beef as part of their election manifesto. They got the people's mandate and hence fulfilled a promise they made. Its a religious matter, they are banning cows due to sensitivity due to a religion so people who support the decisions based on religious sensitivities should be the last to criticize when others question free speech when it comes to religion. I hope you realize that it was Muslims who wanted Rushdie's book banned, not Sanghis. Agree about the MF Hussain part. Just because a senile moron paints something, I don't believe that people should lose their minds. That was a step too far. I just believe that its just words in a book or a dish on a plate. It shouldnt matter to you what I eat, read or draw. IF you dont like it then dont read, eat or draw the same thing. I wonder why you didn't bring up the banning of Da Vinci code in Kerala and Dashavataram though :hmmm: I havent mentioned all cases in the history, where did I claim that I have covered all cases? And recently, I believe All India Bakchod were asked to apologize for making fun of Jesus in their roast. That also eluded your memory :hmmm: and you think that I agreed with it? You are free to assume but you are wrong Seems like seculars have an issue with free speech as well. I have no issue with free speech, I have an issue with people supporting free speech when it suits them. Also, I dont know if I am a secular, I hate idiots. Im not a fan of islamic terrorists and see millions of things wrong with their religion but I also see *some* things wrong with all religions. I thought progressives were all for gun control laws. Shooting people, that's very unprogressive of you Cartman sahab. That was a figure of speech but yea, I dont mind if idiots like the ones who attacked these "artists" are shot and killed. AND NO, I dont believe that these lunatics are same as RSS or anybody else. I am merely stating the fact that freedom of speech is absolute for some posters when it suits them.
Tapioca Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 Religion can be mocked, made fun of or attacked if that is required as part of the process in any of your volition. So I am perfectly fine with Lajja of Taslima Nasrin or Satanic verses of Salman Rushdie or a PK movie. But an event like this where people are invited just to mock and insult particular religion should be avoided. Insult of religion was not part of process but was the process itself. The muslims should perhaps respond in the same way to call the bluff of the right wing. Display posters outside the building where the contest is held that show a nude Jesus Christ in intimate positions with Mary Magdalene, for eg.
Shivaji bhonsle Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 Religion can be mocked, made fun of or attacked if that is required as part of the process in any of your volition. So I am perfectly fine with Lajja of Taslima Nasrin or Satanic verses of Salman Rushdie or a PK movie. But an event like this where people are invited just to mock and insult particular religion should be avoided. Insult of religion was not part of process but was the process itself. Attack on this event is different thing altogether and I am not even linking with this event. They may have used this provocation as an excuse to kill people but historically Islamist terrorist carried out killing without reason so saying that here they did for a reason or provocation is not even an argument. The idea of free speech is to provoke and hurt your religious sentiments so that new ideas are born, nothing is sacred in this world. They are not drawing pictures of someone 's mom which can be considered as a personal thing. They were drawing what is common for everyone. They were drawing a religious prophet who is common for all. If Muslims get provoked, so be it. If some idiots decides to attack them for this, they should be dealt with, at least it will bring out the extremists in their society. Let people draw about Hindu gods, yes I will be hurt, but I will ignore them and I will look the other way. USA is a country where every religion is made fun of. People are allowed to own guns because if the government takes away their freedom, they can fight the government and get back their right. In such a free country, nothing can be stopped. If they believe one religion is barbaric and they want to insult it, so be it.
Shivaji bhonsle Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 The muslims should perhaps respond in the same way to call the bluff of the right wing. Display posters outside the building where the contest is held that show a nude Jesus Christ in intimate positions with Mary Magdalene' date=' for eg.[/quote'] Charlie hebdo has printed far worse pictures than that. Nobody from Christian community have done anything for that.
jalebi_bhai Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 Pointing the ironies is crying? I am just stating some facts. It seems like you are the one who is getting emotional. Also its good to know that the same constitution doesn't apply in other states. Also for some reason it wasn't implemented by previous BJP-SS govts in Maharashtra or any other state. Perhaps, it wasnt on the agenda of BJP till two months ago. I am just stating some facts. It seems like you are the one who is getting emotional. Also its good to know that the same constitution doesn't apply in other states.Also for some reason it wasn't implemented by previous BJP-SS govts in Maharashtra or any other state. Perhaps, it wasnt on the agenda of BJP till two months ago. What is the irony here? You are equating banning the slaughtering of cows with killing someone for drawing your religious leader. Also, slaughtering of cows (milch variety) had been banned in many states for a number of years now (Gujarat, MP, UP) not just in MAH. It's been in place since the 70s in MAH (see Maharashtra Animal Preservation Act 1976) The recent ban is on bulls and bullocks which are draught animals. Most of the beef that people have been consuming for years has been buffalo beef. This is a follow up to the Maharashtra Animal Preservation (Amendment) Bill 1995 which the then BJP-SS govt. proposed. So your point in bold kinda falls flat. Its a religious matter, they are banning cows due to sensitivity due to a religion so people who support the decisions based on religious sensitivities should be the last to criticize when others question free speech when it comes to religion. As I've said above, the ban on beef has been done through a state legislation, a thoroughly democratic process, not by issuing a religious diktat. Are people not allowed to make laws now in a democratic manner? Why do we have elections then? Is it so that we can watch our elected politicians play antakshari in the state assembly? I just believe that its just words in a book or a dish on a plate. It shouldnt matter to you what I eat, read or draw. IF you dont like it then dont read, eat or draw the same thing. Then why did it matter to these loonies in Texas? We have laws for a reason and that is to prevent anarchy. If everyone started chest thumping about 'Sadda haq' and acted upon their 'haq', then there would be no such thing as civilized society. I have no issue with free speech, I have an issue with people supporting free speech when it suits them. Also, I dont know if I am a secular, I hate idiots. Im not a fan of islamic terrorists and see millions of things wrong with their religion but I also see *some* things wrong with all religions. I know you aren't condoning what the gunmen did, but I don't see why you are equating their actions to the ban on beef, which has been enforced through the process of democracy. It's false equivalency. That was a figure of speech but yea, I dont mind if idiots like the ones who attacked these "artists" are shot and killed. AND NO, I dont believe that these lunatics are same as RSS or anybody else. I am merely stating the fact that freedom of speech is absolute for some posters when it suits them. Is this a reference to deporting MF Hussein for making those paintings? Yea, I agree with you here. Totally unnecessary. What they should've done was ask MF Hussein the price of his painting and collect money to finance the purchase of the painting. After buying the painting, they should've held an event, with M.F. Hussein as honorary chief guest, where they would throw that painting into a shredder. Nothing wrong with this na? Destroying something that you have legally purchased? Much more fun than deporting the guy.
Texan Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 oh the ironies Same people who support BJP-SS alliance and ignore the fact that no word can be said about Marathi, Hindus or Thackerys in Maharashtra are now talking about importance of free speech. We dont want to allow anybody to eat beef because it primarily affects our religious sentiments and we are discussing how some religious (or touchy!) people should ignore an event which is being hosted to insult their religion. We belong to a country where neither Salman Rushdie nor MF Hussain could express their opinions and live in peace. OH and before you guys go all thackery on me, I don't care about ANY religion, I am for 100% free speech and would shoot all nutjobs if I could, but I couldn't resist pointing out double standards in this thread. Wow!! What a rant! Keep justifying this insane violence by using your "BUT BUT BUT" arguments.
Shivaji bhonsle Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 oh the ironies Same people who support BJP-SS alliance and ignore the fact that no word can be said about Marathi, Hindus or Thackerys in Maharashtra are now talking about importance of free speech. We dont want to allow anybody to eat beef because it primarily affects our religious sentiments and we are discussing how some religious (or touchy!) people should ignore an event which is being hosted to insult their religion. We belong to a country where neither Salman Rushdie nor MF Hussain could express their opinions and live in peace. OH and before you guys go all thackery on me, I don't care about ANY religion, I am for 100% free speech and would shoot all nutjobs if I could, but I couldn't resist pointing out double standards in this thread. You are talking about India. People in this country have no idea about freedom of speech. Our people are yet to mature and understand the concept of freedom of speech. People are too emotional in this country for silly things. I have lived in Tamil Nadu for months and observed a trend from the Dravidian parties . they continued to attack Hindu religion but they didn't say anything bad about Islam or Christianity. Why? Because Hindus in south India seem to be less religious and they are okay with new ideas. Its one of the reasons why Christian missionaries have been able to convert them. But, its hard to do in a place like Maharashtra because its one of the places where Hindus have fought the invading Islamic army for centuries. People are bound to be very sentimental about few things. But, still I don't recall anyone getting killed for saying stuff about Marathis are Bal Thackeray.
Raghav_12 Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 The idea of free speech is to provoke and hurt your religious sentiments so that new ideas are born, nothing is sacred in this world. They are not drawing pictures of someone 's mom which can be considered as a personal thing. They were drawing what is common for everyone. They were drawing a religious prophet who is common for all. If Muslims get provoked, so be it. If some idiots decides to attack them for this, they should be dealt with, at least it will bring out the extremists in their society. Let people draw about Hindu gods, yes I will be hurt, but I will ignore them and I will look the other way. USA is a country where every religion is made fun of. People are allowed to own guns because if the government takes away their freedom, they can fight the government and get back their right. In such a free country, nothing can be stopped. If they believe one religion is barbaric and they want to insult it, so be it. Yes. That is whole point. I will be hurt too and if act has been done just to hurt hindus I'll be resentful as well and will register my dissent in my own way and will hope people are discouraged from doing so.
Gollum Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 People who say M F Hussain shouldn't have been banned check the pervert's paintings. In any other country he would have been executed. He is one of the filthiest, communal minded, bigoted human beings the world has ever seen. Judge his hypocrisy
Gollum Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 ^ You please take your agenda to other thread. Do you know what is happening in Nadia presently? Check that thread too
Desi Cartman Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 Gunmen killed at Dallas event on Prophet Muhammad cartoons Another irony, the people who are offended by mf hussains painting are the ones who share and post them everywhere. I never said that it was in good taste or even good art. I didn't care about it and if I found it filthy then I just scrolled down the page or to the next page. You on the other hand, checked each photo and posted it here so more people saw the painting that you don't want people to see. :hatsoff:
Desi Cartman Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 You are talking about India. People in this country have no idea about freedom of speech. Our people are yet to mature and understand the concept of freedom of speech. People are too emotional in this country for silly things. I have lived in Tamil Nadu for months and observed a trend from the Dravidian parties . they continued to attack Hindu religion but they didn't say anything bad about Islam or Christianity. Why? Because Hindus in south India seem to be less religious and they are okay with new ideas. Its one of the reasons why Christian missionaries have been able to convert them. But, its hard to do in a place like Maharashtra because its one of the places where Hindus have fought the invading Islamic army for centuries. People are bound to be very sentimental about few things. But, still I don't recall anyone getting killed for saying stuff about Marathis are Bal Thackeray. Is killing the yardstick now, is the aggressive response not enough to show the thinking?
Desi Cartman Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 Wow!! What a rant! Keep justifying this insane violence by using your "BUT BUT BUT" arguments. Did I justify or did you misread my post? Did I say that those idiots were right in killing people? I was just highlighting the hypocrisy.
Desi Cartman Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 What is the irony here? You are equating banning the slaughtering of cows with killing someone for drawing your religious leader. Also, slaughtering of cows (milch variety) had been banned in many states for a number of years now (Gujarat, MP, UP) not just in MAH. It's been in place since the 70s in MAH (see Maharashtra Animal Preservation Act 1976) The recent ban is on bulls and bullocks which are draught animals. Most of the beef that people have been consuming for years has been buffalo beef. This is a follow up to the Maharashtra Animal Preservation (Amendment) Bill 1995 which the then BJP-SS govt. proposed. So your point in bold kinda falls flat. As I've said above, the ban on beef has been done through a state legislation, a thoroughly democratic process, not by issuing a religious diktat. Are people not allowed to make laws now in a democratic manner? Why do we have elections then? Is it so that we can watch our elected politicians play antakshari in the state assembly? its been in the constitution forever but it gets implemented by choice of when the BJP thinks its ok to do. Even they themselves didnt ban in Maharastra in the 90s. Then why did it matter to these loonies in Texas? We have laws for a reason and that is to prevent anarchy. If everyone started chest thumping about 'Sadda haq' and acted upon their 'haq', then there would be no such thing as civilized society. When did I say that those idiots were right in killing people? I know you aren't condoning what the gunmen did, but I don't see why you are equating their actions to the ban on beef, which has been enforced through the process of democracy. It's false equivalency. when someone on this forum acts as total jerk and shoots beef eating people then I can equate but I cant say that posters on this forum who clearly see nothing wrong in mocking a particular religion really stand up for free speech. Thats my point. Is this a reference to deporting MF Hussein for making those paintings? Yea, I agree with you here. Totally unnecessary. What they should've done was ask MF Hussein the price of his painting and collect money to finance the purchase of the painting. After buying the painting, they should've held an event, with M.F. Hussein as honorary chief guest, where they would throw that painting into a shredder. Nothing wrong with this na? Destroying something that you have legally purchased? Much more fun than deporting the guy. No, they should have ignored or maybe protested peacefully if they really wanted. Its a free country so they can express their disgust. Considering you didnt understand the irony, I suggest you keep an eye or look up old posts. If thats too much effort or something that doesnt make sense to you then thats also ok. :goodnight:
Malcolm Merlyn Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 ^ You please take your agenda to other thread. You are no one to tell that to anyone on this forum.Let the MODS decide that.
Raghav_12 Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 You are no one to tell that to anyone on this forum.Let the MODS decide that. It was just a request not to convert this thread in MF Hussain thread.
Gollum Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 ISIS owns up attack in Texas http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/world/us/ISIS-owns-up-toon-attack-in-Texas/articleshow/47169174.cms
Malcolm Merlyn Posted May 6, 2015 Posted May 6, 2015 It was just a request not to convert this thread in MF Hussain thread. The thread is about representation of religious figures in an in appropriate manner.