"Just came back from my first three month long trip from America. Listed below in no particular order things that shocked me." So you are advocating people learn the truth about America through someone who has been there for 3 months vs. an NRI who lives there for years? :hysterical:
Few US residents would dispute the observations listed in that article, except maybe the segregation and English language issues...
This is what you wrote - "Wonder what the issue is if ONE thread is exploring the other side i.e the not so rosy side of going and working in another country."
That was in response to a post - You can check a "trying to be a smartass" comment by a poster above. Anyway - I am NOT going on with any further explanations. If some people feel insecure, their problem. I am thankful for the posts by people that gave their perspective and not attempt to derail the thread just because the subject maybe too touchy for them ( which I wonder why ). Good and Bad are there everywhere.
Let me ask you in another way - what do you think are 3 major concerns that an NRI would say to someone who wants to move to America?
Few US residents would dispute the observations listed in that article' date=' except maybe the segregation and English language issues...[/quote'] Yeah - English language observation seemed a bit weird as I never felt the issue while staying anywhere in US - even in small towns. Might be some isolated area where there is a significantly different accent. On segregation, even I have read about it a few times but honestly not seen anything myself. Maybe people that have stayed much longer in different parts can throw some light.
Sad to say... this thread seems to have put salt on some insecure NRI wounds...and more sad that they are trying to malign resident Indians They seem to carry a BIG chip on their shoulders...Creating imaginary enemies and fighting them. Dil ko behlane ke liye ghalib khayaal accha hain Teenage pregnancies in US among highest in world- Ignore Many girls in Ind are married off in their teens .... Teenage pregnancies being amongst highest does not imply these girls were raped .... And in Ind, there would be no extensive data available to make a fair comparison :P Blacks being persecuted regularly - Ignore The percentage would be still lower than Indians discriminating Indians based on religion, region, caste, language, etc. Interiors of US more dangerous than many places in India - ignore Lol any data to support this? Assuming that you are implying that all interiors in US are more dangerous. If not, the statement is invalid No desi ever goes beyond his cocoon in US to even know the country - Ignore lol again a generalization when 1000s of them travel regularly for work, holidays, etc. not only within the country but also abroad Yes yes...my google newsreader says some lunatic said "boys will be boys" in India ...makes me happy...I can justify my decision to stay in US . I can quote this...Yay :yay: Pollution - :mad: My house in India was next to a sewer line and I grew up there but now I want < 0.0001% pathogens. Can't stand dust you see. Bhai, it is like saying that I have been poor all my life so don't want to be rich There are hours and hours of traffic lines and Jams in US but my head is in sand...see...jaahil desi log have no traffic sense....Yet another reason for my ( unselfish ) decision to move abroad. India is developing country - I have no obligation to stay there to develop it. Let others develop. I am only there to remind them that they are developing. Meanwhile, I will make merry.:two_thumbs_up: Having organized traffic and disorder in traffic are two different things :winky:
Nice attempt at sarcasm, but let's add some logic to it (my response in red) So what is your major concern - NRIs have a big chip on their shoulders and malign true resident Indians?
Nice attempt at sarcasm' date=' but let's add some logic to it (my response in red) So what is your major concern - NRIs have a big chip on their shoulders and malign true resident Indians?
From what I have seen, looks like both pure Indians and NRIs have their own chips. Again, we can't generalize. My friend who also moved with me from Bangalore to USA says point blank there is no chance in hell he is going back to India. For some of us, it is not about the money, but the lifestyle. The best job or business in India will still not offer me the lifestyle that I have here. Simple as. I observe a strange sense of guilt with the NRIs :dontknow: And a stranger sense of righteousness with resident Indians :hmmmm2: What is the big deal with dying where you were born? Sheesh, I would want to explore the furthest corners of this planet and live with all cultures. And like desi posted, all of these articles are just DRAMA. There was some post about some parents feeling sad about motorcycle or smth. But, that was being hyped up like it is a tragedy :WTF: I miss my parents, my cousins, my grandparents also. I don't go write a script for Ekta Kapoor (:woot: this would make a great soap :woot:). Overall, lots of lulz here. Please keep going. :popcorn:
From what I have seen,looks like both pure Indians and NRIs have their own chips. Again, we can't generalize. My friend who also moved with me from Bangalore to USA says point blank there is no chance in hell he is going back to India. For some of us, it is not about the money, but the lifestyle. The best job or business in India will still not offer me the lifestyle that I have here. Simple as. I observe a strange sense of guilt with the NRIs :dontknow: And a stranger sense of righteousness with resident Indians :hmmmm2: What is the big deal with dying where you were born? Sheesh, I would want to explore the furthest corners of this planet and live with all cultures. And like desi posted, all of these articles are just DRAMA. There was some post about some parents feeling sad about motorcycle or smth. But, that was being hyped up like it is a tragedy :WTF: I miss my parents, my cousins, my grandparents also. I don't go write a script for Ekta Kapoor (:woot: this would make a great soap :woot:). Overall, lots of lulz here. Please keep going. :popcorn:
Good balanced post :nice: Given a chance ( among places where I have stayed atleast 1 week - there might be better places that I have not been to ) I would love to move to Venice or Zurich ( well Zurich is good but the places that you can access regularly by staying in Zurich are more important ) and settle there for atleast a few years- not a big fan of US though if I had to - Florida is where I would prefer (for me - the best place in US that I have stayed ). If I do decide to move, it will be with full acknowledgement of any issues I might face and probably some sacrifices that my near and dear ones might have to make. Thanks again for the post :two_thumbs_up:

Even if you have the noblest of intentions and you are the 2nd coming of being in India gives you no chance in a million years to change or improve India If you live in USA you have a chance and opportunity to make the world a better place. Again it obviously boils down to your intent and USA gives you that chance. The very fact that you are expressing your views on a global platform like the internet or a forum is thanks to USA Your welcome America **** yeah....making the world a better place constantly

:isalute:
:--D...aatma gauravam marchipovaddu thammudu...koddiga sommu eeda kooda pampinchu :agree: ...nee baanchan kaalmoktaa manushulu unnaaru...devudu ninnu sallaga choostadu :two_thumbs_up:
Sagam Sagam panchukundam. :) Sent from my LG-D802 using Tapatalk

Sad news of an Indian shot 4 times for refusing to give mobile phone to unidentified men in US. A mobile phone is not worth dying for. Looks like he was in US for just 6 weeks and was not aware of safety precautions to be taken. http://www.rediff.com/news/report/hyderabad-student-shot-dead-by-unidentified-men-in-us/20150614.htm

Four rounds were fired at Sai Kiran around 12.15 pm on Sunday after he refused to give his mobile phone which was demanded by the assailants, his uncle Shravan Kumar said.
“We received information from his friends that some people demanded his phone on which he was already talking. His friend on the other end of the call heard four rounds of gun shots being fired. We are awaiting more details,†Kumar said. The incident happened near Sai Kiran’s residence in Florida, he said, adding that he had gone to the States one-and-a-half-month ago.