This term of being "intellectual" is getting used so often that I thought to have a thread were the people who are already intellectual or on the path of being intellectual can answer few of my queries: Google says intellectual means , "a person possessing a highly developed intellect" and intellect means, "the faculty of reasoning and understanding objectively, especially with regard to abstract matters". Now my queries are: 1. Does being intellectual has any relation with being intelligent or both are different? 2. When did you guys first realize that you are on the path of being intellectual or already an intellectual? 3. What criteria you use to give somebody a certificate of being intellectual?

One of the tough threads .... I don't claim to be an intellectual nor to be on the path to becoming one, so will attempt to answer the first question Let's start with what intelligence is. To simplify, I see it as the "processing power" one has. Say you have an abstract set of information at hand. How quickly you are able to process that information and see a pattern shows how intelligent you are .... Many IQ tests are along the lines of how quickly you can solve the a set of questions in the limited time that you are given As per your definition of intellect - "the faculty of reasoning and understanding objectively, especially with regard to abstract matters" Therefore, to process the information at hand, an intellectual would need intelligence. However, to harness the power of intelligence, one would need to teach oneself the art of identifying patterns and deciphering the message. Therefore, intellect can be seen as a subject. By putting the above information together, one can deduce that to be an intellectual one has to have a certain level of intelligence. However, since intellect is a subject, not everyone who is intelligent can be an intellectual

OK, let's take an example, suppose you drive a bike at usually very high speed and for most part of your life you have a feeling that you are doing a brave task. At some part of your life you realize "why am I risking my life" " is it worth? " will this realization be step towards being intellectual or being intelligent?
OK' date=' let's take an example, suppose you drive a bike at usually very high speed and for most part of your life you have a feeling that you are doing a brave task. At some part of your life you realize "why am I risking my life" " is it worth? " will this realization be step towards being intellectual or being intelligent?[/quote'] You appear to be in the mood of asking tough questions today :P Your above example is more along the line of being intelligent or finally becoming aware of various limitations including your driving skills, road conditions, etc. (let's not forget that one can drive a bike at high speed safely as well) .... An intellectual would probably have performed a cost benefit analysis and identified that driving the bike as you describe in the prevailing condition is not worth the risk in the first place PS If your next question is - then is the one driving safely everyday an intellectual? .... The answer is - not necessarily as it would depend up on the level of complexity of the problem on hand as well

Is thread pe contribute karne ki na mujhe ichha hai, an mujhme patience hai aur na meri kshamta hai.. so I'll just read you guys. :icflove:

Intellectuals are of course always an intelligent people. Not just intelligent but also constantly pursue stimulation to their intellect. So depending upon their patience, interest, and other factors like EQ and what not, could decide how people perceive them. Not someone I would like to be and I doubt I have capability to become one. In fact, I am exactly on the opposite side of the spectrum. :dance: How lucky I am.

Thanks dial and Rett for your replies. Correct me if I am wrong but what you guys are trying to say in simple terms is the person who uses his brain rather than feelings is either intellectual or on the path of being intellectual. If that is true then I have another question, almost all of the people who smoke are aware of the danger it comes with, the warning signs clearly indicates that then also it does not stops them from smoking. Which means they are not using their brain rather they are going with their instincts, so smoking should be considered as a minus point when we rank someone on the parameters of being intellect. Right? Ironically when we visualize an intellectual mostly he has beard and he is smoking :). It seems the definition of who exactly is an intellectual is really tough. May be the posters who usually use this term for themselves or for some writers can enlighten us more.

Buddhijeevi - Woh log jo apni Buddhi bech kar jeevika kamate hain.
Buddhi to sir hum bhi bechte hain magar majaal hai humay koi budhjeevi kah de. Thoda sa aur vistaar kijiye apne definition ko.
I don't think I should be postiong in this thread :((
You need not be a cricket expert to post in cricket thread similarly you need not be a politician to post in political thread then why do you think this thead is not for you. On a side note you are more intellectual I feel then lot of posters here so may be you can contribute more, acha chalo let me make it easy for you who you think among these is more intellectual: Manmohan Singh or Arvind Kejriwal Before you ask why not Modi, sir since I am a certified bhakt I am not going to use god's name for comparison with mortals. :winky:
If there was a thread with title "A thread for cricketers" or "A thread of politicians", I am sure I would have been found ill-qualified to post in those threads. I would have posted in this thread, if thread title was "A thread on intellectuals" or "discussion on intellectuals" but alas..:((
You are not a Cricketer because you do not play cricket at proffesional level. You are not politician because you are not in active politics. These are obvious answers. You are not intellectual because .............................? May be the answer of this question will provide insight to the queries of OP.
I don't have intellect :((
Thanks dial and Rett for your replies. Correct me if I am wrong but what you guys are trying to say in simple terms is the person who uses his brain rather than feelings is either intellectual or on the path of being intellectual. If that is true then I have another question, almost all of the people who smoke are aware of the danger it comes with, the warning signs clearly indicates that then also it does not stops them from smoking. Which means they are not using their brain rather they are going with their instincts, so smoking should be considered as a minus point when we rank someone on the parameters of being intellect. Right? Ironically when we visualize an intellectual mostly he has beard and he is smoking :). It seems the definition of who exactly is an intellectual is really tough. May be the posters who usually use this term for themselves or for some writers can enlighten us more.
My point was that - to be an intellectual, one would need a certain level of intelligence. But since intellect can be seen as a subject too, not everyone who is intelligent can be an intellectual. Now coming to the example that you gave, there is no irony in what you suggested. Your assumption appears to be that an intellectual will always make the right decision after discovering the pattern. However, the ability to quickly recognize patterns and making the right decision being hand-in-hand may not necessarily be true. For some the benefits gained from enjoying a cigarette would be greater than inherent risk of smoking. Take Hitler for example. Many consider him to be an intellectual. However for him the cost of war including sacrifices made was less than the benefits of creating a German empire.

@OP, A scholar level person who hasnt got a educational Institute degree or been to educational institute is generally termed intellectual. He doesnt need another person to help him to satisfy his apetite for knowledge. Self learning is good enough. Thats my opinion.