@Kalia your Mahishmati isn't there. You must have been up in the arms when you saw that first. :P
Mahishmati is the goal/final product all these smartcities aspire to become :--D Each smartcity should have a Bahubali :agree:
OK. On Bangalore not being part of the list ( though Tumkur 70 Kms away will compensate ), it looks like Bangalore would have pretty little chances of going beyond the first stage given its less than ideal Tax collection record and consistently over estimating budget and under - delivering. Consistent Tax collection record is a very important criteria in smartcity as per what has been published so Karnataka Govt showed its smartness already by not putting Bangalore's name forward :two_thumbs_up: http://bangalore.citizenmatters.in/articles/bbmp-budget-2015-analysis-bangalore pic_article_graph_1_receipts.jpgpic_article_graph_2_payments.jpg Maybe localites like Gollum and others can comment - what could be the reason for this non-collection of Property Tax, Stamp duty,etc that accrue to the local Municipal Corporation and how can actuals decrease YoY?
Very interesting stats there.
Out of curiosity, I checked GHMC ( Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation ) track on budget and tax collection,etc. http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Hyderabad/ghmc-richer-by-rs-700-crore/article7060174.ece 01hytls05-GHMC-_hy_2360666f.jpg
The civic body will now focus on quality development with a budget drafted at Rs.5,550 crore for the present year: Commissioner. The GHMC netted Rs.526.27 crore as building permission fee during the year 2014-15 as against previous year’s Rs.501.37 crore. Compared to previous year, the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) earned Rs.700 crore more during 2014-15, a significant growth of 27 per cent The total revenue of the civic body stood at Rs.3,317 crore as against Rs.2,616 crore of the year 2013-14 and Rs.2,451 crore of 2012-13. “Against this significant revenue growth, we also spent more on creating quality infrastructure with a capital expenditure of Rs.1,285 crore last year as against Rs.562 crore spent during 2012-13,” the GHMC Commissioner and Special Officer, Somesh Kumar said. Speaking to presspersons here on Wednesday, Mr. Somesh Kumar said property tax collection in the financial year closing on Tuesday stood at Rs.1,111 crore while the figure was Rs.1,020 crore during previous year. “In 2013-14, the tax was paid for 8.50 lakh properties while this time it was for 9.55 lakh properties,” he said. The government support to the civic body also went up to Rs.676 crore from previous year’s Rs.215 crore. Having registered an impressive revenue generation, the civic body would now put focus on quality development with a budget drafted at Rs.5,550 crore for the present year. “The target is high but we will meet it and various options such as floating bonds and loans are under consideration,” Mr.Somesh Kumar added.
I am also impressed with the GHMC budget plan for 2015-2016 here BBMP budget for 2015-2016 here So a local municipal corporation has the below sources of money:- Revenue Receipts i.e money it 'earns' itself 1. Property Taxes, Surcharge on Stamp Duty, Town Planning , Advertisement and some licensing 2. Some assigned revenue i.e share of Professional Tax, Entertainment Tax,etc 3. Grants - From Election Commission,etc Capital Receipts All the State/Central 'scheme' money comes under Capital Receipts - So Swacch Bharat, Smart Cities, National Urban Renewal Mission find their way here. MP/MLA funds also come here. For any shortfall, these municipal corporations can take loans from Banks or float bonds ( guaranteed by State Govt ). Never knew all these intricacies. I used to think that State Govt/Central Govt will deposit all money in the accounts and these corporations have to just hire sweepers,etc and pay them :--D
No Noida in UP :hmmm:
Infrastructure wise Noida and Greater Noida are already Smart. Both the cities are well planned and any government will have to do less work when compared to others for making them fully smart city in future. I am very disappointed to see none of the Eastern UP cities in the list except Varanasi. That area desperately needs proper urban planning.
Great news cant complain .Hopefully its implemented efficiently and on time . Apart from Karur all big cities in central Tamil Nadu belt is getting smart city :nice:
Good choice from TN. TN deserves it. As much as I hate the roly-poly, rotund, fat-lalitha - hopefully she powers TN to the next stage.