Kalia_Test Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 I don't wan't to confine this to any one decade but 90's was the decade where Bollywood was flooded with great melodious songs. Obviously, some might not have not gotten as much appreciation as they deserved. I would like this thread to be about the "lesser popular" but really good songs ( preferably 90s but no restriction ). So no 'Tujhe dekha' from DDLJ or 'Tanha Tanha' from Rangeela. I know it is difficult to draw the line which song is a blockbuster and which is "lesser appreciated". Kindly use your judgement :two_thumbs_up: Picturization is NOT a criteria - Only the Song I want to start with this really good song from Mashooq uv34iAeEIP0 Phool aur Angaar GZ0ikwAvMb4 Dheere dheere pyar ko nibhana hain from Phool aur Kaante 8ZSSsY6gGog Tumhe Apna banaaneki kasam khaayi hain - Sadak 84bNb0Hyk50 Kindly add your favorites
zen Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 I love Kishore Kumar. Most of the films had one or two great songs but surprisingly many of his "other" numbers in the film would be amazing as well, and these songs were only overshadowed because of the "great" numbers. Take Mehbooba for example. The movie has ATG songs such as "Mera naina sawan bhadoo". However, the songs like the one below are quite good: JTHXgH1E4ZQ
Kalia_Test Posted September 2, 2015 Author Posted September 2, 2015 DNP4DPlx7nw One of the best lyrics ever. Excellent - You are right. Great song :two_thumbs_up: Pls post more
Kalia_Test Posted September 2, 2015 Author Posted September 2, 2015 This was a movie released on the newly launched Zee TV ( Phir Teri Kahaani Yaad Aayi) in early 90s. Not really sure if it ever ran on theatres - not that I care. The songs, though, were awesome - 2 of them below :- 05o4kCUY2Ys BqQbPu5xv0k
zen Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 Add some good to great numbers below have been overshadowed mainly because of the ATG numbers. For e.g. we know Md. Rafi did magic with songs such as Chura Liya, Kiya Hua Tear Wada, Chand Mera Dil, etc. However, many of his songs are simply brilliant. Below are some supurb songs, don't know how big hits they were in their time: hDWwyKFjvFM j_vHxXlJxHE The Great Gambler is known for songs such as "Do labzo ki hai dil ki kahani", but the one below is quite good as well: OzU4tOGmV14 Dev Anand has provided his face to many great songs, but the ones such as this one are pretty good too: 1s7bsjVmqhM
Kalia_Test Posted September 2, 2015 Author Posted September 2, 2015 ^^^ Good selection :two_thumbs_up: However, from my own perspective, the last Song is a song whose lyrics I can sing if you wake me up midnight. If it was not a blockbuster - In any case - keep it coming :nice:
Kalia_Test Posted September 2, 2015 Author Posted September 2, 2015 Legendary combination of Asha Bhonsle and Yesudas - music by AR Rehman - Movie Daud. s_g7iNfS3Do
zen Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 ^^^ Good selection :two_thumbs_up: However, from my own perspective, the last Song is a song whose lyrics I can sing if you wake me up midnight. If it was not a blockbuster - In any case - keep it coming :nice: It is hard to know which songs were considered blockbusters in 60s and 70s as good music was a norm. Almost every film had some great songs .... However, if you get hits of Dev Anand or hits of Kishore Kumar, you are less likely to find songs such as the last one, which is in fact an amazing song (and likely to be hit at that time) Another e.g. is Mera Jeevan Saathi which had songs such as 'Oh mera dil ke chain" which were likely to be bigger hits (ATG) but the one below, "Chala Jaata Hoon", etc. are quite good too (and hit as well but relatively overshadowed by "Oh mera dil ka chain"): xc4u_fng6xI
zen Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 Talking about Rajesh Khanna, his on-screen pairing with Mumtaz was superhit. And we know songs pictured on them such as "Jai Jai Shiv Shankar", "Chupe Gaye Sare Nazare", "Prem Kahani mein", "Duniya mein logo ko", etc., however below are some superb songs too from the pair: 5LbTE3o3sL8 ^ Picturization is very good too IYrj0ceEcQo XuRKvmF2Wl8 PS one from the rajesh khanna and sharmila tagore pair too cDZ6BhhqchE
zen Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 Some of the songs from 90s that I like (don't know how big hits they were) CVwg8z-Tg6M iGhfDAPYDVI :yay:
Laaloo Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 DNP4DPlx7nw One of the best lyrics ever. :two_thumbs_up:
zen Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 More from 90s / early 2000s: MEkZrjbVkAs QTA7z_6bG0c
Sooda Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 I dont think youtube vids should be posted it takes AGES for the thread to load
zen Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 Not to forget the 80s: Jeetendra films are know to have given some cool hits including "Naini main sapna", "Pyar ka tofha tera", etc. Below are some nice songs: _Iieohr6bM8 aZIbepY44ls A1lRO8JDQOA Y_jlQq0nG68 Some from the 60s: CmI8Y7pZKa0 5tx_lOpzEsE lKL1kbw4EuA luaTQG0pvQY rm265jzPgmg
zen Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 Some more (rain theme): 7IsvJVlFyGI pc-r5PtqPz0 oeQGqEQq9qw :two_thumbs_up:
zen Posted September 2, 2015 Posted September 2, 2015 Some songs from Dev Anand's films: fqyRwPF11TM TL_40hBcluA eZQKigjPL8o ^ effects of LSD in the above song