India tour of South Africa 2018, Pink Day: 4th ODI at Johannesburg (D/N) - Feb 10th, 2018 - 16.30 IST

jalebi_bhai

Will India win their first ODI series in South Africa today?  

29 members have voted

1. 1. Will India win their first ODI series in South Africa today?

3 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Every one knew it's going to rain, we still went with two spinners. They are very  selective with Horses for courses strategy.

Actually its better now than before. In the past we have played spinner in Wanderers even in test matches. At least now they started going for all out pace attacks like we did in the 3rd test.

Shami should play a game now, Bhuvi or Bumrah must be tired by now or should be rotated at some point.

1 minute ago, Cricketics said:

Actually its better now than before. In the past we have played spinner in Wanderers even in test matches. At least now they started going for all out pace attacks like we did in the 3rd test.

Shami should play a game now, Bhuvi or Bumrah must be tired by now or should be rotated at some point.

Selection should be based on the conditions.

With rain, the ball was getting wet. It does makes tough to grip and the spinners are affected due to this. Having said that they picked some wickets and they also created wicket of Miller which the pathetic fielding by Shreyas helped Miller survive and build the match winning partnership for SA. Shreyas did not show any signs that the ball was wet after he dropped the match. Also spinners were not seen using the cloth to wipe the ball. Which suggests that the outfield did not affect the ball much.

2 minutes ago, Straight Drive said:

With rain, the ball was getting wet. It does makes tough to grip and the spinners are affected due to this. Having said that they picked some wickets and they also created wicket of Miller which the pathetic fielding by Shreyas helped Miller survive and build the match winning partnership for SA. Shreyas did not show any signs that the ball was wet after he dropped the match. Also spinners were not seen using the cloth to wipe the ball. Which suggests that the outfield did not affect the ball much.

Spinners do generally struggle here and are easier to hit. 

7 hours ago, kira said:

I already told you bro, we dropped catches, bowled no balls to give you a consolation win and keep the series exciting, don't be too happy :aha:

Looks like Ailiaaa chamcha is happy IND lost just because Kohli was about to win a series in RSA with average around 200...which your ailiaaa couldn't do in his whole life:cantstop:

Umpire I think stops the games at India 200 for 2 when it’s NO RAIN at all.only Lighning was there but Actual rains starts during SOA innings but I am not sure if Umpire allows to stops games OTHER THAN RAINS 

Any comments ?

SOA win as many as 20 times ( out of 39 ) at port Elizabeth, next venue - for 5th ODI 

Even Kenya beat India at Port Elizabeth in 2001 

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/66103.html

Angara was M.OM Kenya beat India by 70 runs in Triangular series 
Oct 17,2001

We choked with the bat which cost us some extra runs. Also wet conditions cost our spinners the grip of the ball and hence you saw so many shot balls from Chahal in particular.

Pacers also go for a lot of runs on this same track. Yes we could have played on extra seamer. But rain played part with bowlers not able to grip properly and also India batting crap in the last 10 overs.

Kohli won the toss... Got too cocky to select bat first... or maybe it was intentional even after bowing the wether forecast...

Which team prefers to bat first winning the toss even after knowing rain is on the cards?

Just for those who asked why the game was stopped for lightning before the rain started. 

in South Africa any outdoor sport is stopped when a lightning storm approaches. 

We have had whole soccer teams taken down by lightning as well as rugby players

Its for that past experiences that they do not allow play to commence while lightning is close. Player safety. Lightning in SA can be extremely dangerous for sports people. 

This rule in SA overrides any international sports rules about weather.