westfield high school is the name to be exact !.And for some reason the indian guys preffered to hang around with pakistanis and most of the indian chicks were dating pakistanis' date= their MSA was a lot bigger than indian student Alliance.I guess it probably has to do with the fact that Houston has a bigger pakistani population than an indiain population.Also most of thesikh guys are real cool with pakistanis.Their is this desi gang ot here called OCP's = out of control punjabis....with half of its members sikhs and half paksitani punjabis.so yeah !
indians and pak guys and gals hangin out is quite common. Wonder what sandeep's BP will shoot upto if his son or daughter would hang out like that? :D (did it already shoot up? :D, just kidding... )
its kinda opposite over here in houston.The school i went to ' date=' all the indian guys wanted to chill with the pakistanis and perefer being called pakistanis for some stupid reason ![/quote'] That maybe because Houston has a large Pakiatani population. Actually Texas and surrounding states(Loisiana etc) have a big Pakistani immigrant population. I spent a couple of years around 2003-4 year and there would always be some Pakistani cricketer visiting the city. Kinda remember this indoor championship with Afridi, Akram, Sehwag etc. Not sure if it happened. I cant personally vouch for Indians prefering to be called Pakistani(or vice versa) in Houston. What I can vouch for is that in Houston there are tons of Pakistani restaurants, and shops, and practically NONE of them advertise themselves as Indians. There was this restaurant called Himalaya which was Pakistani and the only way you would know it was so because of its interior being bit different from an Indian restaurant. I say it because I was there having dinner with an Indian friend who absolutely freaked out when he came to realization that it was a Pakistani place(goes back to my argument of Indian Hindus often being sceptical of what "may" be in Pakistani dish). I am also reminded of an incident at Hillcroft in Houston. There was this typical Pakistani place. A large empty place with pool tables, carrom tables etc with even a paan ka thela. 90% of Indians who went there came out with a "superior" mentality as to "Who the eff eats paan". Seen too many wannabe Americanized Indians there really. Maybe it takes a Bihari to understand Pakistanis. :hatsoff: PS: My favorite memory of Houston is driving to Cinema 6 every Friday/Saturday night to catch Hindi movies. Are those theatre still working(opposite WestOak Mall)?
westfield high school is the name to be exact !.And for some reason the indian guys preffered to hang around with pakistanis and most of the indian chicks were dating pakistanis' date=' their MSA was a lot bigger than indian student Alliance.I guess it probably has to do with the fact that Houston has a bigger pakistani population than an indiain population.Also most of thesikh guys are real cool with pakistanis.Their is this desi gang ot here called OCP's = out of control punjabis....with half of its members sikhs and half paksitani punjabis.so yeah ![/quote'] thats different.. hanging out with pakistanis are different than to being prefered to call pakistanis.. even i was hanging out with them... actually they 'mix' well .. whenever they see desi they say hi and start mixing with ppl.. and yes houston has large paki community..
Along with UP :finger: :D
:haha: Broadly speaking Bihar and UP are two Indian states that an average Pakistani is very well aware of. Well apart from states like Punjab, Gujarat and Maharastra the latter two for not the very best reasons and Punjab because it was split right down the middle. I say that because not every Pakistan is aware of Orissa, Andhra(everything South to them is Malabari). They know what Uttar Pradesh is but dont know what Madhya Pradesh is, even though the two are border states. I used to think that this could be because a lot of Pakistanis have roots in UP/Bihar. And while that is true a simpler reason was given to me a British-Pakistani once. It was down to Bollywood and Dilwalon ke dil ka qaraar lootne main aayee hoon UP-Bihar lootne :dance:Ek Chumma tu mujhko udhaar de de badle mein UP-Bihar le le. :yay::yay: Who says Bollywood isnt educational. :--D
I would love to eat Pan ... dinner ke baad Pan aur Sutta .. ah kya din thay !
Woh to college ke din the. Now I understand why seniors(who had started working) would tell us to enjoy till we can. I was in a hostel for my Engineering. And after dinner, often even as late as 1 am, we would go for a walk, outside our college where there was paan ka stalls. The owner would sleep inside mostly because of patrons like us. And so we would wake him up and he would make us paan while being half asleep. His expert hands mixing katha, kasaili and some saaunf wah wah! And of course to pick a pack of Wills Filter(or Gold Flake). All this without any money(he would expertly put it in his khaata and went to sleep).

@ Lurker LOL at those half asleep people who made pan , tea , omelet or gave us daru / sutta in the middle of the night. Man they would be deep asleep and someone is gonna shout "Bhaiya Bhaiya " and they would look at us and ignore once and then would come walking towards the shop (scratching ) HAH ! and that galli ke bahar wala Pan wala who would also warn me ke "aap ke papa a rahey hai" man life suxx here I wanna go back and again wanna live on Baap kay $ :winky:

that makes me feel warm and tingly inside :icflove:
That brought a few memories Desi. And so I decided to write a bit. See if this rings a bell with you. The way I can remember paan-wallahs can be broadly divided into two phases - a) phase 1 would be my childhood(late 80s to early 90s). b) phase 2 of college days. I will concentrate on phase 1. In mid to late 80s paan ki gumti used to be the adda for young in a mohalla. Most of the paan ki gumti used to be either a hole in a wall kind of enterprise and sometimes they would be right in the streets. The latter would be perched on four pillar of woods with a small hutment inside which the paan wallah would sit. There would be a countertop(mostly made of plywood) with a small stylish brass bucket which could keep the wet paan ke patte. Underneath the countertop would be his armour - Baba Zafrani, Kaala Peela, 555 etc. And for kids would be a small katori with saunf and cut cherries. Behind the counter sat the paanwallah and behind him would be cupboard with various Cigarette packets(not to forget matchbox). Also there would be a big ar$e mirror behind him. Every Majnu of the mohalla would check himself in the mirror before looking around for Lailas in the mohalla(more so in the evenings). On the countertop would also sit either a Radio(generally this would be a local Santosh radio and not some hi-fi National/Phillips), or two speakers with sound system behind the countertop. The Paan ki gumti was often the Discotheque of the mohalla with songs belting out ad-nauseum. This was the first spot that would give you an idea of how good the songs of a new released movie were. During the days of Binaca Geet Maala people would surround the gumti to listen to Ameen Sayani going "Bahanon aur Bhaiyon, teesri paaydan pe hai woh gaana jiske bol likhe hain Gulshan Bawra ne aur tarjein di hai RD Burman saab ne". In some ways this gumti created a huge market for music, often seeing things much before mainstream folks did. Take for example the success of small time companies like T-Series etc. At the time HMV and Music India were two big companies and noone else got any business. Then Gulshan Kumar came out with TSeries and his cover version of goldies sung by other singers. The cassette were lot cheaper and small businesses like paanwallah, tempowallah heavily bought them. This would also be the first success for singers like Kumar Sanu(replicated Kishore Kumar), Anuradha Paundwal(replicated Lata), Sonu Nigham(replicated Mohammmed Rafi). Then there were small timers like Babla(replicated Mukesh), Milan Singh(sung both in male and female voices) etc etc. Immediately after the cover version came out the "Jhankar beats" and today's remix industry basically evolved from there. 80s Paan wallah was brilliantly captured by Saeed Jaffery in Chasme Baddur. xx
That brought a few memories Desi. And so I decided to write a bit. See if this rings a bell with you. The way I can remember paan-wallahs can be broadly divided into two phases - a) phase 1 would be my childhood(late 80s to early 90s). b) phase 2 of college days. I will concentrate on phase 1. In mid to late 80s paan ki gumti used to be the adda for young in a mohalla. Most of the paan ki gumti used to be either a hole in a wall kind of enterprise and sometimes they would be right in the streets. The latter would be perched on four pillar of woods with a small hutment inside which the paan wallah would sit. There would be a countertop(mostly made of plywood) with a small stylish brass bucket which could keep the wet paan ke patte. Underneath the countertop would be his armour - Baba Zafrani, Kaala Peela, 555 etc. And for kids would be a small katori with saunf and cut cherries. Behind the counter sat the paanwallah and behind him would be cupboard with various Cigarette packets(not to forget matchbox). Also there would be a big ar mirror behind him. Every Majnu of the mohalla would check himself in the mirror before looking around for Lailas in the mohalla(more so in the evenings). On the countertop would also sit either a Radio(generally this would be a local Santosh radio and not some hi-fi National/Phillips), or two speakers with sound system behind the countertop. The Paan ki gumti was often the Discotheque of the mohalla with songs belting out ad-nauseum. This was the first spot that would give you an idea of how good the songs of a new released movie were. During the days of Binaca Geet Maala people would surround the gumti to listen to Ameen Sayani going "Bahanon aur Bhaiyon, teesri paaydan pe hai woh gaana jiske bol likhe hain Gulshan Bawra ne aur tarjein di hai RD Burman saab ne". In some ways this gumti created a huge market for music, often seeing things much before mainstream folks did. Take for example the success of small time companies like T-Series etc. At the time HMV and Music India were two big companies and noone else got any business. Then Gulshan Kumar came out with TSeries and his cover version of goldies sung by other singers. The cassette were lot cheaper and small businesses like paanwallah, tempowallah heavily bought them. This would also be the first success for singers like Kumar Sanu(replicated Kishore Kumar), Anuradha Paundwal(replicated Lata), Sonu Nigham(replicated Mohammmed Rafi). Then there were small timers like Babla(replicated Mukesh), Milan Singh(sung both in male and female voices) etc etc. Immediately after the cover version came out the "Jhankar beats" and today's remix industry basically evolved from there. 80s Paan wallah was brilliantly captured by Saeed Jaffery in Chasme Baddur. xx
Excellent writing Lurker..I went back in history, though mine was like mid to late nineties. Small things can give so much happiness in life :-). Since alcohol is banned in my state, Pan wala stalls used to be the place where I would go to relax my stress (due to exams, lost cricket match, girlfriend ditch:-D) and to hang out with my friends. Then there used to be a guy who would be moholla's newspaper. All gossip news about mohalla were first heard at panwala's stalls. Those were the days ..:two_thumbs_up:
That maybe because Houston has a large Pakiatani population. Actually Texas and surrounding states(Loisiana etc) have a big Pakistani immigrant population. I spent a couple of years around 2003-4 year and there would always be some Pakistani cricketer visiting the city. Kinda remember this indoor championship with Afridi, Akram, Sehwag etc. Not sure if it happened. I cant personally vouch for Indians prefering to be called Pakistani(or vice versa) in Houston. What I can vouch for is that in Houston there are tons of Pakistani restaurants, and shops, and practically NONE of them advertise themselves as Indians. There was this restaurant called Himalaya which was Pakistani and the only way you would know it was so because of its interior being bit different from an Indian restaurant. I say it because I was there having dinner with an Indian friend who absolutely freaked out when he came to realization that it was a Pakistani place(goes back to my argument of Indian Hindus often being sceptical of what "may" be in Pakistani dish). I am also reminded of an incident at Hillcroft in Houston. There was this typical Pakistani place. A large empty place with pool tables, carrom tables etc with even a paan ka thela. 90% of Indians who went there came out with a "superior" mentality as to "Who the eff eats paan". Seen too many wannabe Americanized Indians there really. Maybe it takes a Bihari to understand Pakistanis. :hatsoff: PS: My favorite memory of Houston is driving to Cinema 6 every Friday/Saturday night to catch Hindi movies. Are those theater still working(opposite WestOak Mall)?
true about the big pak population, all that you mentioned is still there , i live in the b=north side of houston so its not often when i go to the south side and the hillcroft area.But yea hill croft has a lot of pakistani restaurants , some of them really good. there are some indians restaurants too mainly run by sikhs,bombay sweets is one such all vegetarian returant even though the almost going blad guy that runs it has a huge attitude problem but the fod is good and the mithaii is the best you'll find in houston at least.Bollywood 6 is still there , i go there with friends once in a while to watch desi movies.