Paris Olympics 2024 Discussion Thread

6 minutes ago, Gollum said:

You said it is easy to medal in amateur sports. Implying lack of quality. 

I said if you have talent it's not that difficult,you don't need massive investments of a professional and can even train abroad.

20 minutes ago, Kron said:

Indian born ones can do well there. I have seen a few good wrestlers of Indian Canadian origin who are in the top 10. In heavyweight categories. 

desis in US esp Indians dont go for elite sport. Hindus especially. 

2 minutes ago, maniac said:

NCAA  guys are tough as nails but a lot of  pehelwaans training in proper Olympic facilities especially the ones coming through from akhadaas in Haryana-Punjab can take most of these NCAA types down.

Yeah, best of Russia, Iran, Japan etc. can. India not there yet, look at Yianni vs Bajrang when latter was at his peak. 

I envy D1 swimming more. Anyway best American athletes choose American football, like Aussies with their footy. 

Just now, LordPrabhzy said:

Surprised how come Indian origin folks haven’t had success in baseball. American football and basketball we have no shot lol, some kid in Harlem or south side Chicago will run circles around national Indian basketball team. 

3 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

Yea only Canada ones do. And we have seen a few come through in the top 10. For wrestling mma etc.

American desi only want to be doctors engineers etc. Or their parents just want to boast about how their child is an all rounder lmao. Don't really push them for sports as a main occupation. 

Edited by Kron
4 minutes ago, Kron said:

Freestyle wrestling plus boxing is the best base for mma or fighting in general. Streets etc

Great boxer with good wrestling defence or a great wrestler who has decent boxing will destroy anyone in the world.

Kickboxing is more useful bro. Imagine one to your liver, or calf, fight can end quickly. 

2 minutes ago, maniac said:

Surprised how come Indian origin folks haven’t had success in baseball. American football and basketball we have no shot lol, some kid in Harlem or south side Chicago will run circles around national Indian basketball team. 

Ice hockey too we can do well. But cold weather doesn't suit us lol.

3 minutes ago, maniac said:

Spelling bee jab tak hai.....

1 minute ago, Gollum said:

Kickboxing is more useful bro. Imagine one to your liver, or calf, fight can end quickly. 

Yea. But wrestling above kickboxing.

Wrestling then kicboxing/boxing

Yes kicks hurt. But a real boxer when he actually lands a punch on you, you will wish that never happened tbh. I have sparred before with boxers and trust me boxers punches is way more accurate and dangerous than a kick boxer. And they are always faster. If he lands one clean on the kickboxer he is dead. 

2 minutes ago, Kron said:

Ice hockey too we can do well. But cold weather doesn't suit us lol.

Ice hockey is more about ice skating skills and rough and tough violent approach. Doesn’t suit Indians.

As a parent in USA, why wouldn't you encourage your child to take some sport in HS at least? Best infrastructure on the planet, good coaches, respect in society etc. If nothing at least will keep your kids fit, disciplined, confident, sociable....builds character etc. 

5 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Yeah, best of Russia, Iran, Japan etc. can. India not there yet, look at Yianni vs Bajrang when latter was at his peak. 

I envy D1 swimming more. Anyway best American athletes choose American football, like Aussies with their footy. 

Nha best Aussie athletes choose depending on the state. Qld? Cricket and rugby league

Victoria? It's afl and rugby union. Then cricket. 

Western Australia its afl then cricket

Depends where. 

Nsw is rugby league and then rest.

One thing is for sure all sports are very professional in Australia. For growth and development. 

2 minutes ago, Kron said:

Yea. But wrestling above kickboxing.

Wrestling then kicboxing/boxing

Yes kicks hurt. But a real boxer when he actually lands a punch on you, you will wish that never happened tbh. I have sparred before with boxers and trust me boxers punches is way more accurate and dangerous than a kick boxer. And they are always faster. If he lands one clean on the kickboxer he is dead. 

Wrestling is non-negotiable man. Supplement that with other stuff. 

1 minute ago, maniac said:

Ice hockey is more about ice skating skills and rough and tough violent approach. Doesn’t suit Indians.

If we can do wrestling then ice hockey is fine. But yes it's more about skating. Lol.its not easy. Very expensive too unless you live in cold conditions. 

2 minutes ago, Gollum said:

As a parent in USA, why wouldn't you encourage your child to take some sport in HS at least? Best infrastructure on the planet, good coaches, respect in society etc. If nothing at least will keep your kids fit, disciplined, confident, sociable....builds character etc. 

in USA kids especially Indian kids have started picking up sports for college scholarship. These days  Indian parents are targeting badminton and even cricket. I know some kids (girls) who are in the junior pool in cricket. Similarly I know someone personally whose kids are now doing well in squash and badminton.  However just like how Indian athletes are happy with govt job, in USA, target is college scholarship. Not all want to take it to the next level.

Edited by maniac

I think we will beat England in hockey. They look shite. 

Nedtherlands so boring to watch. Germany is way better. Aussies too. Belgium haven't watched yet.

1 minute ago, Gollum said:

Ice hockey is for rich folks. Not worth it. I wanna see Indians play MLB as @maniac said. 

I see many East Asians excelling in HS sports, NCAA etc, but not brown guys. That has to change. 

Yea man the highest paid mlb player is a Japanese guy iirc. Wtf?? Lol dint even know they like baseball